

Video editing
CyberLink PowerDirector vs Kapwing compared on 14 fields
- CyberLink PowerDirector score
- 77/100 (6 of 7 criteria)
- Kapwing score
- not ranked
- Fields won by CyberLink PowerDirector
- 0 of 8
- Fields won by Kapwing
- 1 of 8


Data checked Oct 14, 2026 against the vendors' own pages. How we verify
CyberLink PowerDirector and Kapwing are both video editing tools. We compared them on 14 fields read from each vendor's own pages.
On the video editing tools scorecard CyberLink PowerDirector scores 77/100 (6 of 7 criteria) and Kapwing not ranked.
Of the 8 fields with a clear rule (lower price, higher count, yes over no), CyberLink PowerDirector wins 0, Kapwing wins 1 and 7 are ties.
CyberLink PowerDirector scores clearly higher on pricing transparency.
Kapwing scores clearly higher on free plan or trial.
Side by side
| Field | Winner and basis | ||
|---|---|---|---|
| Cheapest paid plan (billed monthly) | $5/month | – | No winner: needs a value on both sides |
| Free plan | No | ✓ Yes | Kapwing |
| Free trial | No | No | Tie |
| Platforms supported | 2 | – | No winner: needs a value on both sides |
| Data export | Direct export to YouTube and TikTok | Projects as videos, images, audio and GIF files | No winner: no rule for this field |
| Team access | – | Yes | No winner: needs a value on both sides |
| Templates | Yes | Yes | Tie |
| AI assistant | Yes | Yes | Tie |
| Automatic captions | Yes | Yes | Tie |
| Text-based editing | Yes | Yes | Tie |
| 4K export | Yes | Yes | Tie |
| No watermark on paid plans | – | Yes | No winner: needs a value on both sides |
| Stock media library | Yes | Yes | Tie |
| Real-time collaboration | – | Yes | No winner: needs a value on both sides |
– = not published by the vendor, or not verified yet.
Sources: CyberLink PowerDirector pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026; Kapwing pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026. Each feature value links its own source on the tool's page.
Scorecard, criterion by criterion
| Criterion | Weight | ||
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry price | 25% | 88$5/month billed annually on PowerDirector 365; no monthly-billed price published (scored against annual-billed prices) | – |
| Free plan or trial | 15% | 0No free plan or free trial shown on the pricing page | 100Free plan (Free) |
| Pricing transparency | 10% | 1003 of 3 plans have a public price | 803 of 4 plans have a public price (1 "contact sales") |
| Verified features | 15% | 1006 of 10 tracked features verified: templates, ai assistant, automatic captions, text-based editing, 4k export, stock media library | 1009 of 10 tracked features verified: team access, templates, ai assistant, automatic captions, text-based editing, 4k export, no watermark on paid plans, stock media library, real-time collaboration |
| API, integrations and export | 10% | 100documented data export | 100documented data export |
| Storage | 10% | 8550 GB of storage on PowerDirector 365 ($5/month) | – |
| Total score | 100% | 77/100 (6 of 7 criteria) | not ranked |
CyberLink PowerDirector plans
| Plan | Billed monthly | Billed yearly | Charged per | Published limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PowerDirector 2027 | $139.99 once | – | Not stated |
|
| PowerDirector 365 | Not offered | $5 | Not stated |
|
| Director Suite | Not offered | $9.17 | Not stated |
|
Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.
Kapwing plans
| Plan | Billed monthly | Billed yearly | Charged per | Published limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | Not stated | Free | Not stated |
|
| Pro | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
|
| Business | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
|
| Enterprise | Contact sales | Contact sales | Not stated | None stated |
Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.
How we picked
Every one of these video editing tools is scored by the same 7 criteria (scorecard v1). Each criterion gives 0 to 100 from the vendor's published data; the total is the weighted average. A criterion without verified data is left out and the other weights are re-normalised. A tool with under 60% of the weight covered is listed as not ranked, and so is a tool with no verified price and fewer than 2 verified features (“needs a verified price”); each score shows how many criteria it is based on. The core criteria are the same in every category; the category criteria are specific to video editing tools. Nobody gets custom weights, including our own products.
| Criterion | Weight | Type | What we measure |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry price | 25% | Core | Price per month of the cheapest paid plan, against the prices of other video editing tools on the same billing basis (monthly-billed prices against monthly, annual-billed against annual).Log scale. Billed monthly: $8.08/month or less = 100, $32.31 or more = 0. Only billed annually: $4/month or less = 100, $25 or more = 0. Only free plans = 100. Usage-priced and one-time plans are not scored. |
| Free plan or trial | 15% | Core | Whether you can use the tool before paying: a free plan, or failing that a free trial, as shown on the vendor's pricing page.Free plan = 100. No free plan but a free trial = 60. The pricing page lists plans but shows neither = 0. No plans read = not scored. |
| Pricing transparency | 10% | Core | How much of the pricing is public: the share of plans with a published price ("contact sales" counts against), and whether there are at least 3 published tiers.80 x (plans with a public price / plans listed) + 20 x (public plans, up to 3) / 3. No plans read = not scored. |
| Verified features | 15% | Core | How many of the 10 features we track for this category the vendor's own pages verifiably show (analytics, team access, templates, ai assistant, automatic captions, text-based editing, 4k export, no watermark on paid plans, stock media library, real-time collaboration). This counts verified features only: a tool that documents less scores lower here, and only here.Linear: verified features / 5 (half the tracked list) x 100, capped at 100. No tracked feature verified = not scored. |
| API, integrations and export | 10% | Core | Whether a public API exists, how many integrations the vendor states, and whether the vendor documents a way to export your data.Average of the parts with data: public API yes = 100, no = 0; integrations on a log scale (100 or more = 100); a documented data export = 100. None verified = not scored. |
| Cost per user (team of 3) | 15% | Category | Monthly price per user for a team of 3, on the cheapest paid plan that is priced per seat or states room for at least 3 users.Log scale: $8 per user or less = 100, $41.67 or more = 0. Plans that do not state a user limit are not used. No such plan = not scored. |
| Storage | 10% | Category | GB of storage included on the cheapest paid plan that states a limit.Log scale: 100 or more (or unlimited) = 100. No stated limit = not scored. |
Sources are vendor pricing pages, docs and changelogs, each with the date we checked it. We did not test these tools hands-on unless a listing says so. Full formulas: methodology.
Questions, answered from the data
Do CyberLink PowerDirector and Kapwing have free plans?
Kapwing has a free plan; CyberLink PowerDirector does not.
Explore related pages
CyberLink PowerDirector
Kapwing
More comparisons
- Biteable vs CyberLink PowerDirector
- captionrich vs CyberLink PowerDirector
- CyberLink PowerDirector vs Descript
- CyberLink PowerDirector vs Filmora
- CyberLink PowerDirector vs FlexClip
- CyberLink PowerDirector vs Gling
- CyberLink PowerDirector vs pireel
- CyberLink PowerDirector vs VEED
- CyberLink PowerDirector vs Vyond
- Descript vs Kapwing