Screen recording

BlitzRecorder vs debut.sh compared on 7 fields

BlitzRecorder score
93/100 (4 of 6 criteria)
debut.sh score
not ranked
Fields won by BlitzRecorder
1 of 6
Fields won by debut.sh
0 of 6
BlitzRecorder
BlitzRecorder homepage (screenshot)
Homepage captured Oct 14, 2026
debut.sh
debut.sh homepage (screenshot)
Homepage captured Oct 14, 2026

Data checked Oct 14, 2026 against the vendors' own pages. How we verify

BlitzRecorder and debut.sh are both screen recording tools. We compared them on 7 fields read from each vendor's own pages.

On the screen recording tools scorecard BlitzRecorder scores 93/100 (4 of 6 criteria) and debut.sh not ranked.

Of the 6 fields with a clear rule (lower price, higher count, yes over no), BlitzRecorder wins 1, debut.sh wins 0 and 5 are ties.

BlitzRecorder scores clearly higher on free plan or trial.

Side by side

A winner is declared only on rows with a clear rule and data on both sides.
BlitzRecorder vs debut.sh, field by field
FieldBlitzRecorderdebut.shWinner and basis
Cheapest paid plan (billed monthly)––No winner: needs a value on both sides
Free plan✓ YesNoBlitzRecorder
Free trialNoNoTie
Camera overlayYesYesTie
Instant share linksYesYesTie
Built-in editingYesYesTie
Desktop appYesYesTie

– = not published by the vendor, or not verified yet.

Sources: BlitzRecorder pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026; debut.sh pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026. Each feature value links its own source on the tool's page.

Scorecard, criterion by criterion

Both tools on the screen recording tools scorecard: score 0-100 and the numbers it was computed from.
BlitzRecorder vs debut.sh scores
CriterionWeightBlitzRecorderdebut.sh
Entry price25%100Free: the pricing page lists no paid plan–
Free plan or trial15%100Free plan (Free)0No free plan or free trial shown on the pricing page
Pricing transparency10%871 of 1 plans have a public price932 of 2 plans have a public price
Verified features15%804 of 9 tracked features verified: camera overlay, instant share links, built-in editing, desktop app804 of 9 tracked features verified: camera overlay, instant share links, built-in editing, desktop app
Total score100%93/100 (4 of 6 criteria)not ranked

BlitzRecorder plans

BlitzRecorder plans
PlanBilled monthlyBilled yearlyCharged perPublished limits
FreeNot statedFreeper workspaceNone stated

Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.

BlitzRecorder pricing in full

debut.sh plans

debut.sh plans
PlanBilled monthlyBilled yearlyCharged perPublished limits
Debut License$59 once–per workspaceNone stated
Commercial license$119 once–per workspaceNone stated

Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.

debut.sh pricing in full

How we picked

Every one of these screen recording tools is scored by the same 6 criteria (scorecard v1). Each criterion gives 0 to 100 from the vendor's published data; the total is the weighted average. A criterion without verified data is left out and the other weights are re-normalised. A tool with under 60% of the weight covered is listed as not ranked, and so is a tool with no verified price and fewer than 2 verified features (“needs a verified price”); each score shows how many criteria it is based on. The core criteria are the same in every category; the category criteria are specific to screen recording tools. Nobody gets custom weights, including our own products.

Scorecard criteria and weights
CriterionWeightTypeWhat we measure
Entry price25%CorePrice per month of the cheapest paid plan, against the prices of other screen recording tools on the same billing basis (monthly-billed prices against monthly, annual-billed against annual).Log scale. Billed monthly: $7.61/month or less = 100, $30.44 or more = 0. Only billed annually: $3.60/month or less = 100, $14.40 or more = 0. Only free plans = 100. Usage-priced and one-time plans are not scored.
Free plan or trial15%CoreWhether you can use the tool before paying: a free plan, or failing that a free trial, as shown on the vendor's pricing page.Free plan = 100. No free plan but a free trial = 60. The pricing page lists plans but shows neither = 0. No plans read = not scored.
Pricing transparency10%CoreHow much of the pricing is public: the share of plans with a published price ("contact sales" counts against), and whether there are at least 3 published tiers.80 x (plans with a public price / plans listed) + 20 x (public plans, up to 3) / 3. No plans read = not scored.
Verified features15%CoreHow many of the 9 features we track for this category the vendor's own pages verifiably show (analytics, team access, templates, ai assistant, camera overlay, automatic captions, instant share links, built-in editing, desktop app). This counts verified features only: a tool that documents less scores lower here, and only here.Linear: verified features / 5 (half the tracked list) x 100, capped at 100. No tracked feature verified = not scored.
API, integrations and export10%CoreWhether a public API exists, how many integrations the vendor states, and whether the vendor documents a way to export your data.Average of the parts with data: public API yes = 100, no = 0; integrations on a log scale (100 or more = 100); a documented data export = 100. None verified = not scored.
Cost per user (team of 3)25%CategoryMonthly price per user for a team of 3, on the cheapest paid plan that is priced per seat or states room for at least 3 users.Log scale: $6.16 per user or less = 100, $24.66 or more = 0. Plans that do not state a user limit are not used. No such plan = not scored.

Sources are vendor pricing pages, docs and changelogs, each with the date we checked it. We did not test these tools hands-on unless a listing says so. Full formulas: methodology.

Questions, answered from the data

Do BlitzRecorder and debut.sh have free plans?

BlitzRecorder has a free plan; debut.sh does not.