Screen recording

Motion Software vs Zight compared on 12 fields

Motion Software score
83/100 (5 of 6 criteria)
Zight score
68/100 (5 of 6 criteria)
Fields won by Motion Software
2 of 7
Fields won by Zight
0 of 7
Motion Software
Motion Software homepage (screenshot)
Homepage captured Oct 14, 2026
Zight
Zight homepage (screenshot)
Homepage captured Oct 14, 2026

Data checked Oct 14, 2026 against the vendors' own pages. How we verify

Motion Software and Zight are both screen recording tools. We compared them on 12 fields read from each vendor's own pages.

On the screen recording tools scorecard Motion Software scores 83/100 (5 of 6 criteria) and Zight 68/100 (5 of 6 criteria) (ranks 10 and 13 in the category).

Of the 7 fields with a clear rule (lower price, higher count, yes over no), Motion Software wins 2, Zight wins 0 and 5 are ties.

Motion Software scores clearly higher on entry price and pricing transparency.

Zight scores clearly higher on verified features.

Side by side

A winner is declared only on rows with a clear rule and data on both sides.
Motion Software vs Zight, field by field
FieldMotion SoftwareZightWinner and basis
Cheapest paid plan (billed monthly)✓ $6/month$9.95/monthMotion Software
Same plan, per month billed annually✓ $6/month$9.95/monthMotion Software
Free planYesYesTie
Free trialNoNoTie
Data exportMP4 video with customizable frame rate, resolution and quality–No winner: needs a value on both sides
Team access–YesNo winner: needs a value on both sides
TemplatesYes–No winner: needs a value on both sides
AI assistant–YesNo winner: needs a value on both sides
Automatic captions–YesNo winner: needs a value on both sides
Instant share linksYesYesTie
Built-in editingYesYesTie
Desktop appYesYesTie

– = not published by the vendor, or not verified yet.

Sources: Motion Software pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026; Zight pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026. Each feature value links its own source on the tool's page.

Scorecard, criterion by criterion

Both tools on the screen recording tools scorecard: score 0-100 and the numbers it was computed from.
Motion Software vs Zight scores
CriterionWeightMotion SoftwareZight
Entry price25%63$6/month billed annually on Premium; no monthly-billed price published (scored against annual-billed prices)27$9.95/month per seat billed annually on Create; no monthly-billed price published (scored against annual-billed prices)
Free plan or trial15%100Free plan (Free)100Free plan (Share)
Pricing transparency10%932 of 2 plans have a public price803 of 4 plans have a public price (1 "contact sales")
Verified features15%804 of 9 tracked features verified: templates, instant share links, built-in editing, desktop app1006 of 9 tracked features verified: team access, ai assistant, automatic captions, instant share links, built-in editing, desktop app
API, integrations and export10%100documented data export–
Cost per user (team of 3)25%–65$9.95 per user per month on Create (team of 3, billed annually)
Total score100%83/100 (5 of 6 criteria)68/100 (5 of 6 criteria)

Motion Software plans

Motion Software plans
PlanBilled monthlyBilled yearlyCharged perPublished limits
FreeFreeFreeNot statedNone stated
PremiumNot offered$6Not statedNone stated

Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.

Motion Software pricing in full

Zight plans

Zight plans
PlanBilled monthlyBilled yearlyCharged perPublished limits
ShareFreeFreeper userNone stated
CreateNot offered$9.95per userNone stated
CollaborateNot offered$12per userNone stated
ScaleContact salesContact salesNot stated
  • Unlimited users

Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.

Zight pricing in full

How we picked

Every one of these screen recording tools is scored by the same 6 criteria (scorecard v1). Each criterion gives 0 to 100 from the vendor's published data; the total is the weighted average. A criterion without verified data is left out and the other weights are re-normalised. A tool with under 60% of the weight covered is listed as not ranked, and so is a tool with no verified price and fewer than 2 verified features (“needs a verified price”); each score shows how many criteria it is based on. The core criteria are the same in every category; the category criteria are specific to screen recording tools. Nobody gets custom weights, including our own products.

Scorecard criteria and weights
CriterionWeightTypeWhat we measure
Entry price25%CorePrice per month of the cheapest paid plan, against the prices of other screen recording tools on the same billing basis (monthly-billed prices against monthly, annual-billed against annual).Log scale. Billed monthly: $7.61/month or less = 100, $30.44 or more = 0. Only billed annually: $3.60/month or less = 100, $14.40 or more = 0. Only free plans = 100. Usage-priced and one-time plans are not scored.
Free plan or trial15%CoreWhether you can use the tool before paying: a free plan, or failing that a free trial, as shown on the vendor's pricing page.Free plan = 100. No free plan but a free trial = 60. The pricing page lists plans but shows neither = 0. No plans read = not scored.
Pricing transparency10%CoreHow much of the pricing is public: the share of plans with a published price ("contact sales" counts against), and whether there are at least 3 published tiers.80 x (plans with a public price / plans listed) + 20 x (public plans, up to 3) / 3. No plans read = not scored.
Verified features15%CoreHow many of the 9 features we track for this category the vendor's own pages verifiably show (analytics, team access, templates, ai assistant, camera overlay, automatic captions, instant share links, built-in editing, desktop app). This counts verified features only: a tool that documents less scores lower here, and only here.Linear: verified features / 5 (half the tracked list) x 100, capped at 100. No tracked feature verified = not scored.
API, integrations and export10%CoreWhether a public API exists, how many integrations the vendor states, and whether the vendor documents a way to export your data.Average of the parts with data: public API yes = 100, no = 0; integrations on a log scale (100 or more = 100); a documented data export = 100. None verified = not scored.
Cost per user (team of 3)25%CategoryMonthly price per user for a team of 3, on the cheapest paid plan that is priced per seat or states room for at least 3 users.Log scale: $6.16 per user or less = 100, $24.66 or more = 0. Plans that do not state a user limit are not used. No such plan = not scored.

Sources are vendor pricing pages, docs and changelogs, each with the date we checked it. We did not test these tools hands-on unless a listing says so. Full formulas: methodology.

Questions, answered from the data

Is Motion Software cheaper than Zight?

Motion Software starts lower: $6 per month billed yearly on the Premium plan, against $9.95 per user per month billed yearly on the Create plan for Zight. Check the unit: per-user and per-account prices scale differently.

Do Motion Software and Zight have free plans?

Both have a free plan.

Which is better, Motion Software or Zight?

On our scorecard Motion Software scores higher (83/100 (5 of 6 criteria) vs 68/100 (5 of 6 criteria)). The score weighs every criterion the same way for every tool; check the rows above for the ones that matter to you.