

Video editing
Gling vs VEED compared on 11 fields
- Gling score
- 70/100 (5 of 7 criteria)
- VEED score
- 78/100 (6 of 7 criteria)
- Fields won by Gling
- 0 of 6
- Fields won by VEED
- 1 of 6


Data checked Oct 14, 2026 against the vendors' own pages. How we verify
Gling and VEED are both video editing tools. We compared them on 11 fields read from each vendor's own pages.
On the video editing tools scorecard Gling scores 70/100 (5 of 7 criteria) and VEED 78/100 (6 of 7 criteria) (ranks 38 and 27 in the category).
Of the 6 fields with a clear rule (lower price, higher count, yes over no), Gling wins 0, VEED wins 1 and 5 are ties.
Gling scores clearly higher on pricing transparency.
VEED scores clearly higher on verified features and entry price.
Side by side
| Field | Winner and basis | ||
|---|---|---|---|
| Cheapest paid plan (billed monthly) | $20/month | ✓ $10/month | VEED |
| Same plan, per month billed annually | $10/month | $10/month | Tie |
| Free plan | Yes | Yes | Tie |
| Free trial | No | No | Tie |
| Public API | – | Yes | No winner: needs a value on both sides |
| Data export | MP4 or MP3 media files with SRT captions, and XML for Final Cut Pro, DaVinci Resolve and Adobe Premiere | – | No winner: needs a value on both sides |
| Templates | – | Yes | No winner: needs a value on both sides |
| Automatic captions | Yes | Yes | Tie |
| Text-based editing | Yes | – | No winner: needs a value on both sides |
| No watermark on paid plans | Yes | Yes | Tie |
| Stock media library | – | Yes | No winner: needs a value on both sides |
– = not published by the vendor, or not verified yet.
Sources: Gling pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026; VEED pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026. Each feature value links its own source on the tool's page.
Scorecard, criterion by criterion
| Criterion | Weight | ||
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry price | 25% | 35$20/month billed monthly on Plus; $10/month billed annually on Plus (scored on the monthly price) | 50$10/month per seat billed annually on Creator; no monthly-billed price published (scored against annual-billed prices) |
| Free plan or trial | 15% | 100Free plan (Free) | 100Free plan |
| Pricing transparency | 10% | 1004 of 4 plans have a public price | 803 of 4 plans have a public price (1 "contact sales") |
| Verified features | 15% | 603 of 10 tracked features verified: automatic captions, text-based editing, no watermark on paid plans | 804 of 10 tracked features verified: templates, automatic captions, no watermark on paid plans, stock media library |
| API, integrations and export | 10% | 100documented data export | 100public API |
| Cost per user (team of 3) | 15% | – | 86$10 per user per month on Creator (team of 3, billed annually) |
| Total score | 100% | 70/100 (5 of 7 criteria) | 78/100 (6 of 7 criteria) |
Gling plans
| Plan | Billed monthly | Billed yearly | Charged per | Published limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | Free | Free | Not stated | None stated |
| Plus | $20 | $10 | per workspace | None stated |
| Pro | $40 | $20 | per workspace | None stated |
| Elite | $100 | $50 | per workspace | None stated |
Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.
VEED plans
| Plan | Billed monthly | Billed yearly | Charged per | Published limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Creator | Not offered | $10 | per user | None stated |
| Pro | Not offered | $21 | per user | None stated |
| Studio | Not offered | $35 | per user | None stated |
| Enterprise | Contact sales | Contact sales | Not stated | None stated |
Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.
How we picked
Every one of these video editing tools is scored by the same 7 criteria (scorecard v1). Each criterion gives 0 to 100 from the vendor's published data; the total is the weighted average. A criterion without verified data is left out and the other weights are re-normalised. A tool with under 60% of the weight covered is listed as not ranked, and so is a tool with no verified price and fewer than 2 verified features (“needs a verified price”); each score shows how many criteria it is based on. The core criteria are the same in every category; the category criteria are specific to video editing tools. Nobody gets custom weights, including our own products.
| Criterion | Weight | Type | What we measure |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry price | 25% | Core | Price per month of the cheapest paid plan, against the prices of other video editing tools on the same billing basis (monthly-billed prices against monthly, annual-billed against annual).Log scale. Billed monthly: $8.08/month or less = 100, $32.31 or more = 0. Only billed annually: $4/month or less = 100, $25 or more = 0. Only free plans = 100. Usage-priced and one-time plans are not scored. |
| Free plan or trial | 15% | Core | Whether you can use the tool before paying: a free plan, or failing that a free trial, as shown on the vendor's pricing page.Free plan = 100. No free plan but a free trial = 60. The pricing page lists plans but shows neither = 0. No plans read = not scored. |
| Pricing transparency | 10% | Core | How much of the pricing is public: the share of plans with a published price ("contact sales" counts against), and whether there are at least 3 published tiers.80 x (plans with a public price / plans listed) + 20 x (public plans, up to 3) / 3. No plans read = not scored. |
| Verified features | 15% | Core | How many of the 10 features we track for this category the vendor's own pages verifiably show (analytics, team access, templates, ai assistant, automatic captions, text-based editing, 4k export, no watermark on paid plans, stock media library, real-time collaboration). This counts verified features only: a tool that documents less scores lower here, and only here.Linear: verified features / 5 (half the tracked list) x 100, capped at 100. No tracked feature verified = not scored. |
| API, integrations and export | 10% | Core | Whether a public API exists, how many integrations the vendor states, and whether the vendor documents a way to export your data.Average of the parts with data: public API yes = 100, no = 0; integrations on a log scale (100 or more = 100); a documented data export = 100. None verified = not scored. |
| Cost per user (team of 3) | 15% | Category | Monthly price per user for a team of 3, on the cheapest paid plan that is priced per seat or states room for at least 3 users.Log scale: $8 per user or less = 100, $41.67 or more = 0. Plans that do not state a user limit are not used. No such plan = not scored. |
| Storage | 10% | Category | GB of storage included on the cheapest paid plan that states a limit.Log scale: 100 or more (or unlimited) = 100. No stated limit = not scored. |
Sources are vendor pricing pages, docs and changelogs, each with the date we checked it. We did not test these tools hands-on unless a listing says so. Full formulas: methodology.
Questions, answered from the data
Is Gling cheaper than VEED?
VEED starts lower: $10 per user per month billed yearly on the Creator plan, against $20 per month billed monthly ($10 billed yearly) on the Plus plan for Gling. Check the unit: per-user and per-account prices scale differently.
Do Gling and VEED have free plans?
Both have a free plan.
Which is better, Gling or VEED?
On our scorecard VEED scores higher (78/100 (6 of 7 criteria) vs 70/100 (5 of 7 criteria)). The score weighs every criterion the same way for every tool; check the rows above for the ones that matter to you.