
AI writing
Cheapest Grammarly alternatives 23 tools cheaper than Grammarly, like for like
- Grammarly from, billed monthly
- $30/mo
- Cheaper tools
- 23
- Lowest price
- $4.17/mo
- Biggest saving, paid plan
- 75%
Data checked Oct 14, 2026 against the vendors' own pages. How we verify
Grammarly's cheapest paid plan costs $30 per user billed monthly (Pro) or $12 per user per month billed annually (Pro). We found 23 tools in its market that cost less, compared on the same billing basis.
18 are cheaper billed monthly, 5 are cheaper billed annually.
The largest saving on a paid plan is Rytr: $7.50 a month billed monthly on Unlimited, $22.50 (75%) less than Grammarly's $30.
Some plans are priced per user or per account and others per workspace, so the entry price is not always the price for your team: check the plan limits before switching.
No vendor here states that it lacks a feature Grammarly has. Below, each tool lists the features and numbers it publishes; vendors rarely state what they do not offer, so a feature that is not listed is unknown, not missing.
Grammarly alternatives by price
| # | Tool | Price per month | Billing basis | Grammarly, same basis | You save | Free plan | Data checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $4.17/mo | billed annually | $12/mo per user | $7.83 (65%) | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 2 | $4.89/mo | billed annually | $12/mo per user | $7.11 (59%) | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 3 | $6/mo | billed annually | $12/mo per user | $6 (50%) | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 4 | $7.50/mo | billed monthly | $30/mo per user | $22.50 (75%) | Yes, 10,000 characters per month | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 5 | $8.33/mo | billed annually | $12/mo per user | $3.67 (31%) | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 6 | $9/mo | billed monthly | $30/mo per user | $21 (70%) | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 7 | $9/mo | billed monthly | $30/mo per user | $21 (70%) | Yes, 3 images per month | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 8 | RedactAI | $11.90/mo | billed annually | $12/mo per user | $0.10 (1%) | No | Oct 14, 2026 |
| 9 | $12/mo | billed monthly | $30/mo per user | $18 (60%) | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 10 | $14/mo | billed monthly | $30/mo per user | $16 (53%) | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 11 | $15/mo | billed monthly | $30/mo per user | $15 (50%) | No | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 12 | $15/mo | billed monthly | $30/mo per user | $15 (50%) | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 13 | $16/mo | billed monthly | $30/mo per user | $14 (47%) | Yes, 2,000 words per month | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 14 | $19/mo | billed monthly | $30/mo per user | $11 (37%) | No | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 15 | $19/mo | billed monthly | $30/mo per user | $11 (37%) | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 16 | $19/mo | billed monthly | $30/mo per user | $11 (37%) | Yes, 5 credits per month | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 17 | $19/mo | billed monthly | $30/mo per user | $11 (37%) | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 18 | $23/mo | billed monthly | $30/mo per user | $7 (23%) | No | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 19 | $25/mo | billed monthly | $30/mo per user | $5 (17%) | No | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 20 | $27/mo | billed monthly | $30/mo per user | $3 (10%) | No | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 21 | $29/mo | billed monthly | $30/mo per user | $1 (3%) | No | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 22 | $29/mo | billed monthly | $30/mo per user | $1 (3%) | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 23 | $29.99/mo | billed monthly | $30/mo per user | $0.01 (0%) | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 |
Each value links the page it was read from (hover for the check date).
What you give up for the lower price
starc · $4.17/mo, saves 65%Desktop writing software for screenplays, novels, comics and other stories, with planning boards, character tools and an AI writing assistant.
- Price: $4.17 a month, billed annually, on Pro source
- Grammarly on the same basis: $12 per user a month, billed annually, on Pro source
- Saving: $7.83 a month (65%)
- Pricing unit: starc: per workspace; Grammarly: per user
- Pro limits: 5 credits per month source
- Verified features: Team access, AI assistant
4 of 13 tracked details verified
Wordtune · $4.89/mo, saves 59%AI writing assistant that paraphrases and rewrites sentences, corrects grammar, adjusts tone and summarizes documents and videos.
- Price: $4.89 a month, billed annually, on Advanced source
- Grammarly on the same basis: $12 per user a month, billed annually, on Pro source
- Saving: $7.11 a month (59%)
- Pricing unit: Wordtune: not stated; Grammarly: per user
- Verified features: AI assistant, Browser extension
4 of 13 tracked details verified
Paperpal · $6/mo, saves 50%AI writing assistant for academic research that checks grammar, plagiarism and references, paraphrases text, and searches papers for citations.
- Price: $6 a month, billed annually, on Prime source
- Grammarly on the same basis: $12 per user a month, billed annually, on Pro source
- Saving: $6 a month (50%)
- Pricing unit: Paperpal: not stated; Grammarly: per user
- Prime limits: 2 storage gb source
- Verified features: AI assistant, Plagiarism checker, Browser extension
4 of 13 tracked details verified
Rytr · $7.50/mo, saves 75%AI writing assistant that generates copy from use-case templates, with tone matching, plagiarism checks and a Chrome extension.
- Price: $7.50 a month, billed monthly, on Unlimited source
- Grammarly on the same basis: $30 per user a month, billed monthly, on Pro source
- Saving: $22.50 a month (75%)
- Pricing unit: Rytr: per workspace; Grammarly: per user
- Unlimited limits: unlimited characters per month source
- Verified features: Brand voice, Plagiarism checker, Browser extension
4 of 13 tracked details verified
Clariny · $8.33/mo, saves 31%Academic writing assistant with AI autocomplete, paraphrasing, grammar checks, a citation manager and export to several document formats.
- Price: $8.33 a month, billed annually, on Pro source
- Grammarly on the same basis: $12 per user a month, billed annually, on Pro source
- Saving: $3.67 a month (31%)
- Pricing unit: Clariny: not stated; Grammarly: per user
- Verified features: AI assistant
3 of 13 tracked details verified
Analyse · $9/mo, saves 70%Analytics dashboard for Minecraft servers and Roblox experiences that ties players, sessions, retention and revenue to the campaign that brought each player in.
- Price: $9 a month, billed monthly, on Starter source
- Grammarly on the same basis: $30 per user a month, billed monthly, on Pro source
- Saving: $21 a month (70%)
- Pricing unit: Analyse: per workspace; Grammarly: per user
- Verified features: Analytics, Team access, AI assistant
5 of 13 tracked details verified
CannerAI · $9/mo, saves 70%AI content workspace that drafts LinkedIn and X posts in the user's voice from videos, articles and notes and publishes them on a schedule.
- Price: $9 a month, billed monthly, on Creator source
- Grammarly on the same basis: $30 per user a month, billed monthly, on Pro source
- Saving: $21 a month (70%)
- Pricing unit: CannerAI: per workspace; Grammarly: per user
- Creator limits: 30 images per month, 1 users source
- Verified features: Team access, Templates, AI assistant, Brand voice, Browser extension
6 of 13 tracked details verified
RedactAI · $11.90/mo, saves 1%
AI writing tool that drafts LinkedIn posts in the user's own voice from their profile and post history, with scheduling and statistics.
- Price: $11.90 a month, billed annually, on Essential source
- Grammarly on the same basis: $12 per user a month, billed annually, on Pro source
- Saving: $0.10 a month (1%)
- Pricing unit: RedactAI: per workspace; Grammarly: per user
- Essential limits: 1 social accounts source
- Verified features: Analytics, Brand voice
3 of 13 tracked details verified
Jenni AI · $12/mo, saves 60%AI writing workspace for academic research that suggests text, searches papers and manages citations and sources.
- Price: $12 a month, billed monthly, on Plus source
- Grammarly on the same basis: $30 per user a month, billed monthly, on Pro source
- Saving: $18 a month (60%)
- Pricing unit: Jenni AI: not stated; Grammarly: per user
- Verified features: AI assistant, Browser extension
4 of 13 tracked details verified
Podcasts To Text · $14/mo, saves 53%Transcription service that turns podcast episode links or audio files into editable transcripts, with AI show notes, chapters, translations and exports.
- Price: $14 a month, billed monthly, on Creator source
- Grammarly on the same basis: $30 per user a month, billed monthly, on Pro source
- Saving: $16 a month (53%)
- Pricing unit: Podcasts To Text: per workspace; Grammarly: per user
- Verified features: Public API
3 of 13 tracked details verified
Arcitext · $15/mo, saves 50%AI-assisted writing app with chat-based edits, tone checks, rewrite suggestions, fact checking and content repurposing, priced by monthly credits.
- Price: $15 a month, billed monthly, on Starter source
- Grammarly on the same basis: $30 per user a month, billed monthly, on Pro source
- Saving: $15 a month (50%)
- Pricing unit: Arcitext: not stated; Grammarly: per user
- Starter limits: 1,000 credits per month source
- Verified features: AI assistant, Brand voice, SEO optimisation
5 of 13 tracked details verified
Revua · $15/mo, saves 50%Tool that analyzes product reviews from Amazon or Allegro and generates ad hooks, UGC video scripts and product listing copy from them.
- Price: $15 a month, billed monthly, on Starter source
- Grammarly on the same basis: $30 per user a month, billed monthly, on Pro source
- Saving: $15 a month (50%)
- Pricing unit: Revua: not stated; Grammarly: per user
- Verified features: Team access, AI assistant
3 of 13 tracked details verified
Revise AI · $16/mo, saves 47%AI editing tool that shows suggested changes as tracked edits to accept or reject, with custom style rules, document chat and a Chrome extension.
- Price: $16 a month, billed monthly, on Pro source
- Grammarly on the same basis: $30 per user a month, billed monthly, on Pro source
- Saving: $14 a month (47%)
- Pricing unit: Revise AI: not stated; Grammarly: per user
- Pro limits: 400,000 words per month source
- Verified features: AI assistant, Brand voice, Browser extension
5 of 13 tracked details verified
AutoBlogWriter · $19/mo, saves 37%Automates blog publishing for Next.js, React, Astro and WordPress sites by researching, writing and publishing posts with images, metadata and schema markup.
- Price: $19 a month, billed monthly, on Starter source
- Grammarly on the same basis: $30 per user a month, billed monthly, on Pro source
- Saving: $11 a month (37%)
- Pricing unit: AutoBlogWriter: per workspace; Grammarly: per user
- Starter limits: 10 images per month, 1 workspaces source
- Verified features: Analytics, Brand voice, SEO optimisation
4 of 13 tracked details verified
LinkGenie · $19/mo, saves 37%AI writing and scheduling tool for LinkedIn that learns a user's tone, drafts posts, publishes them to LinkedIn and reports post analytics.
- Price: $19 a month, billed monthly, on Starter source
- Grammarly on the same basis: $30 per user a month, billed monthly, on Pro source
- Saving: $11 a month (37%)
- Pricing unit: LinkGenie: not stated; Grammarly: per user
- Verified features: Analytics, AI assistant, Brand voice, Browser extension
5 of 13 tracked details verified
How we picked
- Pool: tools in the same market as the tool on this page (they list its primary category, and their own primary category is one it lists).
- Like for like: a tool's cheapest paid plan billed monthly is compared with the cheapest plan billed monthly; if that is not cheaper, its price per month billed annually is compared with the annual price. Monthly and annual prices are never mixed in one comparison.
- A free plan counts as cheaper only when the tool on this page has no free plan. Usage-priced and "contact sales" plans are left out.
- Saving = the reference price on the same basis minus the alternative's price, per month; the percentage is rounded. Entry plans differ in seats, accounts and limits, so the saving is for the entry plan, not your team.
- Sorted by price per month, then name. The page is built only when the tool has a verified paid price and at least 3 tools qualify.
Every value is read from the vendor's own pages (or GitHub for licences and stars) and shown with the date we checked it. A value we could not verify is shown as a dash, never estimated, and never read as a “no”. We did not test these tools hands-on unless a listing says so. Methodology
Questions, answered from the data
What is the cheapest alternative to Grammarly?
starc: $4.17 a month billed annually on Pro, against $12 for Grammarly's Pro on the same basis.
How much can I save compared with Grammarly?
Up to $22.50 a month (75%) with Rytr (billed monthly), before any difference in limits or seats.
Is there a free alternative to Grammarly?
starc, Wordtune, Paperpal, Rytr and Clariny and 11 more have a free plan.
Explore related pages
Prices as published on each vendor's pricing page on the date shown, in USD, for AI writing tools. Confirm with the vendor before you buy.