AI writing

Grammarly vs Surfer compared on 14 fields

Grammarly score
69/100 (5 of 7 criteria)
Surfer score
47/100 (5 of 7 criteria)
Fields won by Grammarly
4 of 8
Fields won by Surfer
0 of 8
Grammarly
Grammarly homepage (screenshot)
Homepage captured Oct 14, 2026
Surfer
Surfer homepage (screenshot)
Homepage captured Oct 14, 2026

Data checked Oct 14, 2026 against the vendors' own pages. How we verify

Grammarly and Surfer are both AI writing tools. We compared them on 14 fields read from each vendor's own pages.

On the AI writing tools scorecard Grammarly scores 69/100 (5 of 7 criteria) and Surfer 47/100 (5 of 7 criteria) (ranks 31 and 53 in the category).

Of the 8 fields with a clear rule (lower price, higher count, yes over no), Grammarly wins 4, Surfer wins 0 and 4 are ties.

Grammarly scores clearly higher on free plan or trial and entry price.

Surfer scores clearly higher on pricing transparency.

Side by side

A winner is declared only on rows with a clear rule and data on both sides.
Grammarly vs Surfer, field by field
FieldGrammarlySurferWinner and basis
Cheapest paid plan (billed monthly)✓ $30/month$49/monthGrammarly
Same plan, per month billed annually✓ $12/month$49/monthGrammarly
Free plan✓ YesNoGrammarly
Free trial✓ YesNoGrammarly
Trial length (days)7–No winner: needs a value on both sides
Public API–YesNo winner: needs a value on both sides
AnalyticsYes–No winner: needs a value on both sides
Team accessYesYesTie
Templates–YesNo winner: needs a value on both sides
AI assistantYesYesTie
Brand voiceYes–No winner: needs a value on both sides
SEO optimisation–YesNo winner: needs a value on both sides
Plagiarism checkerYesYesTie
Browser extensionYesYesTie

– = not published by the vendor, or not verified yet.

Sources: Grammarly pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026; Surfer pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026. Each feature value links its own source on the tool's page.

Scorecard, criterion by criterion

Both tools on the AI writing tools scorecard: score 0-100 and the numbers it was computed from.
Grammarly vs Surfer scores
CriterionWeightGrammarlySurfer
Entry price25%43$30/month per seat billed monthly on Pro; $12/month billed annually on Pro (scored on the monthly price)0$49/month billed annually on Discovery; no monthly-billed price published (scored against annual-billed prices)
Free plan or trial15%100Free plan (Free)0No free plan or free trial shown on the pricing page
Pricing transparency10%672 of 3 plans have a public price (1 "contact sales")1004 of 4 plans have a public price
Verified features15%1006 of 8 tracked features verified: analytics, team access, ai assistant, brand voice, plagiarism checker, browser extension1006 of 8 tracked features verified: team access, templates, ai assistant, seo optimisation, plagiarism checker, browser extension
API, integrations and export10%–100public API
Cost per user (team of 3)15%50$30 per user per month on Pro (team of 3, billed monthly)–
Total score100%69/100 (5 of 7 criteria)47/100 (5 of 7 criteria)

Grammarly plans

Grammarly plans
PlanBilled monthlyBilled yearlyCharged perPublished limits
FreeFreeFreeper userNone stated
Pro$30$12per userNone stated
EnterpriseContact salesContact salesNot statedNone stated

Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.

Grammarly pricing in full

Surfer plans

Surfer plans
PlanBilled monthlyBilled yearlyCharged perPublished limits
AI Search AnalyticsNot offered$82Not statedNone stated
StandardNot offered$99Not statedNone stated
ProNot offered$182Not statedNone stated
DiscoveryNot offered$49Not statedNone stated

Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.

Surfer pricing in full

How we picked

Every one of these AI writing tools is scored by the same 7 criteria (scorecard v1). Each criterion gives 0 to 100 from the vendor's published data; the total is the weighted average. A criterion without verified data is left out and the other weights are re-normalised. A tool with under 60% of the weight covered is listed as not ranked, and so is a tool with no verified price and fewer than 2 verified features (“needs a verified price”); each score shows how many criteria it is based on. The core criteria are the same in every category; the category criteria are specific to AI writing tools. Nobody gets custom weights, including our own products.

Scorecard criteria and weights
CriterionWeightTypeWhat we measure
Entry price25%CorePrice per month of the cheapest paid plan, against the prices of other AI writing tools on the same billing basis (monthly-billed prices against monthly, annual-billed against annual).Log scale. Billed monthly: $9.99/month or less = 100, $69 or more = 0. Only billed annually: $4.92/month or less = 100, $49 or more = 0. Only free plans = 100. Usage-priced and one-time plans are not scored.
Free plan or trial15%CoreWhether you can use the tool before paying: a free plan, or failing that a free trial, as shown on the vendor's pricing page.Free plan = 100. No free plan but a free trial = 60. The pricing page lists plans but shows neither = 0. No plans read = not scored.
Pricing transparency10%CoreHow much of the pricing is public: the share of plans with a published price ("contact sales" counts against), and whether there are at least 3 published tiers.80 x (plans with a public price / plans listed) + 20 x (public plans, up to 3) / 3. No plans read = not scored.
Verified features15%CoreHow many of the 8 features we track for this category the vendor's own pages verifiably show (analytics, team access, templates, ai assistant, brand voice, seo optimisation, plagiarism checker, browser extension). This counts verified features only: a tool that documents less scores lower here, and only here.Linear: verified features / 4 (half the tracked list) x 100, capped at 100. No tracked feature verified = not scored.
API, integrations and export10%CoreWhether a public API exists, how many integrations the vendor states, and whether the vendor documents a way to export your data.Average of the parts with data: public API yes = 100, no = 0; integrations on a log scale (100 or more = 100); a documented data export = 100. None verified = not scored.
Cost per user (team of 3)15%CategoryMonthly price per user for a team of 3, on the cheapest paid plan that is priced per seat or states room for at least 3 users.Log scale: $13 per user or less = 100, $69 or more = 0. Plans that do not state a user limit are not used. No such plan = not scored.
Languages10%CategoryNumber of languages the vendor says it offers.Linear scale: 100 or more = 100. No stated count = not scored.

Sources are vendor pricing pages, docs and changelogs, each with the date we checked it. We did not test these tools hands-on unless a listing says so. Full formulas: methodology.

Questions, answered from the data

Is Grammarly cheaper than Surfer?

Grammarly starts lower: $30 per user per month billed monthly ($12 billed yearly) on the Pro plan, against $49 per month billed yearly on the Discovery plan for Surfer. Check the unit: per-user and per-account prices scale differently.

Do Grammarly and Surfer have free plans?

Grammarly has a free plan; Surfer does not.

Which is better, Grammarly or Surfer?

On our scorecard Grammarly scores higher (69/100 (5 of 7 criteria) vs 47/100 (5 of 7 criteria)). The score weighs every criterion the same way for every tool; check the rows above for the ones that matter to you.