Video editing

CyberLink PowerDirector vs Filmora compared on 12 fields

CyberLink PowerDirector score
77/100 (6 of 7 criteria)
Filmora score
66/100 (5 of 7 criteria)
Fields won by CyberLink PowerDirector
0 of 7
Fields won by Filmora
1 of 7
CyberLink PowerDirector
CyberLink PowerDirector homepage (screenshot)
Homepage captured Oct 14, 2026
Filmora
Filmora homepage (screenshot)
Homepage captured Oct 14, 2026

Data checked Oct 14, 2026 against the vendors' own pages. How we verify

CyberLink PowerDirector and Filmora are both video editing tools. We compared them on 12 fields read from each vendor's own pages.

On the video editing tools scorecard CyberLink PowerDirector scores 77/100 (6 of 7 criteria) and Filmora 66/100 (5 of 7 criteria) (ranks 29 and 47 in the category).

Of the 7 fields with a clear rule (lower price, higher count, yes over no), CyberLink PowerDirector wins 0, Filmora wins 1 and 6 are ties.

CyberLink PowerDirector scores clearly higher on storage.

Filmora scores clearly higher on entry price.

Side by side

A winner is declared only on rows with a clear rule and data on both sides.
CyberLink PowerDirector vs Filmora, field by field
FieldCyberLink PowerDirectorFilmoraWinner and basis
Cheapest paid plan (billed monthly)$5/month✓ $4.17/monthFilmora
Free planNoNoTie
Free trialNoNoTie
Platforms supported2–No winner: needs a value on both sides
Data exportDirect export to YouTube and TikTok–No winner: needs a value on both sides
TemplatesYes–No winner: needs a value on both sides
AI assistantYesYesTie
Automatic captionsYes–No winner: needs a value on both sides
Text-based editingYesYesTie
4K exportYesYesTie
No watermark on paid plans–YesNo winner: needs a value on both sides
Stock media libraryYesYesTie

– = not published by the vendor, or not verified yet.

Sources: CyberLink PowerDirector pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026; Filmora pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026. Each feature value links its own source on the tool's page.

Scorecard, criterion by criterion

Both tools on the video editing tools scorecard: score 0-100 and the numbers it was computed from.
CyberLink PowerDirector vs Filmora scores
CriterionWeightCyberLink PowerDirectorFilmora
Entry price25%88$5/month billed annually on PowerDirector 365; no monthly-billed price published (scored against annual-billed prices)98$4.17/month billed annually on Basic; no monthly-billed price published (scored against annual-billed prices)
Free plan or trial15%0No free plan or free trial shown on the pricing page0No free plan or free trial shown on the pricing page
Pricing transparency10%1003 of 3 plans have a public price1003 of 3 plans have a public price
Verified features15%1006 of 10 tracked features verified: templates, ai assistant, automatic captions, text-based editing, 4k export, stock media library1005 of 10 tracked features verified: ai assistant, text-based editing, 4k export, no watermark on paid plans, stock media library
API, integrations and export10%100documented data export–
Storage10%8550 GB of storage on PowerDirector 365 ($5/month)01 GB of storage on Basic ($4.17/month)
Total score100%77/100 (6 of 7 criteria)66/100 (5 of 7 criteria)
CyberLink PowerDirector plans
PlanBilled monthlyBilled yearlyCharged perPublished limits
PowerDirector 2027$139.99 once–Not stated
  • 25 storage gb
PowerDirector 365Not offered$5Not stated
  • 100 credits per month
  • 50 storage gb
Director SuiteNot offered$9.17Not stated
  • 250 credits per month
  • 100 storage gb

Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.

CyberLink PowerDirector pricing in full

Filmora plans

Filmora plans
PlanBilled monthlyBilled yearlyCharged perPublished limits
BasicNot offered$4.17per workspace
  • 1 storage gb
AdvancedNot offered$5per workspace
  • 10 storage gb
  • 1,000 credits per month
Perpetual$79.99 once–per workspace
  • 1 storage gb

Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.

Filmora pricing in full

How we picked

Every one of these video editing tools is scored by the same 7 criteria (scorecard v1). Each criterion gives 0 to 100 from the vendor's published data; the total is the weighted average. A criterion without verified data is left out and the other weights are re-normalised. A tool with under 60% of the weight covered is listed as not ranked, and so is a tool with no verified price and fewer than 2 verified features (“needs a verified price”); each score shows how many criteria it is based on. The core criteria are the same in every category; the category criteria are specific to video editing tools. Nobody gets custom weights, including our own products.

Scorecard criteria and weights
CriterionWeightTypeWhat we measure
Entry price25%CorePrice per month of the cheapest paid plan, against the prices of other video editing tools on the same billing basis (monthly-billed prices against monthly, annual-billed against annual).Log scale. Billed monthly: $8.08/month or less = 100, $32.31 or more = 0. Only billed annually: $4/month or less = 100, $25 or more = 0. Only free plans = 100. Usage-priced and one-time plans are not scored.
Free plan or trial15%CoreWhether you can use the tool before paying: a free plan, or failing that a free trial, as shown on the vendor's pricing page.Free plan = 100. No free plan but a free trial = 60. The pricing page lists plans but shows neither = 0. No plans read = not scored.
Pricing transparency10%CoreHow much of the pricing is public: the share of plans with a published price ("contact sales" counts against), and whether there are at least 3 published tiers.80 x (plans with a public price / plans listed) + 20 x (public plans, up to 3) / 3. No plans read = not scored.
Verified features15%CoreHow many of the 10 features we track for this category the vendor's own pages verifiably show (analytics, team access, templates, ai assistant, automatic captions, text-based editing, 4k export, no watermark on paid plans, stock media library, real-time collaboration). This counts verified features only: a tool that documents less scores lower here, and only here.Linear: verified features / 5 (half the tracked list) x 100, capped at 100. No tracked feature verified = not scored.
API, integrations and export10%CoreWhether a public API exists, how many integrations the vendor states, and whether the vendor documents a way to export your data.Average of the parts with data: public API yes = 100, no = 0; integrations on a log scale (100 or more = 100); a documented data export = 100. None verified = not scored.
Cost per user (team of 3)15%CategoryMonthly price per user for a team of 3, on the cheapest paid plan that is priced per seat or states room for at least 3 users.Log scale: $8 per user or less = 100, $41.67 or more = 0. Plans that do not state a user limit are not used. No such plan = not scored.
Storage10%CategoryGB of storage included on the cheapest paid plan that states a limit.Log scale: 100 or more (or unlimited) = 100. No stated limit = not scored.

Sources are vendor pricing pages, docs and changelogs, each with the date we checked it. We did not test these tools hands-on unless a listing says so. Full formulas: methodology.

Questions, answered from the data

Is CyberLink PowerDirector cheaper than Filmora?

Filmora starts lower: $4.17 per month billed yearly on the Basic plan, against $5 per month billed yearly on the PowerDirector 365 plan for CyberLink PowerDirector. Check the unit: per-user and per-account prices scale differently.

Do CyberLink PowerDirector and Filmora have free plans?

Neither has a free plan.

Which is better, CyberLink PowerDirector or Filmora?

On our scorecard CyberLink PowerDirector scores higher (77/100 (6 of 7 criteria) vs 66/100 (5 of 7 criteria)). The score weighs every criterion the same way for every tool; check the rows above for the ones that matter to you.