Memberships and subscriptions

Easy Digital Downloads vs Ghost compared on 11 fields

Easy Digital Downloads score
90/100 (5 of 7 criteria)
Ghost score
81/100 (7 of 7 criteria)
Fields won by Easy Digital Downloads
2 of 6
Fields won by Ghost
1 of 6
Easy Digital Downloads
Easy Digital Downloads homepage (screenshot)
Homepage captured Oct 14, 2026
Ghost
Ghost homepage (screenshot)
Homepage captured Oct 14, 2026

Data checked Oct 14, 2026 against the vendors' own pages. How we verify

Easy Digital Downloads and Ghost are both membership platforms. We compared them on 11 fields read from each vendor's own pages.

On the membership platforms scorecard Easy Digital Downloads scores 90/100 (5 of 7 criteria) and Ghost 81/100 (7 of 7 criteria) (ranks 4 and 8 in the category).

Of the 6 fields with a clear rule (lower price, higher count, yes over no), Easy Digital Downloads wins 2, Ghost wins 1 and 3 are ties.

Easy Digital Downloads scores clearly higher on free plan or trial and pricing transparency.

Ghost scores clearly higher on verified features.

Side by side

A winner is declared only on rows with a clear rule and data on both sides.
Easy Digital Downloads vs Ghost, field by field
FieldEasy Digital DownloadsGhostWinner and basis
Cheapest paid plan (billed monthly)✓ $8.29/month$18/monthEasy Digital Downloads
Same plan, per month billed annually–$18/monthNo winner: needs a value on both sides
Free plan✓ YesNoEasy Digital Downloads
Free trialNoNoTie
Platforms supported–5No winner: needs a value on both sides
Integrations (vendor count)100✓ 8,000Ghost
Public APIYesYesTie
Data export–Member list in CSV formatNo winner: needs a value on both sides
AnalyticsYesYesTie
Team access–YesNo winner: needs a value on both sides
Templates–YesNo winner: needs a value on both sides

– = not published by the vendor, or not verified yet.

Sources: Easy Digital Downloads pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026; Ghost pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026. Each feature value links its own source on the tool's page.

Scorecard, criterion by criterion

Both tools on the membership platforms scorecard: score 0-100 and the numbers it was computed from.
Easy Digital Downloads vs Ghost scores
CriterionWeightEasy Digital DownloadsGhost
Entry price25%100$8.29/month billed annually on Personal; no monthly-billed price published (scored against annual-billed prices)93$18/month billed annually on Starter; no monthly-billed price published (scored against annual-billed prices)
Free plan or trial15%100Free plan (Lite)0No free plan or free trial shown on the pricing page
Pricing transparency10%1005 of 5 plans have a public price803 of 4 plans have a public price (1 "contact sales")
Verified features15%501 of 4 tracked features verified: analytics1003 of 4 tracked features verified: analytics, team access, templates
API, integrations and export10%100public API, 100 integrations100public API, 8,000 integrations, documented data export
Fee on sales15%–1000% fee on sales
Members per plan10%–1001,000 members on Starter ($18/month)
Total score100%90/100 (5 of 7 criteria)81/100 (7 of 7 criteria)

Easy Digital Downloads plans

Easy Digital Downloads plans
PlanBilled monthlyBilled yearlyCharged perPublished limits
All AccessNot offered$41.63per workspace
  • Unlimited products
ProfessionalNot offered$24.96per workspace
  • Unlimited products
ExtendedNot offered$16.63per workspace
  • Unlimited products
PersonalNot offered$8.29per workspace
  • Unlimited products
LiteNot statedFreeper workspaceNone stated

Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.

Easy Digital Downloads pricing in full

Ghost plans

Ghost plans
PlanBilled monthlyBilled yearlyCharged perPublished limits
StarterNot offered$18per workspace
  • 1,000 members
  • 1 user
PublisherNot offered$29per workspace
  • 1,000 members
  • 3 users
BusinessNot offered$199per workspace
  • 10,000 members
  • 15 users
CustomContact salesContact salesNot stated
  • Unlimited members
  • Unlimited users

Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.

Ghost pricing in full

How we picked

Every one of these membership platforms is scored by the same 7 criteria (scorecard v1). Each criterion gives 0 to 100 from the vendor's published data; the total is the weighted average. A criterion without verified data is left out and the other weights are re-normalised. A tool with under 60% of the weight covered is listed as not ranked, and so is a tool with no verified price and fewer than 2 verified features (“needs a verified price”); each score shows how many criteria it is based on. The core criteria are the same in every category; the category criteria are specific to membership platforms. Nobody gets custom weights, including our own products.

Scorecard criteria and weights
CriterionWeightTypeWhat we measure
Entry price25%CorePrice per month of the cheapest paid plan, against the prices of other membership platforms on the same billing basis (monthly-billed prices against monthly, annual-billed against annual).Log scale. Billed monthly: $15/month or less = 100, $79 or more = 0. Only billed annually: $15.83/month or less = 100, $89 or more = 0. Only free plans = 100. Usage-priced and one-time plans are not scored.
Free plan or trial15%CoreWhether you can use the tool before paying: a free plan, or failing that a free trial, as shown on the vendor's pricing page.Free plan = 100. No free plan but a free trial = 60. The pricing page lists plans but shows neither = 0. No plans read = not scored.
Pricing transparency10%CoreHow much of the pricing is public: the share of plans with a published price ("contact sales" counts against), and whether there are at least 3 published tiers.80 x (plans with a public price / plans listed) + 20 x (public plans, up to 3) / 3. No plans read = not scored.
Verified features15%CoreHow many of the 4 features we track for this category the vendor's own pages verifiably show (analytics, team access, templates, ai assistant). This counts verified features only: a tool that documents less scores lower here, and only here.Linear: verified features / 2 (half the tracked list) x 100, capped at 100. No tracked feature verified = not scored.
API, integrations and export10%CoreWhether a public API exists, how many integrations the vendor states, and whether the vendor documents a way to export your data.Average of the parts with data: public API yes = 100, no = 0; integrations on a log scale (100 or more = 100); a documented data export = 100. None verified = not scored.
Fee on sales15%CategoryThe percentage of each sale the platform keeps, as the vendor states it (the cheapest paid plan that states a fee).Linear, lower is better: 0% = 100, 10% or more = 0. No stated fee = not scored.
Members per plan10%CategoryMembers included on the cheapest paid plan that states a limit.Log scale: 1,000 or more (or unlimited) = 100. No stated limit = not scored.

Sources are vendor pricing pages, docs and changelogs, each with the date we checked it. We did not test these tools hands-on unless a listing says so. Full formulas: methodology.

Questions, answered from the data

Is Easy Digital Downloads cheaper than Ghost?

Easy Digital Downloads starts lower: $8.29 per month billed yearly on the Personal plan, against $18 per month billed yearly on the Starter plan for Ghost. Check the unit: per-user and per-account prices scale differently.

Do Easy Digital Downloads and Ghost have free plans?

Easy Digital Downloads has a free plan; Ghost does not.

Which is better, Easy Digital Downloads or Ghost?

On our scorecard Easy Digital Downloads scores higher (90/100 (5 of 7 criteria) vs 81/100 (7 of 7 criteria)). The score weighs every criterion the same way for every tool; check the rows above for the ones that matter to you.