

Short-form clippers
FrameOS vs SnipCast compared on 13 fields
- FrameOS score
- 76/100 (5 of 8 criteria)
- SnipCast score
- 74/100 (4 of 8 criteria)
- Fields won by FrameOS
- 2 of 8
- Fields won by SnipCast
- 0 of 8


Data checked Oct 14, 2026 against the vendors' own pages. How we verify
FrameOS and SnipCast are both short-form video clippers. We compared them on 13 fields read from each vendor's own pages.
On the short-form video clippers scorecard FrameOS scores 76/100 (5 of 8 criteria) and SnipCast 74/100 (4 of 8 criteria) (ranks 11 and 13 in the category).
Of the 8 fields with a clear rule (lower price, higher count, yes over no), FrameOS wins 2, SnipCast wins 0 and 6 are ties.
SnipCast scores clearly higher on pricing transparency.
Side by side
| Field | Winner and basis | ||
|---|---|---|---|
| Cheapest paid plan (billed monthly) | ✓ $7/month | $9/month | FrameOS |
| Same plan, per month billed annually | $4.50/month | – | No winner: needs a value on both sides |
| Free plan | No | No | Tie |
| Free trial | No | No | Tie |
| Platforms supported | ✓ 4 | 3 | FrameOS |
| Public API | Yes | – | No winner: needs a value on both sides |
| Data export | Clips as a zip with an XML timeline for Premiere Pro and DaVinci Resolve, source segments, and captions as SRT and ASS | – | No winner: needs a value on both sides |
| AI clip selection | Yes | Yes | Tie |
| Automatic captions | Yes | Yes | Tie |
| Auto reframe to vertical | Yes | Yes | Tie |
| Publish or schedule to social networks | Yes | Yes | Tie |
| No watermark on paid plans | Yes | – | No winner: needs a value on both sides |
| Team access | Yes | – | No winner: needs a value on both sides |
– = not published by the vendor, or not verified yet.
Sources: FrameOS pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026; SnipCast pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026. Each feature value links its own source on the tool's page.
Scorecard, criterion by criterion
| Criterion | Weight | ||
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry price | 25% | 100$7/month billed monthly on Starter; $4.50/month billed annually on Starter (scored on the monthly price) | 92$9/month billed monthly on Starter (scored on the monthly price) |
| Free plan or trial | 15% | 0No free plan or free trial shown on the pricing page | 0No free plan or free trial shown on the pricing page |
| Pricing transparency | 10% | 672 of 3 plans have a public price (1 "contact sales") | 1003 of 3 plans have a public price |
| Verified features | 15% | 1006 of 8 tracked features verified: ai clip selection, automatic captions, auto reframe to vertical, publish or schedule to social networks, no watermark on paid plans, team access | 1004 of 8 tracked features verified: ai clip selection, automatic captions, auto reframe to vertical, publish or schedule to social networks |
| API, integrations and export | 10% | 100public API, documented data export | – |
| Total score | 100% | 76/100 (5 of 8 criteria) | 74/100 (4 of 8 criteria) |
FrameOS plans
| Plan | Billed monthly | Billed yearly | Charged per | Published limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starter | $7 | $4.50 | per workspace |
|
| Pro | $14 | $9 | per workspace |
|
| Business | Contact sales | Contact sales | Not stated | None stated |
Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.
SnipCast plans
| Plan | Billed monthly | Billed yearly | Charged per | Published limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starter | $9 | Not stated | per workspace | None stated |
| Pro | $29 | Not stated | per workspace | None stated |
| Scale | $79 | Not stated | per workspace | None stated |
Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.
How we picked
Every one of these short-form video clippers is scored by the same 8 criteria (scorecard v1). Each criterion gives 0 to 100 from the vendor's published data; the total is the weighted average. A criterion without verified data is left out and the other weights are re-normalised. A tool with under 60% of the weight covered is listed as not ranked, and so is a tool with no verified price and fewer than 2 verified features (“needs a verified price”); each score shows how many criteria it is based on. The core criteria are the same in every category; the category criteria are specific to short-form video clippers. Nobody gets custom weights, including our own products.
| Criterion | Weight | Type | What we measure |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry price | 25% | Core | Price per month of the cheapest paid plan, against the prices of other short-form video clippers on the same billing basis (monthly-billed prices against monthly, annual-billed against annual).Log scale. Billed monthly: $8.08/month or less = 100, $32.31 or more = 0. Only billed annually: $6.60/month or less = 100, $26.41 or more = 0. Only free plans = 100. Usage-priced and one-time plans are not scored. |
| Free plan or trial | 15% | Core | Whether you can use the tool before paying: a free plan, or failing that a free trial, as shown on the vendor's pricing page.Free plan = 100. No free plan but a free trial = 60. The pricing page lists plans but shows neither = 0. No plans read = not scored. |
| Pricing transparency | 10% | Core | How much of the pricing is public: the share of plans with a published price ("contact sales" counts against), and whether there are at least 3 published tiers.80 x (plans with a public price / plans listed) + 20 x (public plans, up to 3) / 3. No plans read = not scored. |
| Verified features | 15% | Core | How many of the 8 features we track for this category the vendor's own pages verifiably show (ai clip selection, automatic captions, auto reframe to vertical, virality score, publish or schedule to social networks, brand kit, no watermark on paid plans, team access). This counts verified features only: a tool that documents less scores lower here, and only here.Linear: verified features / 4 (half the tracked list) x 100, capped at 100. No tracked feature verified = not scored. |
| API, integrations and export | 10% | Core | Whether a public API exists, how many integrations the vendor states, and whether the vendor documents a way to export your data.Average of the parts with data: public API yes = 100, no = 0; integrations on a log scale (100 or more = 100); a documented data export = 100. None verified = not scored. |
| Platform coverage | 10% | Category | How many of the 15 social platforms we track the vendor says the tool supports.Linear: platforms / 10 x 100, capped at 100. No verified platform list = not scored. |
| Storage | 10% | Category | GB of storage included on the cheapest paid plan that states a limit.Log scale: 100 or more (or unlimited) = 100. No stated limit = not scored. |
| Cost per user (team of 3) | 5% | Category | Monthly price per user for a team of 3, on the cheapest paid plan that is priced per seat or states room for at least 3 users.Log scale: $5 per user or less = 100, $88 or more = 0. Plans that do not state a user limit are not used. No such plan = not scored. |
Sources are vendor pricing pages, docs and changelogs, each with the date we checked it. We did not test these tools hands-on unless a listing says so. Full formulas: methodology.
Questions, answered from the data
Is FrameOS cheaper than SnipCast?
FrameOS starts lower: $7 per month billed monthly ($4.50 billed yearly) on the Starter plan, against $9 per month billed monthly on the Starter plan for SnipCast. Check the unit: per-user and per-account prices scale differently.
Do FrameOS and SnipCast have free plans?
Neither has a free plan.
Which supports more social platforms, FrameOS or SnipCast?
FrameOS supports 4 platforms, SnipCast 3.
Which is better, FrameOS or SnipCast?
On our scorecard FrameOS scores higher (76/100 (5 of 8 criteria) vs 74/100 (4 of 8 criteria)). The score weighs every criterion the same way for every tool; check the rows above for the ones that matter to you.