

Podcast hosting
Spreaker vs Transistor compared on 16 fields
- Spreaker score
- 72/100 (6 of 8 criteria)
- Transistor score
- 72/100 (7 of 8 criteria)
- Fields won by Spreaker
- 1 of 8
- Fields won by Transistor
- 2 of 8


Data checked Oct 14, 2026 against the vendors' own pages. How we verify
Spreaker and Transistor are both podcast hosting platforms. We compared them on 16 fields read from each vendor's own pages.
On the podcast hosting platforms scorecard Spreaker scores 72/100 (6 of 8 criteria) and Transistor 72/100 (7 of 8 criteria) (ranks 11 and 12 in the category).
Of the 8 fields with a clear rule (lower price, higher count, yes over no), Spreaker wins 1, Transistor wins 2 and 5 are ties.
Spreaker scores clearly higher on free plan or trial and pricing transparency.
Transistor scores clearly higher on cost per user (team of 3).
Side by side
| Field | Winner and basis | ||
|---|---|---|---|
| Cheapest paid plan (billed monthly) | $20/month | ✓ $19/month | Transistor |
| Free plan | ✓ Yes | No | Spreaker |
| Free trial | No | ✓ Yes | Transistor |
| Trial length (days) | – | 14 | No winner: needs a value on both sides |
| Platforms supported | – | 1 | No winner: needs a value on both sides |
| Public API | – | Yes | No winner: needs a value on both sides |
| One-click distribution to podcast apps | Yes | Yes | Tie |
| Listener analytics | Yes | Yes | Tie |
| IAB-certified analytics | Yes | – | No winner: needs a value on both sides |
| Monetisation (ads or listener support) | Yes | – | No winner: needs a value on both sides |
| Dynamic ad insertion | – | Yes | No winner: needs a value on both sides |
| Transcripts | Yes | Yes | Tie |
| Video podcasts | – | Yes | No winner: needs a value on both sides |
| Private podcasts | Yes | Yes | Tie |
| Podcast website | – | Yes | No winner: needs a value on both sides |
| Team access | Yes | Yes | Tie |
– = not published by the vendor, or not verified yet.
Sources: Spreaker pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026; Transistor pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026. Each feature value links its own source on the tool's page.
Scorecard, criterion by criterion
| Criterion | Weight | ||
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry price | 25% | 26$20/month billed monthly on Broadcaster (scored on the monthly price) | 30$19/month billed monthly on Starter (scored on the monthly price) |
| Free plan or trial | 15% | 100Free plan (Free) | 60Free trial (14 days), no free plan |
| Pricing transparency | 10% | 1004 of 4 plans have a public price | 803 of 4 plans have a public price (1 "contact sales") |
| Verified features | 15% | 1007 of 10 tracked features verified: one-click distribution to podcast apps, listener analytics, iab-certified analytics, monetisation (ads or listener support), transcripts, private podcasts, team access | 1008 of 10 tracked features verified: one-click distribution to podcast apps, listener analytics, dynamic ad insertion, transcripts, video podcasts, private podcasts, podcast website, team access |
| API, integrations and export | 10% | – | 100public API |
| Shows per plan | 10% | 100Unlimited podcasts on Broadcaster ($20/month) | 100Unlimited podcasts on Starter ($19/month) |
| Cost per user (team of 3) | 5% | 28$16.67 per user per month on Anchorman (team of 3, billed monthly) | 98$6.33 per user per month on Starter (team of 3, billed monthly) |
| Total score | 100% | 72/100 (6 of 8 criteria) | 72/100 (7 of 8 criteria) |
Spreaker plans
| Plan | Billed monthly | Billed yearly | Charged per | Published limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | Free | Free | per workspace | None stated |
| Broadcaster | $20 | Not stated | per workspace |
|
| Anchorman | $50 | Not stated | per workspace |
|
| Publisher | $250 | Not stated | per workspace |
|
Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.
Transistor plans
| Plan | Billed monthly | Billed yearly | Charged per | Published limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starter | $19 | Not stated | per workspace |
|
| Professional | $49 | Not stated | per workspace |
|
| Business | $99 | Not stated | per workspace |
|
| Enterprise | Contact sales | Contact sales | Not stated | None stated |
Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.
How we picked
Every one of these podcast hosting platforms is scored by the same 8 criteria (scorecard v2). Each criterion gives 0 to 100 from the vendor's published data; the total is the weighted average. A criterion without verified data is left out and the other weights are re-normalised. A tool with under 60% of the weight covered is listed as not ranked, and so is a tool with no verified price and fewer than 2 verified features (“needs a verified price”); each score shows how many criteria it is based on. The core criteria are the same in every category; the category criteria are specific to podcast hosting platforms. Nobody gets custom weights, including our own products.
| Criterion | Weight | Type | What we measure |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry price | 25% | Core | Price per month of the cheapest paid plan, against the prices of other podcast hosting platforms on the same billing basis (monthly-billed prices against monthly, annual-billed against annual).Log scale. Billed monthly: $7/month or less = 100, $29 or more = 0. Only billed annually: $6.38/month or less = 100, $25.54 or more = 0. Only free plans = 100. Usage-priced and one-time plans are not scored. |
| Free plan or trial | 15% | Core | Whether you can use the tool before paying: a free plan, or failing that a free trial, as shown on the vendor's pricing page.Free plan = 100. No free plan but a free trial = 60. The pricing page lists plans but shows neither = 0. No plans read = not scored. |
| Pricing transparency | 10% | Core | How much of the pricing is public: the share of plans with a published price ("contact sales" counts against), and whether there are at least 3 published tiers.80 x (plans with a public price / plans listed) + 20 x (public plans, up to 3) / 3. No plans read = not scored. |
| Verified features | 15% | Core | How many of the 10 features we track for this category the vendor's own pages verifiably show (one-click distribution to podcast apps, listener analytics, iab-certified analytics, monetisation (ads or listener support), dynamic ad insertion, transcripts, video podcasts, private podcasts, podcast website, team access). This counts verified features only: a tool that documents less scores lower here, and only here.Linear: verified features / 5 (half the tracked list) x 100, capped at 100. No tracked feature verified = not scored. |
| API, integrations and export | 10% | Core | Whether a public API exists, how many integrations the vendor states, and whether the vendor documents a way to export your data.Average of the parts with data: public API yes = 100, no = 0; integrations on a log scale (30 or more = 100); a documented data export = 100. None verified = not scored. |
| Shows per plan | 10% | Category | Podcasts included on the cheapest paid plan that states a limit.Log scale: 10 or more (or unlimited) = 100. No stated limit = not scored. |
| Upload allowance | 10% | Category | Upload hours per month included on the cheapest paid plan that states a limit.Linear scale: 10 or more (or unlimited) = 100. No stated limit = not scored. |
| Cost per user (team of 3) | 5% | Category | Monthly price per user for a team of 3, on the cheapest paid plan that is priced per seat or states room for at least 3 users.Log scale: $6.16 per user or less = 100, $24.65 or more = 0. Plans that do not state a user limit are not used. No such plan = not scored. |
Sources are vendor pricing pages, docs and changelogs, each with the date we checked it. We did not test these tools hands-on unless a listing says so. Full formulas: methodology.
Questions, answered from the data
Is Spreaker cheaper than Transistor?
Transistor starts lower: $19 per month billed monthly on the Starter plan, against $20 per month billed monthly on the Broadcaster plan for Spreaker. Check the unit: per-user and per-account prices scale differently.
Do Spreaker and Transistor have free plans?
Spreaker has a free plan; Transistor does not.
Which is better, Spreaker or Transistor?
On our scorecard Spreaker scores higher (72/100 (6 of 8 criteria) vs 72/100 (7 of 8 criteria)). The score weighs every criterion the same way for every tool; check the rows above for the ones that matter to you.