

Screen recording
better-shot vs ScreenPal compared on 12 fields
- better-shot score
- 98/100 (4 of 6 criteria)
- ScreenPal score
- 93/100 (5 of 6 criteria)
- Fields won by better-shot
- 0 of 6
- Fields won by ScreenPal
- 0 of 6


Data checked Oct 14, 2026 against the vendors' own pages. How we verify
better-shot and ScreenPal are both screen recording tools. We compared them on 12 fields read from each vendor's own pages.
On the screen recording tools scorecard better-shot scores 98/100 (4 of 6 criteria) and ScreenPal 93/100 (5 of 6 criteria) (ranks 1 and 5 in the category).
Of the 6 fields with a clear rule (lower price, higher count, yes over no), better-shot wins 0, ScreenPal wins 0 and 6 are ties.
ScreenPal scores clearly higher on pricing transparency.
Side by side
| Field | Winner and basis | ||
|---|---|---|---|
| Cheapest paid plan (billed monthly) | – | $4/month | No winner: needs a value on both sides |
| Same plan, per month billed annually | – | $4/month | No winner: needs a value on both sides |
| Free plan | Yes | Yes | Tie |
| Free trial | No | No | Tie |
| Analytics | – | Yes | No winner: needs a value on both sides |
| Team access | – | Yes | No winner: needs a value on both sides |
| AI assistant | – | Yes | No winner: needs a value on both sides |
| Camera overlay | Yes | Yes | Tie |
| Automatic captions | Yes | Yes | Tie |
| Instant share links | Yes | – | No winner: needs a value on both sides |
| Built-in editing | Yes | Yes | Tie |
| Desktop app | Yes | Yes | Tie |
– = not published by the vendor, or not verified yet.
Sources: better-shot pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026; ScreenPal pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026. Each feature value links its own source on the tool's page.
Scorecard, criterion by criterion
| Criterion | Weight | ||
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry price | 25% | 100Free: the pricing page lists no paid plan | 92$4/month billed annually on Deluxe; no monthly-billed price published (scored against annual-billed prices) |
| Free plan or trial | 15% | 100Free plan (Free) | 100Free plan (Free) |
| Pricing transparency | 10% | 871 of 1 plans have a public price | 1004 of 4 plans have a public price |
| Verified features | 15% | 1005 of 9 tracked features verified: camera overlay, automatic captions, instant share links, built-in editing, desktop app | 1007 of 9 tracked features verified: analytics, team access, ai assistant, camera overlay, automatic captions, built-in editing, desktop app |
| Cost per user (team of 3) | 25% | – | 81$8 per user per month on Team Business (team of 3, billed annually) |
| Total score | 100% | 98/100 (4 of 6 criteria) | 93/100 (5 of 6 criteria) |
better-shot plans
| Plan | Billed monthly | Billed yearly | Charged per | Published limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | Not stated | Free | per workspace | None stated |
Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.
ScreenPal plans
| Plan | Billed monthly | Billed yearly | Charged per | Published limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | Free | Free | per workspace | None stated |
| Deluxe | Not offered | $4 | per workspace | None stated |
| Max | Not offered | $10 | per workspace | None stated |
| Team Business | Not offered | $8 | per user | None stated |
Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.
How we picked
Every one of these screen recording tools is scored by the same 6 criteria (scorecard v1). Each criterion gives 0 to 100 from the vendor's published data; the total is the weighted average. A criterion without verified data is left out and the other weights are re-normalised. A tool with under 60% of the weight covered is listed as not ranked, and so is a tool with no verified price and fewer than 2 verified features (“needs a verified price”); each score shows how many criteria it is based on. The core criteria are the same in every category; the category criteria are specific to screen recording tools. Nobody gets custom weights, including our own products.
| Criterion | Weight | Type | What we measure |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry price | 25% | Core | Price per month of the cheapest paid plan, against the prices of other screen recording tools on the same billing basis (monthly-billed prices against monthly, annual-billed against annual).Log scale. Billed monthly: $7.61/month or less = 100, $30.44 or more = 0. Only billed annually: $3.60/month or less = 100, $14.40 or more = 0. Only free plans = 100. Usage-priced and one-time plans are not scored. |
| Free plan or trial | 15% | Core | Whether you can use the tool before paying: a free plan, or failing that a free trial, as shown on the vendor's pricing page.Free plan = 100. No free plan but a free trial = 60. The pricing page lists plans but shows neither = 0. No plans read = not scored. |
| Pricing transparency | 10% | Core | How much of the pricing is public: the share of plans with a published price ("contact sales" counts against), and whether there are at least 3 published tiers.80 x (plans with a public price / plans listed) + 20 x (public plans, up to 3) / 3. No plans read = not scored. |
| Verified features | 15% | Core | How many of the 9 features we track for this category the vendor's own pages verifiably show (analytics, team access, templates, ai assistant, camera overlay, automatic captions, instant share links, built-in editing, desktop app). This counts verified features only: a tool that documents less scores lower here, and only here.Linear: verified features / 5 (half the tracked list) x 100, capped at 100. No tracked feature verified = not scored. |
| API, integrations and export | 10% | Core | Whether a public API exists, how many integrations the vendor states, and whether the vendor documents a way to export your data.Average of the parts with data: public API yes = 100, no = 0; integrations on a log scale (100 or more = 100); a documented data export = 100. None verified = not scored. |
| Cost per user (team of 3) | 25% | Category | Monthly price per user for a team of 3, on the cheapest paid plan that is priced per seat or states room for at least 3 users.Log scale: $6.16 per user or less = 100, $24.66 or more = 0. Plans that do not state a user limit are not used. No such plan = not scored. |
Sources are vendor pricing pages, docs and changelogs, each with the date we checked it. We did not test these tools hands-on unless a listing says so. Full formulas: methodology.
Questions, answered from the data
Do better-shot and ScreenPal have free plans?
Both have a free plan.
Which is better, better-shot or ScreenPal?
On our scorecard better-shot scores higher (98/100 (4 of 6 criteria) vs 93/100 (5 of 6 criteria)). The score weighs every criterion the same way for every tool; check the rows above for the ones that matter to you.