
OpenShorts review 68/100 on verified data
OpenShorts is a short-form video clipper: Open-source AI clip generator that turns long videos into vertical short clips with captions, available self-hosted or as a hosted cloud service.
Data checked Oct 14, 2026 against the vendors' own pages. How we verify

- Score (rank 18 of 37)
- 68/100
- Coverage (5 of 8 criteria)
- 75%
- From, per month
- $29
- Free plan
- Yes
It works with 3 platforms of the 15 we track: Instagram, TikTok and YouTube.
Paid plans start at $29 per month billed monthly on the Creator plan, and there is a free plan.
OpenShorts has a public API.
In our short-form video clippers ranking OpenShorts scores 68/100, rank 18 of 37, based on 5 of 8 criteria (75% of the scorecard weight backed by verified data).
OpenShorts at a glance
- Pricing model
- Free plan + paid plans source, Oct 14, 2026
- Cheapest paid plan
- Creator: $29/mo source, Oct 14, 2026
- Free plan
- Yes source, Oct 14, 2026
- Free trial
- No source, Oct 14, 2026
- Platforms
- Instagram, TikTok, YouTube
- Public API
- Yes source, Oct 14, 2026
- Data export
- Clips can be exported or published directly to social platforms source, Oct 14, 2026
OpenShorts plans
Self-hosted
Not stated
- Billed monthly
- Not stated
- Billed yearly
- Free
- Charged per
- per workspace
Published limits
None statedCreator
$29per month, billed monthly
- Billed monthly
- $29
- Billed yearly
- Not stated
- Charged per
- per workspace
Published limits
None stated
Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.
Full OpenShorts pricing and plan limitsHow OpenShorts scores
Score
68/100
Rank #18 of 37
Coverage 75%
5 of 8 criteria. Ranked at 60% or more.
Entry price
8/100
Weight 33%$29/month billed monthly on Creator (scored on the monthly price) source
Free plan or trial
100/100
Weight 20%Free plan (Self-hosted) source
Pricing transparency
93/100
Weight 13%2 of 2 plans have a public price source
Verified features
100/100
Weight 20%4 of 8 tracked features verified: automatic captions, auto reframe to vertical, no watermark on paid plans, team access source 1source 2
API, integrations and export
100/100
Weight 13%public API, documented data export source
Platform coveragecategory criterion
Excluded
Weight –No published data: left out, the other criteria are re-weighted.
Storagecategory criterion
Excluded
Weight –No published data: left out, the other criteria are re-weighted.
Cost per user (team of 3)category criterion
Excluded
Weight –No published data: left out, the other criteria are re-weighted.
OpenShorts features
- Automatic captions
- Yes source, Oct 14, 2026
- Auto reframe to vertical
- Yes source, Oct 14, 2026
- No watermark on paid plans
- Yes source, Oct 14, 2026
- Team access
- Yes source, Oct 14, 2026
6 more details we track are not published by the vendor or not verified yet (shown as – in tables). How we verify
OpenShorts alternatives
| # | Tool | Score | Coverage | From, billed monthly | From, billed yearly | Free plan | Platforms | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 98/100 | 75%5 of 8 criteria | Free | Free | Yes, 60 credits per month | – | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 2 | AutoVOD | 97/100 | 65%4 of 8 criteria | $7.99/mo | Not offered | Yes, 20 credits per month | 2 | Oct 14, 2026 |
| 3 | 96/100 | 75%5 of 8 criteria | $9/mo | $7.50/mo | Yes | – | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 4 | 95/100 | 75%5 of 8 criteria | $9.90/mo | Not offered | Yes | 1 | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 5 | 94/100 | 65%4 of 8 criteria | Not offered | $6/mo | Yes | – | Oct 14, 2026 |
Each value links the vendor page it was read from (hover for the check date). Coverage is the share of the scorecard's weight with verified data, and "N of M criteria" how many criteria the score is based on; a tool is ranked at 60% or more.
All 39 OpenShorts alternatives, rankedMore ways to weigh up OpenShorts
Compare OpenShorts
Questions, answered from the data
How much does OpenShorts cost?
Paid plans start at $29 per month billed monthly on the Creator plan, according to OpenShorts's pricing page (checked Oct 14, 2026).
Does OpenShorts have a free plan?
Yes: OpenShorts has a free plan (checked Oct 14, 2026).
Which social platforms does OpenShorts support?
OpenShorts supports 3 platforms: Instagram, TikTok and YouTube.
Does OpenShorts have an API?
Yes, a public API is documented (checked Oct 14, 2026).
How does OpenShorts score?
In our short-form video clippers ranking OpenShorts scores 68/100, rank 18 of 37, based on 5 of 8 criteria (75% of the scorecard weight backed by verified data).
What are the best OpenShorts alternatives?
By our scorecard the top-ranked alternatives are Vizard (98/100), AutoVOD (97/100) and Subscut (96/100).
More on OpenShorts
OpenShorts
Rankings it appears in
- Best short-form video clippers
- Free short-form video clippers
- Best short-form video clippers for Instagram
- Best short-form video clippers for TikTok
- Best short-form video clippers for YouTube
- Best video editing tools
- Free video editing tools
- Best video editing tools for Instagram
- Best video editing tools for TikTok
- Best video editing tools for YouTube
Categories
Pricing last read Oct 14, 2026. Vendors change prices; the linked page is the final word.