
lua review 69/100 on verified data
lua is an URL shortener: Short link service with custom domains, QR codes, click analytics, a REST API and an MCP server, also available as open source for self-hosting.
Data checked Oct 14, 2026 against the vendors' own pages. How we verify

- Score (rank 21 of 27)
- 69/100
- Coverage (8 of 8 criteria)
- 100%
- From, per month
- $19
- Free plan
- Yes
Paid plans start at $19 per month billed monthly on the Starter plan, and there is a free plan with 5 links and 1 user.
lua has a public API.
In our URL shorteners ranking lua scores 69/100, rank 21 of 27, based on 8 of 8 criteria (100% of the scorecard weight backed by verified data).
lua at a glance
- Pricing model
- Free plan + paid plans source, Oct 14, 2026
- Cheapest paid plan
- Starter: $19/mo source, Oct 14, 2026
- Free plan
- Yes source, Oct 14, 2026
- Free trial
- No source, Oct 14, 2026
- Public API
- Yes source, Oct 14, 2026
- Open-source licence (GitHub)
- AGPL-3.0 source, Oct 14, 2026
- GitHub stars
- 343 source, Oct 14, 2026
- Self-hosting
- Stated by the vendor source, Oct 14, 2026
lua plans
Free
Free
- Billed monthly
- Free
- Billed yearly
- Free
- Charged per
- per workspace
Published limits
- 5 links
- 1 user
Starter
$19per month, billed monthly
- Billed monthly
- $19
- Billed yearly
- Not stated
- Charged per
- per workspace
Published limits
- 1,000 links
- 2 users
Pro
$49per month, billed monthly
- Billed monthly
- $49
- Billed yearly
- Not stated
- Charged per
- per workspace
Published limits
- 5,000 links
- 5 users
Growth
$149per month, billed monthly
- Billed monthly
- $149
- Billed yearly
- Not stated
- Charged per
- per workspace
Published limits
- 20,000 links
- 10 users
Scale
$349per month, billed monthly
- Billed monthly
- $349
- Billed yearly
- Not stated
- Charged per
- per workspace
Published limits
- 100,000 links
- 20 users
Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.
Full lua pricing and plan limitsHow lua scores
Score
69/100
Rank #21 of 27
Coverage 100%
8 of 8 criteria. Ranked at 60% or more.
Entry price
24/100
Weight 25%$19/month billed monthly on Starter (scored on the monthly price) source
Free plan or trial
100/100
Weight 15%Free plan (Free) source
Pricing transparency
100/100
Weight 10%5 of 5 plans have a public price source
Verified features
100/100
Weight 15%4 of 7 tracked features verified: custom domain, qr codes, click analytics, team access source
API, integrations and export
100/100
Weight 10%public API source
Free plan limitscategory criterion
5/100
Weight 10%Free plan: 5 links source
Links on paid planscategory criterion
100/100
Weight 10%1,000 links on Starter ($19/month) source
Cost per user (team of 3)category criterion
40/100
Weight 5%$16.33 per user per month on Pro (team of 3, billed monthly) source
lua features
- Custom domain
- Yes source, Oct 14, 2026
- QR codes
- Yes source, Oct 14, 2026
- Click analytics
- Yes source, Oct 14, 2026
- Team access
- Yes source, Oct 14, 2026
5 more details we track are not published by the vendor or not verified yet (shown as – in tables). How we verify
lua alternatives
| # | Tool | Score | Coverage | From, billed monthly | From, billed yearly | Free plan | Public API | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 100/100 | 80%6 of 8 criteria | $5/mo | Not offered | Yes | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 2 | 99/100 | 85%6 of 8 criteria | Free | Free | Yes, 5 pages | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 3 | 97/100 | 100%8 of 8 criteria | $5/mo | Not offered | Yes, 1 user | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 4 | 94/100 | 75%5 of 8 criteria | $7/mo | $6/mo | Yes | – | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 5 | 89/100 | 65%4 of 8 criteria | Free | Free | Yes | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 |
Each value links the vendor page it was read from (hover for the check date). Coverage is the share of the scorecard's weight with verified data, and "N of M criteria" how many criteria the score is based on; a tool is ranked at 60% or more.
All 34 lua alternatives, rankedMore ways to weigh up lua
Compare lua
Questions, answered from the data
How much does lua cost?
Paid plans start at $19 per month billed monthly on the Starter plan, according to lua's pricing page (checked Oct 14, 2026).
Does lua have a free plan?
Yes: lua has a free plan with 5 links and 1 user (checked Oct 14, 2026).
Does lua have an API?
Yes, a public API is documented (checked Oct 14, 2026).
How does lua score?
In our URL shorteners ranking lua scores 69/100, rank 21 of 27, based on 8 of 8 criteria (100% of the scorecard weight backed by verified data).
What are the best lua alternatives?
By our scorecard the top-ranked alternatives are EZQR (100/100), biolink.page (99/100) and Short.io (97/100).
More on lua
Rankings it appears in
Categories
Pricing last read Oct 14, 2026. Vendors change prices; the linked page is the final word.