

AI writing
starc vs Wordtune compared on 10 fields
- starc score
- 90/100 (5 of 7 criteria)
- Wordtune score
- 78/100 (5 of 7 criteria)
- Fields won by starc
- 3 of 6
- Fields won by Wordtune
- 0 of 6
No screenshot of starc's homepage yet

Data checked Oct 14, 2026 against the vendors' own pages. How we verify
starc and Wordtune are both AI writing tools. We compared them on 10 fields read from each vendor's own pages.
On the AI writing tools scorecard starc scores 90/100 (5 of 7 criteria) and Wordtune 78/100 (5 of 7 criteria) (ranks 6 and 18 in the category).
Of the 6 fields with a clear rule (lower price, higher count, yes over no), starc wins 3, Wordtune wins 0 and 3 are ties.
Side by side
| Field | Winner and basis | ||
|---|---|---|---|
| Cheapest paid plan (billed monthly) | ✓ $4.17/month | $4.89/month | starc |
| Same plan, per month billed annually | ✓ $4.17/month | $4.89/month | starc |
| Free plan | Yes | Yes | Tie |
| Free trial | Yes | Yes | Tie |
| Trial length (days) | ✓ 30 | 3 | starc |
| Data export | Screenplay, comic, audio drama, stageplay and novel documents (import / export) | – | No winner: needs a value on both sides |
| Team access | Yes | – | No winner: needs a value on both sides |
| AI assistant | Yes | Yes | Tie |
| Languages supported | – | 10 | No winner: needs a value on both sides |
| Browser extension | – | Yes | No winner: needs a value on both sides |
– = not published by the vendor, or not verified yet.
Sources: starc pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026; Wordtune pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026. Each feature value links its own source on the tool's page.
Scorecard, criterion by criterion
| Criterion | Weight | ||
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry price | 25% | 100$4.17/month billed annually on Pro; no monthly-billed price published (scored against annual-billed prices) | 100$4.89/month billed annually on Advanced; no monthly-billed price published (scored against annual-billed prices) |
| Free plan or trial | 15% | 100Free plan (Free) | 100Free plan (Basic) |
| Pricing transparency | 10% | 1004 of 4 plans have a public price | 1003 of 3 plans have a public price |
| Verified features | 15% | 502 of 8 tracked features verified: team access, ai assistant | 502 of 8 tracked features verified: ai assistant, browser extension |
| API, integrations and export | 10% | 100documented data export | – |
| Languages | 10% | – | 1010 languages |
| Total score | 100% | 90/100 (5 of 7 criteria) | 78/100 (5 of 7 criteria) |
starc plans
| Plan | Billed monthly | Billed yearly | Charged per | Published limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | Free | Free | per workspace | None stated |
| Pro | Not offered | $4.17 | per workspace |
|
| Pro Lifetime | $150 once | – | per workspace | None stated |
| Creator | Not offered | $8.34 | per workspace |
|
Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.
Wordtune plans
| Plan | Billed monthly | Billed yearly | Charged per | Published limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Basic | Free | Free | Not stated | None stated |
| Advanced | Not offered | $4.89 | Not stated | None stated |
| Unlimited | Not offered | $6.99 | Not stated | None stated |
Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.
How we picked
Every one of these AI writing tools is scored by the same 7 criteria (scorecard v1). Each criterion gives 0 to 100 from the vendor's published data; the total is the weighted average. A criterion without verified data is left out and the other weights are re-normalised. A tool with under 60% of the weight covered is listed as not ranked, and so is a tool with no verified price and fewer than 2 verified features (“needs a verified price”); each score shows how many criteria it is based on. The core criteria are the same in every category; the category criteria are specific to AI writing tools. Nobody gets custom weights, including our own products.
| Criterion | Weight | Type | What we measure |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry price | 25% | Core | Price per month of the cheapest paid plan, against the prices of other AI writing tools on the same billing basis (monthly-billed prices against monthly, annual-billed against annual).Log scale. Billed monthly: $9.99/month or less = 100, $69 or more = 0. Only billed annually: $4.92/month or less = 100, $49 or more = 0. Only free plans = 100. Usage-priced and one-time plans are not scored. |
| Free plan or trial | 15% | Core | Whether you can use the tool before paying: a free plan, or failing that a free trial, as shown on the vendor's pricing page.Free plan = 100. No free plan but a free trial = 60. The pricing page lists plans but shows neither = 0. No plans read = not scored. |
| Pricing transparency | 10% | Core | How much of the pricing is public: the share of plans with a published price ("contact sales" counts against), and whether there are at least 3 published tiers.80 x (plans with a public price / plans listed) + 20 x (public plans, up to 3) / 3. No plans read = not scored. |
| Verified features | 15% | Core | How many of the 8 features we track for this category the vendor's own pages verifiably show (analytics, team access, templates, ai assistant, brand voice, seo optimisation, plagiarism checker, browser extension). This counts verified features only: a tool that documents less scores lower here, and only here.Linear: verified features / 4 (half the tracked list) x 100, capped at 100. No tracked feature verified = not scored. |
| API, integrations and export | 10% | Core | Whether a public API exists, how many integrations the vendor states, and whether the vendor documents a way to export your data.Average of the parts with data: public API yes = 100, no = 0; integrations on a log scale (100 or more = 100); a documented data export = 100. None verified = not scored. |
| Cost per user (team of 3) | 15% | Category | Monthly price per user for a team of 3, on the cheapest paid plan that is priced per seat or states room for at least 3 users.Log scale: $13 per user or less = 100, $69 or more = 0. Plans that do not state a user limit are not used. No such plan = not scored. |
| Languages | 10% | Category | Number of languages the vendor says it offers.Linear scale: 100 or more = 100. No stated count = not scored. |
Sources are vendor pricing pages, docs and changelogs, each with the date we checked it. We did not test these tools hands-on unless a listing says so. Full formulas: methodology.
Questions, answered from the data
Is starc cheaper than Wordtune?
starc starts lower: $4.17 per month billed yearly on the Pro plan, against $4.89 per month billed yearly on the Advanced plan for Wordtune. Check the unit: per-user and per-account prices scale differently.
Do starc and Wordtune have free plans?
Both have a free plan.
Which is better, starc or Wordtune?
On our scorecard starc scores higher (90/100 (5 of 7 criteria) vs 78/100 (5 of 7 criteria)). The score weighs every criterion the same way for every tool; check the rows above for the ones that matter to you.