AI video

Koe vs Runway compared on 11 fields

Koe score
87/100 (5 of 8 criteria)
Runway score
83/100 (5 of 8 criteria)
Fields won by Koe
2 of 6
Fields won by Runway
0 of 6
Koe
Koe homepage (screenshot)
Homepage captured Oct 14, 2026
Runway
Runway homepage (screenshot)
Homepage captured Oct 14, 2026

Data checked Oct 14, 2026 against the vendors' own pages. How we verify

Koe and Runway are both AI video generators. We compared them on 11 fields read from each vendor's own pages.

On the AI video generators scorecard Koe scores 87/100 (5 of 8 criteria) and Runway 83/100 (5 of 8 criteria) (ranks 10 and 17 in the category).

Of the 6 fields with a clear rule (lower price, higher count, yes over no), Koe wins 2, Runway wins 0 and 4 are ties.

Koe scores clearly higher on entry price.

Runway scores clearly higher on pricing transparency.

Side by side

A winner is declared only on rows with a clear rule and data on both sides.
Koe vs Runway, field by field
FieldKoeRunwayWinner and basis
Cheapest paid plan (billed monthly)✓ $12/month$15/monthKoe
Same plan, per month billed annually✓ $10/month$12/monthKoe
Free planYesYesTie
Free trialNoNoTie
Platforms supported–1No winner: needs a value on both sides
Public APIYesYesTie
Voice cloning–YesNo winner: needs a value on both sides
Automatic captionsYes–No winner: needs a value on both sides
4K exportYes–No winner: needs a value on both sides
No watermark on paid plansYesYesTie
Brand kit–YesNo winner: needs a value on both sides

– = not published by the vendor, or not verified yet.

Sources: Koe pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026; Runway pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026. Each feature value links its own source on the tool's page.

Scorecard, criterion by criterion

Both tools on the AI video generators scorecard: score 0-100 and the numbers it was computed from.
Koe vs Runway scores
CriterionWeightKoeRunway
Entry price25%80$12/month billed monthly on Hobby; $10/month billed annually on Hobby (scored on the monthly price)65$15/month billed monthly on Standard; $12/month billed annually on Standard (scored on the monthly price)
Free plan or trial15%100Free plan (Free)100Free plan (Free)
Pricing transparency10%896 of 7 plans have a public price (1 "contact sales")1004 of 4 plans have a public price
Verified features15%753 of 8 tracked features verified: automatic captions, 4k export, no watermark on paid plans753 of 8 tracked features verified: voice cloning, no watermark on paid plans, brand kit
API, integrations and export10%100public API100public API
Total score100%87/100 (5 of 8 criteria)83/100 (5 of 8 criteria)

Koe plans

Koe plans
PlanBilled monthlyBilled yearlyCharged perPublished limits
FreeFreeFreeper workspaceNone stated
Hobby$12$10per workspace
  • 800 credits per month
Starter$30$24per workspace
  • 2,500 credits per month
Pro$90Not statedper workspace
  • 8,000 credits per month
Team$240Not statedper workspace
  • 22,000 credits per month
Ultra$600Not statedper workspace
  • 60,000 credits per month
EnterpriseContact salesContact salesNot statedNone stated

Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.

Koe pricing in full

Runway plans

Runway plans
PlanBilled monthlyBilled yearlyCharged perPublished limits
FreeFreeFreeper workspace
  • 5 storage gb
Standard$15$12per workspace
  • 625 credits per month
  • 20 storage gb
Pro$35$28per workspace
  • 2,250 credits per month
  • 100 storage gb
Max$95$76per workspace
  • 9,500 credits per month
  • 500 storage gb

Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.

Runway pricing in full

How we picked

Every one of these AI video generators is scored by the same 8 criteria (scorecard v2). Each criterion gives 0 to 100 from the vendor's published data; the total is the weighted average. A criterion without verified data is left out and the other weights are re-normalised. A tool with under 60% of the weight covered is listed as not ranked, and so is a tool with no verified price and fewer than 2 verified features (“needs a verified price”); each score shows how many criteria it is based on. The core criteria are the same in every category; the category criteria are specific to AI video generators. Nobody gets custom weights, including our own products.

Scorecard criteria and weights
CriterionWeightTypeWhat we measure
Entry price25%CorePrice per month of the cheapest paid plan, against the prices of other AI video generators on the same billing basis (monthly-billed prices against monthly, annual-billed against annual).Log scale. Billed monthly: $9/month or less = 100, $39 or more = 0. Only billed annually: $4.50/month or less = 100, $25 or more = 0. Only free plans = 100. Usage-priced and one-time plans are not scored.
Free plan or trial15%CoreWhether you can use the tool before paying: a free plan, or failing that a free trial, as shown on the vendor's pricing page.Free plan = 100. No free plan but a free trial = 60. The pricing page lists plans but shows neither = 0. No plans read = not scored.
Pricing transparency10%CoreHow much of the pricing is public: the share of plans with a published price ("contact sales" counts against), and whether there are at least 3 published tiers.80 x (plans with a public price / plans listed) + 20 x (public plans, up to 3) / 3. No plans read = not scored.
Verified features15%CoreHow many of the 8 features we track for this category the vendor's own pages verifiably show (text to video, ai avatars, voice cloning, automatic captions, ai dubbing / translation, 4k export, no watermark on paid plans, brand kit). This counts verified features only: a tool that documents less scores lower here, and only here.Linear: verified features / 4 (half the tracked list) x 100, capped at 100. No tracked feature verified = not scored.
API, integrations and export10%CoreWhether a public API exists, how many integrations the vendor states, and whether the vendor documents a way to export your data.Average of the parts with data: public API yes = 100, no = 0; integrations on a log scale (50 or more = 100); a documented data export = 100. None verified = not scored.
Cost per video minute10%CategoryPrice per video minute on the cheapest paid plan that states a monthly minutes limit (monthly price / allowance).Log scale: $0.50 per video minute or less = 100, $10 or more = 0. Unlimited or unstated allowances = not scored.
Languages10%CategoryNumber of languages the vendor says it offers.Linear scale: 100 or more = 100. No stated count = not scored.
Avatar library5%CategoryNumber of stock avatars the vendor says it offers.Linear scale: 200 or more = 100. No stated count = not scored.

Sources are vendor pricing pages, docs and changelogs, each with the date we checked it. We did not test these tools hands-on unless a listing says so. Full formulas: methodology.

Questions, answered from the data

Is Koe cheaper than Runway?

Koe starts lower: $12 per month billed monthly ($10 billed yearly) on the Hobby plan, against $15 per month billed monthly ($12 billed yearly) on the Standard plan for Runway. Check the unit: per-user and per-account prices scale differently.

Do Koe and Runway have free plans?

Both have a free plan.

Which is better, Koe or Runway?

On our scorecard Koe scores higher (87/100 (5 of 8 criteria) vs 83/100 (5 of 8 criteria)). The score weighs every criterion the same way for every tool; check the rows above for the ones that matter to you.