AI writing

Frase vs Surfer compared on 14 fields

Frase score
56/100 (6 of 7 criteria)
Surfer score
47/100 (5 of 7 criteria)
Fields won by Frase
2 of 8
Fields won by Surfer
0 of 8
Frase
Frase homepage (screenshot)
Homepage captured Oct 14, 2026
Surfer
Surfer homepage (screenshot)
Homepage captured Oct 14, 2026

Data checked Oct 14, 2026 against the vendors' own pages. How we verify

Frase and Surfer are both AI writing tools. We compared them on 14 fields read from each vendor's own pages.

On the AI writing tools scorecard Frase scores 56/100 (6 of 7 criteria) and Surfer 47/100 (5 of 7 criteria) (ranks 41 and 53 in the category).

Of the 8 fields with a clear rule (lower price, higher count, yes over no), Frase wins 2, Surfer wins 0 and 6 are ties.

Frase scores clearly higher on free plan or trial and entry price.

Surfer scores clearly higher on pricing transparency.

Side by side

A winner is declared only on rows with a clear rule and data on both sides.
Frase vs Surfer, field by field
FieldFraseSurferWinner and basis
Cheapest paid plan (billed monthly)$49/month$49/monthTie
Same plan, per month billed annually✓ $39/month$49/monthFrase
Free planNoNoTie
Free trial✓ YesNoFrase
Trial length (days)7–No winner: needs a value on both sides
Public APIYesYesTie
Data exportclient-ready reports–No winner: needs a value on both sides
Team accessYesYesTie
Templates–YesNo winner: needs a value on both sides
AI assistantYesYesTie
Brand voiceYes–No winner: needs a value on both sides
SEO optimisationYesYesTie
Plagiarism checker–YesNo winner: needs a value on both sides
Browser extension–YesNo winner: needs a value on both sides

– = not published by the vendor, or not verified yet.

Sources: Frase pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026; Surfer pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026. Each feature value links its own source on the tool's page.

Scorecard, criterion by criterion

Both tools on the AI writing tools scorecard: score 0-100 and the numbers it was computed from.
Frase vs Surfer scores
CriterionWeightFraseSurfer
Entry price25%18$49/month billed monthly on Starter; $39/month billed annually on Starter (scored on the monthly price)0$49/month billed annually on Discovery; no monthly-billed price published (scored against annual-billed prices)
Free plan or trial15%60Free trial (7 days), no free plan0No free plan or free trial shown on the pricing page
Pricing transparency10%803 of 4 plans have a public price (1 "contact sales")1004 of 4 plans have a public price
Verified features15%1004 of 8 tracked features verified: team access, ai assistant, brand voice, seo optimisation1006 of 8 tracked features verified: team access, templates, ai assistant, seo optimisation, plagiarism checker, browser extension
API, integrations and export10%100public API, documented data export100public API
Cost per user (team of 3)15%28$43 per user per month on Professional (team of 3, billed monthly)–
Total score100%56/100 (6 of 7 criteria)47/100 (5 of 7 criteria)

Frase plans

Frase plans
PlanBilled monthlyBilled yearlyCharged perPublished limits
Starter$49$39per workspace
  • 1 user
Professional$129$103per workspace
  • 3 users
Scale$299$239per workspace
  • 5 users
EnterpriseContact salesContact salesNot statedNone stated

Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.

Frase pricing in full

Surfer plans

Surfer plans
PlanBilled monthlyBilled yearlyCharged perPublished limits
AI Search AnalyticsNot offered$82Not statedNone stated
StandardNot offered$99Not statedNone stated
ProNot offered$182Not statedNone stated
DiscoveryNot offered$49Not statedNone stated

Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.

Surfer pricing in full

How we picked

Every one of these AI writing tools is scored by the same 7 criteria (scorecard v1). Each criterion gives 0 to 100 from the vendor's published data; the total is the weighted average. A criterion without verified data is left out and the other weights are re-normalised. A tool with under 60% of the weight covered is listed as not ranked, and so is a tool with no verified price and fewer than 2 verified features (“needs a verified price”); each score shows how many criteria it is based on. The core criteria are the same in every category; the category criteria are specific to AI writing tools. Nobody gets custom weights, including our own products.

Scorecard criteria and weights
CriterionWeightTypeWhat we measure
Entry price25%CorePrice per month of the cheapest paid plan, against the prices of other AI writing tools on the same billing basis (monthly-billed prices against monthly, annual-billed against annual).Log scale. Billed monthly: $9.99/month or less = 100, $69 or more = 0. Only billed annually: $4.92/month or less = 100, $49 or more = 0. Only free plans = 100. Usage-priced and one-time plans are not scored.
Free plan or trial15%CoreWhether you can use the tool before paying: a free plan, or failing that a free trial, as shown on the vendor's pricing page.Free plan = 100. No free plan but a free trial = 60. The pricing page lists plans but shows neither = 0. No plans read = not scored.
Pricing transparency10%CoreHow much of the pricing is public: the share of plans with a published price ("contact sales" counts against), and whether there are at least 3 published tiers.80 x (plans with a public price / plans listed) + 20 x (public plans, up to 3) / 3. No plans read = not scored.
Verified features15%CoreHow many of the 8 features we track for this category the vendor's own pages verifiably show (analytics, team access, templates, ai assistant, brand voice, seo optimisation, plagiarism checker, browser extension). This counts verified features only: a tool that documents less scores lower here, and only here.Linear: verified features / 4 (half the tracked list) x 100, capped at 100. No tracked feature verified = not scored.
API, integrations and export10%CoreWhether a public API exists, how many integrations the vendor states, and whether the vendor documents a way to export your data.Average of the parts with data: public API yes = 100, no = 0; integrations on a log scale (100 or more = 100); a documented data export = 100. None verified = not scored.
Cost per user (team of 3)15%CategoryMonthly price per user for a team of 3, on the cheapest paid plan that is priced per seat or states room for at least 3 users.Log scale: $13 per user or less = 100, $69 or more = 0. Plans that do not state a user limit are not used. No such plan = not scored.
Languages10%CategoryNumber of languages the vendor says it offers.Linear scale: 100 or more = 100. No stated count = not scored.

Sources are vendor pricing pages, docs and changelogs, each with the date we checked it. We did not test these tools hands-on unless a listing says so. Full formulas: methodology.

Questions, answered from the data

Is Frase cheaper than Surfer?

Their cheapest paid plans cost the same, $49 a month.

Do Frase and Surfer have free plans?

Neither has a free plan.

Which is better, Frase or Surfer?

On our scorecard Frase scores higher (56/100 (6 of 7 criteria) vs 47/100 (5 of 7 criteria)). The score weighs every criterion the same way for every tool; check the rows above for the ones that matter to you.