AI video

HeyGen vs Video Maker compared on 16 fields

HeyGen score
76/100 (7 of 8 criteria)
Video Maker score
60/100 (5 of 8 criteria)
Fields won by HeyGen
1 of 7
Fields won by Video Maker
1 of 7
HeyGen
HeyGen homepage (screenshot)
Homepage captured Oct 14, 2026
Video Maker
Video Maker homepage (screenshot)
Homepage captured Oct 14, 2026

Data checked Oct 14, 2026 against the vendors' own pages. How we verify

HeyGen and Video Maker are both AI video generators. We compared them on 16 fields read from each vendor's own pages.

On the AI video generators scorecard HeyGen scores 76/100 (7 of 8 criteria) and Video Maker 60/100 (5 of 8 criteria) (ranks 33 and 78 in the category).

Of the 7 fields with a clear rule (lower price, higher count, yes over no), HeyGen wins 1, Video Maker wins 1 and 5 are ties.

HeyGen scores clearly higher on free plan or trial and verified features.

Video Maker scores clearly higher on pricing transparency.

Side by side

A winner is declared only on rows with a clear rule and data on both sides.
HeyGen vs Video Maker, field by field
FieldHeyGenVideo MakerWinner and basis
Cheapest paid plan (billed monthly)$29/month$29/monthTie
Free plan✓ YesNoHeyGen
Free trialNo✓ YesVideo Maker
Trial length (days)–14No winner: needs a value on both sides
Public APIYesYesTie
Data exportSCORM export for videos on the Business plan–No winner: needs a value on both sides
Text to videoYesYesTie
AI avatarsYes–No winner: needs a value on both sides
Stock avatars available500–No winner: needs a value on both sides
Languages supported175–No winner: needs a value on both sides
Voice cloningYes–No winner: needs a value on both sides
Automatic captionsYes–No winner: needs a value on both sides
AI dubbing / translationYes–No winner: needs a value on both sides
4K exportYes–No winner: needs a value on both sides
No watermark on paid plansYesYesTie
Brand kitYesYesTie

– = not published by the vendor, or not verified yet.

Sources: HeyGen pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026; Video Maker pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026. Each feature value links its own source on the tool's page.

Scorecard, criterion by criterion

Both tools on the AI video generators scorecard: score 0-100 and the numbers it was computed from.
HeyGen vs Video Maker scores
CriterionWeightHeyGenVideo Maker
Entry price25%20$29/month billed monthly on Creator (scored on the monthly price)20$29/month billed monthly on Beginner (scored on the monthly price)
Free plan or trial15%100Free plan (Free)60Free trial (14 days), no free plan
Pricing transparency10%844 of 5 plans have a public price (1 "contact sales")1003 of 3 plans have a public price
Verified features15%1008 of 8 tracked features verified: text to video, ai avatars, voice cloning, automatic captions, ai dubbing / translation, 4k export, no watermark on paid plans, brand kit753 of 8 tracked features verified: text to video, no watermark on paid plans, brand kit
API, integrations and export10%100public API, documented data export100public API
Languages10%100175 languages–
Avatar library5%100500 stock avatars–
Total score100%76/100 (7 of 8 criteria)60/100 (5 of 8 criteria)

HeyGen plans

HeyGen plans
PlanBilled monthlyBilled yearlyCharged perPublished limits
FreeFreeFreeper workspaceNone stated
Creator$29Not statedper workspaceNone stated
Pro$49Not statedper workspaceNone stated
Business$149Not statedper workspaceNone stated
EnterpriseContact salesContact salesNot statedNone stated

Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.

HeyGen pricing in full

Video Maker plans

Video Maker plans
PlanBilled monthlyBilled yearlyCharged perPublished limits
Beginner$29Not statedper workspace
  • 400 credits per month
Hustler$59Not statedper workspace
  • 1,200 credits per month
Pro$119Not statedper workspace
  • 2,400 credits per month

Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.

Video Maker pricing in full

How we picked

Every one of these AI video generators is scored by the same 8 criteria (scorecard v2). Each criterion gives 0 to 100 from the vendor's published data; the total is the weighted average. A criterion without verified data is left out and the other weights are re-normalised. A tool with under 60% of the weight covered is listed as not ranked, and so is a tool with no verified price and fewer than 2 verified features (“needs a verified price”); each score shows how many criteria it is based on. The core criteria are the same in every category; the category criteria are specific to AI video generators. Nobody gets custom weights, including our own products.

Scorecard criteria and weights
CriterionWeightTypeWhat we measure
Entry price25%CorePrice per month of the cheapest paid plan, against the prices of other AI video generators on the same billing basis (monthly-billed prices against monthly, annual-billed against annual).Log scale. Billed monthly: $9/month or less = 100, $39 or more = 0. Only billed annually: $4.50/month or less = 100, $25 or more = 0. Only free plans = 100. Usage-priced and one-time plans are not scored.
Free plan or trial15%CoreWhether you can use the tool before paying: a free plan, or failing that a free trial, as shown on the vendor's pricing page.Free plan = 100. No free plan but a free trial = 60. The pricing page lists plans but shows neither = 0. No plans read = not scored.
Pricing transparency10%CoreHow much of the pricing is public: the share of plans with a published price ("contact sales" counts against), and whether there are at least 3 published tiers.80 x (plans with a public price / plans listed) + 20 x (public plans, up to 3) / 3. No plans read = not scored.
Verified features15%CoreHow many of the 8 features we track for this category the vendor's own pages verifiably show (text to video, ai avatars, voice cloning, automatic captions, ai dubbing / translation, 4k export, no watermark on paid plans, brand kit). This counts verified features only: a tool that documents less scores lower here, and only here.Linear: verified features / 4 (half the tracked list) x 100, capped at 100. No tracked feature verified = not scored.
API, integrations and export10%CoreWhether a public API exists, how many integrations the vendor states, and whether the vendor documents a way to export your data.Average of the parts with data: public API yes = 100, no = 0; integrations on a log scale (50 or more = 100); a documented data export = 100. None verified = not scored.
Cost per video minute10%CategoryPrice per video minute on the cheapest paid plan that states a monthly minutes limit (monthly price / allowance).Log scale: $0.50 per video minute or less = 100, $10 or more = 0. Unlimited or unstated allowances = not scored.
Languages10%CategoryNumber of languages the vendor says it offers.Linear scale: 100 or more = 100. No stated count = not scored.
Avatar library5%CategoryNumber of stock avatars the vendor says it offers.Linear scale: 200 or more = 100. No stated count = not scored.

Sources are vendor pricing pages, docs and changelogs, each with the date we checked it. We did not test these tools hands-on unless a listing says so. Full formulas: methodology.

Questions, answered from the data

Is HeyGen cheaper than Video Maker?

Their cheapest paid plans cost the same, $29 a month.

Do HeyGen and Video Maker have free plans?

HeyGen has a free plan; Video Maker does not.

Which is better, HeyGen or Video Maker?

On our scorecard HeyGen scores higher (76/100 (7 of 8 criteria) vs 60/100 (5 of 8 criteria)). The score weighs every criterion the same way for every tool; check the rows above for the ones that matter to you.