Newsletter platforms

ActiveCampaign vs Campaign Monitor compared on 13 fields

ActiveCampaign score
82/100 (5 of 8 criteria)
Campaign Monitor score
not ranked
Fields won by ActiveCampaign
1 of 8
Fields won by Campaign Monitor
1 of 8
ActiveCampaign
ActiveCampaign homepage (screenshot)
Homepage captured Oct 14, 2026
Campaign Monitor
Campaign Monitor homepage (screenshot)
Homepage captured Oct 14, 2026

Data checked Oct 14, 2026 against the vendors' own pages. How we verify

ActiveCampaign and Campaign Monitor are both newsletter platforms. We compared them on 13 fields read from each vendor's own pages.

On the newsletter platforms scorecard ActiveCampaign scores 82/100 (5 of 8 criteria) and Campaign Monitor not ranked.

Of the 8 fields with a clear rule (lower price, higher count, yes over no), ActiveCampaign wins 1, Campaign Monitor wins 1 and 6 are ties.

ActiveCampaign scores clearly higher on pricing transparency.

Campaign Monitor scores clearly higher on verified features.

Side by side

A winner is declared only on rows with a clear rule and data on both sides.
ActiveCampaign vs Campaign Monitor, field by field
FieldActiveCampaignCampaign MonitorWinner and basis
Cheapest paid plan (billed monthly)$15/month–No winner: needs a value on both sides
Same plan, per month billed annually$15/month–No winner: needs a value on both sides
Free planNoNoTie
Free trialYesYesTie
Trial length (days)14✓ 30Campaign Monitor
Platforms supported3–No winner: needs a value on both sides
Integrations (vendor count)✓ 1,000250ActiveCampaign
Public API–YesNo winner: needs a value on both sides
Automations / sequencesYesYesTie
A/B testing–YesNo winner: needs a value on both sides
Landing pages and formsYesYesTie
Segmentation and tagsYesYesTie
Open and click analyticsYesYesTie

– = not published by the vendor, or not verified yet.

Sources: ActiveCampaign pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026; Campaign Monitor pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026. Each feature value links its own source on the tool's page.

Scorecard, criterion by criterion

Both tools on the newsletter platforms scorecard: score 0-100 and the numbers it was computed from.
ActiveCampaign vs Campaign Monitor scores
CriterionWeightActiveCampaignCampaign Monitor
Entry price25%82$15/month billed annually on Starter; no monthly-billed price published (scored against annual-billed prices)–
Free plan or trial15%60Free trial (14 days), no free plan60Free trial (30 days), no free plan
Pricing transparency10%1004 of 4 plans have a public price00 of 1 plans have a public price (1 "contact sales")
Verified features15%804 of 9 tracked features verified: automations / sequences, landing pages and forms, segmentation and tags, open and click analytics1005 of 9 tracked features verified: automations / sequences, a/b testing, landing pages and forms, segmentation and tags, open and click analytics
API, integrations and export10%1001,000 integrations100public API, 250 integrations
Total score100%82/100 (5 of 8 criteria)not ranked

ActiveCampaign plans

ActiveCampaign plans
PlanBilled monthlyBilled yearlyCharged perPublished limits
StarterNot offered$15per workspace
  • 1 user
PlusNot offered$49per workspace
  • 1 user
ProNot offered$79per workspace
  • 3 users
EnterpriseNot offered$145per workspace
  • 5 users

Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.

ActiveCampaign pricing in full

Campaign Monitor plans

Campaign Monitor plans
PlanBilled monthlyBilled yearlyCharged perPublished limits
EnterpriseContact salesContact salesper workspaceNone stated

Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.

Campaign Monitor pricing in full

How we picked

Every one of these newsletter platforms is scored by the same 8 criteria (scorecard v2). Each criterion gives 0 to 100 from the vendor's published data; the total is the weighted average. A criterion without verified data is left out and the other weights are re-normalised. A tool with under 60% of the weight covered is listed as not ranked, and so is a tool with no verified price and fewer than 2 verified features (“needs a verified price”); each score shows how many criteria it is based on. The core criteria are the same in every category; the category criteria are specific to newsletter platforms. Nobody gets custom weights, including our own products.

Scorecard criteria and weights
CriterionWeightTypeWhat we measure
Entry price25%CorePrice per month of the cheapest paid plan, against the prices of other newsletter platforms on the same billing basis (monthly-billed prices against monthly, annual-billed against annual).Log scale. Billed monthly: $9/month or less = 100, $100 or more = 0. Only billed annually: $9/month or less = 100, $159 or more = 0. Only free plans = 100. Usage-priced and one-time plans are not scored.
Free plan or trial15%CoreWhether you can use the tool before paying: a free plan, or failing that a free trial, as shown on the vendor's pricing page.Free plan = 100. No free plan but a free trial = 60. The pricing page lists plans but shows neither = 0. No plans read = not scored.
Pricing transparency10%CoreHow much of the pricing is public: the share of plans with a published price ("contact sales" counts against), and whether there are at least 3 published tiers.80 x (plans with a public price / plans listed) + 20 x (public plans, up to 3) / 3. No plans read = not scored.
Verified features15%CoreHow many of the 9 features we track for this category the vendor's own pages verifiably show (paid subscriptions, automations / sequences, custom domain, referral programme, a/b testing, landing pages and forms, segmentation and tags, newsletter website, open and click analytics). This counts verified features only: a tool that documents less scores lower here, and only here.Linear: verified features / 5 (half the tracked list) x 100, capped at 100. No tracked feature verified = not scored.
API, integrations and export10%CoreWhether a public API exists, how many integrations the vendor states, and whether the vendor documents a way to export your data.Average of the parts with data: public API yes = 100, no = 0; integrations on a log scale (100 or more = 100); a documented data export = 100. None verified = not scored.
Cost at 1,000 subscribers10%CategoryMonthly price of the cheapest paid plan that allows at least 1,000 subscribers.Log scale: $5/month or less = 100, $100 or more = 0. Plans that do not state a subscriber limit are not used.
Free plan limits10%CategoryWhat the free plan allows: subscribers (full marks at 2,500), emails per month (full marks at 10,000).Each stated limit linear up to its full mark (unlimited = 100), averaged. Tools without a free plan, or whose free plan states none of these limits, are not scored here.
Paid subscriptions5%CategoryWhether writers can charge for subscriptions, and the platform's fee on that revenue.No paid subscriptions (verified) = 0; paid subscriptions: linear, 0% fee = 100, 15% or more = 0. Fee not stated = not scored.

Sources are vendor pricing pages, docs and changelogs, each with the date we checked it. We did not test these tools hands-on unless a listing says so. Full formulas: methodology.

Questions, answered from the data

Do ActiveCampaign and Campaign Monitor have free plans?

Neither has a free plan.