Short-form clippers

Crayo vs Opus Clip compared on 15 fields

Crayo score
56/100 (6 of 8 criteria)
Opus Clip score
82/100 (5 of 8 criteria)
Fields won by Crayo
1 of 7
Fields won by Opus Clip
3 of 7
Crayo
Crayo homepage (screenshot)
Homepage captured Oct 14, 2026
Opus Clip
Opus Clip homepage (screenshot)
Homepage captured Oct 14, 2026

Data checked Oct 14, 2026 against the vendors' own pages. How we verify

Crayo and Opus Clip are both short-form video clippers. We compared them on 15 fields read from each vendor's own pages.

On the short-form video clippers scorecard Crayo scores 56/100 (6 of 8 criteria) and Opus Clip 82/100 (5 of 8 criteria) (ranks 31 and 9 in the category).

Of the 7 fields with a clear rule (lower price, higher count, yes over no), Crayo wins 1, Opus Clip wins 3 and 3 are ties.

Crayo scores clearly higher on pricing transparency.

Opus Clip scores clearly higher on free plan or trial and verified features.

Side by side

A winner is declared only on rows with a clear rule and data on both sides.
Crayo vs Opus Clip, field by field
FieldCrayoOpus ClipWinner and basis
Cheapest paid plan (billed monthly)✓ $13.33/month$15/monthCrayo
Same plan, per month billed annually$13/month–No winner: needs a value on both sides
Free planNo✓ YesOpus Clip
Free trialNo✓ YesOpus Clip
Platforms supported2✓ 3Opus Clip
Public APIYesYesTie
Data export–Edited projects to Adobe Premiere Pro and DaVinci ResolveNo winner: needs a value on both sides
AI clip selectionYesYesTie
Automatic captionsYesYesTie
Auto reframe to vertical–YesNo winner: needs a value on both sides
Virality score–YesNo winner: needs a value on both sides
Publish or schedule to social networks–YesNo winner: needs a value on both sides
Brand kit–YesNo winner: needs a value on both sides
No watermark on paid plans–YesNo winner: needs a value on both sides
Team access–YesNo winner: needs a value on both sides

– = not published by the vendor, or not verified yet.

Sources: Crayo pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026; Opus Clip pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026. Each feature value links its own source on the tool's page.

Scorecard, criterion by criterion

Both tools on the short-form video clippers scorecard: score 0-100 and the numbers it was computed from.
Crayo vs Opus Clip scores
CriterionWeightCrayoOpus Clip
Entry price25%51$13/month billed annually on Hobby; no monthly-billed price published (scored against annual-billed prices)55$15/month billed monthly on Starter; $14.50/month billed annually on Pro (scored on the monthly price)
Free plan or trial15%0No free plan or free trial shown on the pricing page100Free plan (Free)
Pricing transparency10%1003 of 3 plans have a public price803 of 4 plans have a public price (1 "contact sales")
Verified features15%502 of 8 tracked features verified: ai clip selection, automatic captions1008 of 8 tracked features verified: ai clip selection, automatic captions, auto reframe to vertical, virality score, publish or schedule to social networks, brand kit, no watermark on paid plans, team access
API, integrations and export10%100public API100public API, documented data export
Storage10%7025 GB of storage on Hobby ($13.33/month)–
Total score100%56/100 (6 of 8 criteria)82/100 (5 of 8 criteria)

Crayo plans

Crayo plans
PlanBilled monthlyBilled yearlyCharged perPublished limits
HobbyNot offered$13per workspace
  • 250 credits per month
  • 25 storage gb
  • 1 social account
  • 100 images per month
ClipperNot offered$27per workspace
  • 1,000 credits per month
  • 100 storage gb
  • 3 social accounts
  • 300 images per month
ProNot offered$55per workspace
  • 3,000 credits per month
  • 500 storage gb
  • 10 social accounts
  • 500 images per month

Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.

Crayo pricing in full

Opus Clip plans

Opus Clip plans
PlanBilled monthlyBilled yearlyCharged perPublished limits
FreeFreeFreeNot stated
  • 60 credits per month
Starter$15Not statedNot stated
  • 150 credits per month
Pro$29$14.50Not stated
  • 300 credits per month
  • 2 users
  • 6 social accounts
BusinessContact salesContact salesNot statedNone stated

Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.

Opus Clip pricing in full

How we picked

Every one of these short-form video clippers is scored by the same 8 criteria (scorecard v1). Each criterion gives 0 to 100 from the vendor's published data; the total is the weighted average. A criterion without verified data is left out and the other weights are re-normalised. A tool with under 60% of the weight covered is listed as not ranked, and so is a tool with no verified price and fewer than 2 verified features (“needs a verified price”); each score shows how many criteria it is based on. The core criteria are the same in every category; the category criteria are specific to short-form video clippers. Nobody gets custom weights, including our own products.

Scorecard criteria and weights
CriterionWeightTypeWhat we measure
Entry price25%CorePrice per month of the cheapest paid plan, against the prices of other short-form video clippers on the same billing basis (monthly-billed prices against monthly, annual-billed against annual).Log scale. Billed monthly: $8.08/month or less = 100, $32.31 or more = 0. Only billed annually: $6.60/month or less = 100, $26.41 or more = 0. Only free plans = 100. Usage-priced and one-time plans are not scored.
Free plan or trial15%CoreWhether you can use the tool before paying: a free plan, or failing that a free trial, as shown on the vendor's pricing page.Free plan = 100. No free plan but a free trial = 60. The pricing page lists plans but shows neither = 0. No plans read = not scored.
Pricing transparency10%CoreHow much of the pricing is public: the share of plans with a published price ("contact sales" counts against), and whether there are at least 3 published tiers.80 x (plans with a public price / plans listed) + 20 x (public plans, up to 3) / 3. No plans read = not scored.
Verified features15%CoreHow many of the 8 features we track for this category the vendor's own pages verifiably show (ai clip selection, automatic captions, auto reframe to vertical, virality score, publish or schedule to social networks, brand kit, no watermark on paid plans, team access). This counts verified features only: a tool that documents less scores lower here, and only here.Linear: verified features / 4 (half the tracked list) x 100, capped at 100. No tracked feature verified = not scored.
API, integrations and export10%CoreWhether a public API exists, how many integrations the vendor states, and whether the vendor documents a way to export your data.Average of the parts with data: public API yes = 100, no = 0; integrations on a log scale (100 or more = 100); a documented data export = 100. None verified = not scored.
Platform coverage10%CategoryHow many of the 15 social platforms we track the vendor says the tool supports.Linear: platforms / 10 x 100, capped at 100. No verified platform list = not scored.
Storage10%CategoryGB of storage included on the cheapest paid plan that states a limit.Log scale: 100 or more (or unlimited) = 100. No stated limit = not scored.
Cost per user (team of 3)5%CategoryMonthly price per user for a team of 3, on the cheapest paid plan that is priced per seat or states room for at least 3 users.Log scale: $5 per user or less = 100, $88 or more = 0. Plans that do not state a user limit are not used. No such plan = not scored.

Sources are vendor pricing pages, docs and changelogs, each with the date we checked it. We did not test these tools hands-on unless a listing says so. Full formulas: methodology.

Questions, answered from the data

Is Crayo cheaper than Opus Clip?

Crayo starts lower: $13 per month billed yearly on the Hobby plan, against $15 per month billed monthly on the Starter plan for Opus Clip. Check the unit: per-user and per-account prices scale differently.

Do Crayo and Opus Clip have free plans?

Opus Clip has a free plan; Crayo does not.

Which supports more social platforms, Crayo or Opus Clip?

Opus Clip supports 3 platforms, Crayo 2.

Which is better, Crayo or Opus Clip?

On our scorecard Opus Clip scores higher (82/100 (5 of 8 criteria) vs 56/100 (6 of 8 criteria)). The score weighs every criterion the same way for every tool; check the rows above for the ones that matter to you.