Short-form clippers

OpenShorts vs Vizard compared on 13 fields

OpenShorts score
68/100 (5 of 8 criteria)
Vizard score
98/100 (5 of 8 criteria)
Fields won by OpenShorts
0 of 6
Fields won by Vizard
0 of 6
OpenShorts
OpenShorts homepage (screenshot)
Homepage captured Oct 14, 2026
Vizard
Vizard homepage (screenshot)
Homepage captured Oct 14, 2026

Data checked Oct 14, 2026 against the vendors' own pages. How we verify

OpenShorts and Vizard are both short-form video clippers. We compared them on 13 fields read from each vendor's own pages.

On the short-form video clippers scorecard OpenShorts scores 68/100 (5 of 8 criteria) and Vizard 98/100 (5 of 8 criteria) (ranks 18 and 1 in the category).

Of the 6 fields with a clear rule (lower price, higher count, yes over no), OpenShorts wins 0, Vizard wins 0 and 6 are ties.

Vizard scores clearly higher on entry price.

Side by side

A winner is declared only on rows with a clear rule and data on both sides.
OpenShorts vs Vizard, field by field
FieldOpenShortsVizardWinner and basis
Cheapest paid plan (billed monthly)$29/month–No winner: needs a value on both sides
Free planYesYesTie
Free trialNoNoTie
Platforms supported3–No winner: needs a value on both sides
Public APIYesYesTie
Data exportClips can be exported or published directly to social platforms–No winner: needs a value on both sides
AI clip selection–YesNo winner: needs a value on both sides
Automatic captionsYes–No winner: needs a value on both sides
Auto reframe to verticalYesYesTie
Publish or schedule to social networks–YesNo winner: needs a value on both sides
Brand kit–YesNo winner: needs a value on both sides
No watermark on paid plansYesYesTie
Team accessYesYesTie

– = not published by the vendor, or not verified yet.

Sources: OpenShorts pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026; Vizard pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026. Each feature value links its own source on the tool's page.

Scorecard, criterion by criterion

Both tools on the short-form video clippers scorecard: score 0-100 and the numbers it was computed from.
OpenShorts vs Vizard scores
CriterionWeightOpenShortsVizard
Entry price25%8$29/month billed monthly on Creator (scored on the monthly price)100Free: the pricing page lists no paid plan
Free plan or trial15%100Free plan (Self-hosted)100Free plan (Free)
Pricing transparency10%932 of 2 plans have a public price871 of 1 plans have a public price
Verified features15%1004 of 8 tracked features verified: automatic captions, auto reframe to vertical, no watermark on paid plans, team access1006 of 8 tracked features verified: ai clip selection, auto reframe to vertical, publish or schedule to social networks, brand kit, no watermark on paid plans, team access
API, integrations and export10%100public API, documented data export100public API
Total score100%68/100 (5 of 8 criteria)98/100 (5 of 8 criteria)

OpenShorts plans

OpenShorts plans
PlanBilled monthlyBilled yearlyCharged perPublished limits
Self-hostedNot statedFreeper workspaceNone stated
Creator$29Not statedper workspaceNone stated

Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.

OpenShorts pricing in full

Vizard plans

Vizard plans
PlanBilled monthlyBilled yearlyCharged perPublished limits
FreeFreeFreeper workspace
  • 60 credits per month
  • 1 social account

Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.

Vizard pricing in full

How we picked

Every one of these short-form video clippers is scored by the same 8 criteria (scorecard v1). Each criterion gives 0 to 100 from the vendor's published data; the total is the weighted average. A criterion without verified data is left out and the other weights are re-normalised. A tool with under 60% of the weight covered is listed as not ranked, and so is a tool with no verified price and fewer than 2 verified features (“needs a verified price”); each score shows how many criteria it is based on. The core criteria are the same in every category; the category criteria are specific to short-form video clippers. Nobody gets custom weights, including our own products.

Scorecard criteria and weights
CriterionWeightTypeWhat we measure
Entry price25%CorePrice per month of the cheapest paid plan, against the prices of other short-form video clippers on the same billing basis (monthly-billed prices against monthly, annual-billed against annual).Log scale. Billed monthly: $8.08/month or less = 100, $32.31 or more = 0. Only billed annually: $6.60/month or less = 100, $26.41 or more = 0. Only free plans = 100. Usage-priced and one-time plans are not scored.
Free plan or trial15%CoreWhether you can use the tool before paying: a free plan, or failing that a free trial, as shown on the vendor's pricing page.Free plan = 100. No free plan but a free trial = 60. The pricing page lists plans but shows neither = 0. No plans read = not scored.
Pricing transparency10%CoreHow much of the pricing is public: the share of plans with a published price ("contact sales" counts against), and whether there are at least 3 published tiers.80 x (plans with a public price / plans listed) + 20 x (public plans, up to 3) / 3. No plans read = not scored.
Verified features15%CoreHow many of the 8 features we track for this category the vendor's own pages verifiably show (ai clip selection, automatic captions, auto reframe to vertical, virality score, publish or schedule to social networks, brand kit, no watermark on paid plans, team access). This counts verified features only: a tool that documents less scores lower here, and only here.Linear: verified features / 4 (half the tracked list) x 100, capped at 100. No tracked feature verified = not scored.
API, integrations and export10%CoreWhether a public API exists, how many integrations the vendor states, and whether the vendor documents a way to export your data.Average of the parts with data: public API yes = 100, no = 0; integrations on a log scale (100 or more = 100); a documented data export = 100. None verified = not scored.
Platform coverage10%CategoryHow many of the 15 social platforms we track the vendor says the tool supports.Linear: platforms / 10 x 100, capped at 100. No verified platform list = not scored.
Storage10%CategoryGB of storage included on the cheapest paid plan that states a limit.Log scale: 100 or more (or unlimited) = 100. No stated limit = not scored.
Cost per user (team of 3)5%CategoryMonthly price per user for a team of 3, on the cheapest paid plan that is priced per seat or states room for at least 3 users.Log scale: $5 per user or less = 100, $88 or more = 0. Plans that do not state a user limit are not used. No such plan = not scored.

Sources are vendor pricing pages, docs and changelogs, each with the date we checked it. We did not test these tools hands-on unless a listing says so. Full formulas: methodology.

Questions, answered from the data

Do OpenShorts and Vizard have free plans?

Both have a free plan.

Which is better, OpenShorts or Vizard?

On our scorecard Vizard scores higher (98/100 (5 of 8 criteria) vs 68/100 (5 of 8 criteria)). The score weighs every criterion the same way for every tool; check the rows above for the ones that matter to you.