
Ghost review 71/100 on verified data
Ghost is a newsletter platform: Open-source publishing platform for building a website, sending email newsletters and selling paid memberships, offered as hosted plans.
Data checked Oct 14, 2026 against the vendors' own pages. How we verify

- Score (rank 18 of 27)
- 71/100
- Coverage (6 of 8 criteria)
- 80%
- From, per month
- $18
- Free plan
- No
Paid plans start at $18 per month billed yearly on the Starter plan, and there is no free plan.
The vendor lists 8,000 integrations and a public API.
In our newsletter platforms ranking Ghost scores 71/100, rank 18 of 27, based on 6 of 8 criteria (80% of the scorecard weight backed by verified data).
Ghost at a glance
- Pricing model
- Paid only source, Oct 14, 2026
- Cheapest paid plan
- Starter: $18/mo (billed yearly) source, Oct 14, 2026
- Free plan
- No source, Oct 14, 2026
- Free trial
- No source, Oct 14, 2026
- Integrations
- 8,000 source, Oct 14, 2026
- Public API
- Yes source, Oct 14, 2026
- Data export
- Member list in CSV format source, Oct 14, 2026
Ghost plans
Starter
$18per month, billed yearly
- Billed monthly
- Not offered
- Billed yearly
- $18
- Charged per
- per workspace
Published limits
- 1,000 members
- 1 user
Publisher
$29per month, billed yearly
- Billed monthly
- Not offered
- Billed yearly
- $29
- Charged per
- per workspace
Published limits
- 1,000 members
- 3 users
Business
$199per month, billed yearly
- Billed monthly
- Not offered
- Billed yearly
- $199
- Charged per
- per workspace
Published limits
- 10,000 members
- 15 users
Custom
Contact sales
- Billed monthly
- Contact sales
- Billed yearly
- Contact sales
- Charged per
- Not stated
Published limits
- Unlimited members
- Unlimited users
Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.
Full Ghost pricing and plan limitsHow Ghost scores
Score
71/100
Rank #18 of 27
Coverage 80%
6 of 8 criteria. Ranked at 60% or more.
Entry price
76/100
Weight 31%$18/month billed annually on Starter; no monthly-billed price published (scored against annual-billed prices) source
Free plan or trial
0/100
Weight 19%No free plan or free trial shown on the pricing page source
Pricing transparency
80/100
Weight 13%3 of 4 plans have a public price (1 "contact sales") source
Verified features
100/100
Weight 19%6 of 9 tracked features verified: paid subscriptions, custom domain, landing pages and forms, segmentation and tags, newsletter website, open and click analytics source 1source 2
API, integrations and export
100/100
Weight 13%public API, 8,000 integrations, documented data export source
Cost at 1,000 subscriberscategory criterion
Excluded
Weight –No published data: left out, the other criteria are re-weighted.
Free plan limitscategory criterion
Excluded
Weight –No published data: left out, the other criteria are re-weighted.
Paid subscriptionscategory criterion
100/100
Weight 6%Paid subscriptions with a 0% platform fee source 1source 2
Ghost features
- Paid subscriptions
- Yes source, Oct 14, 2026
- Platform fee on paid subscriptions (%)
- 0 source, Oct 14, 2026
- Custom domain
- Yes source, Oct 14, 2026
- Landing pages and forms
- Yes source, Oct 14, 2026
- Segmentation and tags
- Yes source, Oct 14, 2026
- Newsletter website
- Yes source, Oct 14, 2026
- Open and click analytics
- Yes source, Oct 14, 2026
3 more details we track are not published by the vendor or not verified yet (shown as – in tables). How we verify
Ghost alternatives
| # | Tool | Score | Coverage | From, billed monthly | From, billed yearly | Free plan | Integrations | Public API | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 98/100 | 75%5 of 8 criteria | Free | Free | Yes | – | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 2 | 98/100 | 85%6 of 8 criteria | Not offered | $9/mo | Yes, 2,500 subscribers | – | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 3 | 98/100 | 75%5 of 8 criteria | $9/mo | Not offered | Yes | 150 | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 4 | 93/100 | 85%6 of 8 criteria | $16/mo | $24.17/mo | Yes, unlimited emails per month | – | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 5 | 92/100 | 85%6 of 8 criteria | Not offered | $9/mo | Yes, 2,500 subscribers | 1,000 | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 |
Each value links the vendor page it was read from (hover for the check date). Coverage is the share of the scorecard's weight with verified data, and "N of M criteria" how many criteria the score is based on; a tool is ranked at 60% or more.
All 34 Ghost alternatives, rankedMore ways to weigh up Ghost
Compare Ghost
Questions, answered from the data
How much does Ghost cost?
Paid plans start at $18 per month billed yearly on the Starter plan, according to Ghost's pricing page (checked Oct 14, 2026).
Does Ghost have a free plan?
No: Ghost has no free plan (checked Oct 14, 2026).
Does Ghost have an API?
Yes, a public API is documented (checked Oct 14, 2026).
How does Ghost score?
In our newsletter platforms ranking Ghost scores 71/100, rank 18 of 27, based on 6 of 8 criteria (80% of the scorecard weight backed by verified data).
What are the best Ghost alternatives?
By our scorecard the top-ranked alternatives are Flodesk (98/100), Sender (98/100) and Brevo (98/100).
More on Ghost
Rankings it appears in
Built for
Pricing last read Oct 14, 2026. Vendors change prices; the linked page is the final word.