Video editing

AddSubtitles vs SubtitleMe compared on 11 fields

AddSubtitles score
89/100 (5 of 7 criteria)
SubtitleMe score
73/100 (5 of 7 criteria)
Fields won by AddSubtitles
1 of 6
Fields won by SubtitleMe
0 of 6
AddSubtitles
AddSubtitles homepage (screenshot)
Homepage captured Oct 14, 2026
SubtitleMe
SubtitleMe homepage (screenshot)
Homepage captured Oct 14, 2026

Data checked Oct 14, 2026 against the vendors' own pages. How we verify

AddSubtitles and SubtitleMe are both video editing tools. We compared them on 11 fields read from each vendor's own pages.

On the video editing tools scorecard AddSubtitles scores 89/100 (5 of 7 criteria) and SubtitleMe 73/100 (5 of 7 criteria) (ranks 8 and 32 in the category).

Of the 6 fields with a clear rule (lower price, higher count, yes over no), AddSubtitles wins 1, SubtitleMe wins 0 and 5 are ties.

AddSubtitles scores clearly higher on entry price and pricing transparency.

Side by side

A winner is declared only on rows with a clear rule and data on both sides.
AddSubtitles vs SubtitleMe, field by field
FieldAddSubtitlesSubtitleMeWinner and basis
Cheapest paid plan (billed monthly)✓ $9/month$15/monthAddSubtitles
Same plan, per month billed annually–$12/monthNo winner: needs a value on both sides
Free planYesYesTie
Free trialNoNoTie
Platforms supported–3No winner: needs a value on both sides
Public APIYesYesTie
Data export–Subtitles and transcripts as SRT, VTT, TXT, PDF and other formatsNo winner: needs a value on both sides
Team access–YesNo winner: needs a value on both sides
Automatic captionsYesYesTie
4K exportYes–No winner: needs a value on both sides
No watermark on paid plansYesYesTie

– = not published by the vendor, or not verified yet.

Sources: AddSubtitles pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026; SubtitleMe pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026. Each feature value links its own source on the tool's page.

Scorecard, criterion by criterion

Both tools on the video editing tools scorecard: score 0-100 and the numbers it was computed from.
AddSubtitles vs SubtitleMe scores
CriterionWeightAddSubtitlesSubtitleMe
Entry price25%92$9/month billed monthly on Pro (scored on the monthly price)55$15/month billed monthly on Creator; $12/month billed annually on Creator (scored on the monthly price)
Free plan or trial15%100Free plan (Free)100Free plan (Starter)
Pricing transparency10%1003 of 3 plans have a public price672 of 3 plans have a public price (1 "contact sales")
Verified features15%603 of 10 tracked features verified: automatic captions, 4k export, no watermark on paid plans603 of 10 tracked features verified: team access, automatic captions, no watermark on paid plans
API, integrations and export10%100public API100public API, documented data export
Total score100%89/100 (5 of 7 criteria)73/100 (5 of 7 criteria)

AddSubtitles plans

AddSubtitles plans
PlanBilled monthlyBilled yearlyCharged perPublished limits
FreeFreeFreeper workspaceNone stated
Pro$9Not statedper workspaceNone stated
Pro Plus$14Not statedper workspaceNone stated

Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.

AddSubtitles pricing in full

SubtitleMe plans

SubtitleMe plans
PlanBilled monthlyBilled yearlyCharged perPublished limits
StarterFreeFreeper workspaceNone stated
Creator$15$12per workspaceNone stated
EnterpriseContact salesContact salesNot statedNone stated

Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.

SubtitleMe pricing in full

How we picked

Every one of these video editing tools is scored by the same 7 criteria (scorecard v1). Each criterion gives 0 to 100 from the vendor's published data; the total is the weighted average. A criterion without verified data is left out and the other weights are re-normalised. A tool with under 60% of the weight covered is listed as not ranked, and so is a tool with no verified price and fewer than 2 verified features (“needs a verified price”); each score shows how many criteria it is based on. The core criteria are the same in every category; the category criteria are specific to video editing tools. Nobody gets custom weights, including our own products.

Scorecard criteria and weights
CriterionWeightTypeWhat we measure
Entry price25%CorePrice per month of the cheapest paid plan, against the prices of other video editing tools on the same billing basis (monthly-billed prices against monthly, annual-billed against annual).Log scale. Billed monthly: $8.08/month or less = 100, $32.31 or more = 0. Only billed annually: $4/month or less = 100, $25 or more = 0. Only free plans = 100. Usage-priced and one-time plans are not scored.
Free plan or trial15%CoreWhether you can use the tool before paying: a free plan, or failing that a free trial, as shown on the vendor's pricing page.Free plan = 100. No free plan but a free trial = 60. The pricing page lists plans but shows neither = 0. No plans read = not scored.
Pricing transparency10%CoreHow much of the pricing is public: the share of plans with a published price ("contact sales" counts against), and whether there are at least 3 published tiers.80 x (plans with a public price / plans listed) + 20 x (public plans, up to 3) / 3. No plans read = not scored.
Verified features15%CoreHow many of the 10 features we track for this category the vendor's own pages verifiably show (analytics, team access, templates, ai assistant, automatic captions, text-based editing, 4k export, no watermark on paid plans, stock media library, real-time collaboration). This counts verified features only: a tool that documents less scores lower here, and only here.Linear: verified features / 5 (half the tracked list) x 100, capped at 100. No tracked feature verified = not scored.
API, integrations and export10%CoreWhether a public API exists, how many integrations the vendor states, and whether the vendor documents a way to export your data.Average of the parts with data: public API yes = 100, no = 0; integrations on a log scale (100 or more = 100); a documented data export = 100. None verified = not scored.
Cost per user (team of 3)15%CategoryMonthly price per user for a team of 3, on the cheapest paid plan that is priced per seat or states room for at least 3 users.Log scale: $8 per user or less = 100, $41.67 or more = 0. Plans that do not state a user limit are not used. No such plan = not scored.
Storage10%CategoryGB of storage included on the cheapest paid plan that states a limit.Log scale: 100 or more (or unlimited) = 100. No stated limit = not scored.

Sources are vendor pricing pages, docs and changelogs, each with the date we checked it. We did not test these tools hands-on unless a listing says so. Full formulas: methodology.

Questions, answered from the data

Is AddSubtitles cheaper than SubtitleMe?

AddSubtitles starts lower: $9 per month billed monthly on the Pro plan, against $15 per month billed monthly ($12 billed yearly) on the Creator plan for SubtitleMe. Check the unit: per-user and per-account prices scale differently.

Do AddSubtitles and SubtitleMe have free plans?

Both have a free plan.

Which is better, AddSubtitles or SubtitleMe?

On our scorecard AddSubtitles scores higher (89/100 (5 of 7 criteria) vs 73/100 (5 of 7 criteria)). The score weighs every criterion the same way for every tool; check the rows above for the ones that matter to you.