
Descript review 65/100 on verified data
Descript is a video editing tool: Video and podcast editor that edits media by editing its transcript, with an AI co-editor, captions, AI voices and screen recording.
Data checked Oct 14, 2026 against the vendors' own pages. How we verify

- Score (rank 49 of 85)
- 65/100
- Coverage (6 of 7 criteria)
- 90%
- From, per month
- $24/user
- Free plan
- Yes
Paid plans start at $24 per user per month billed monthly ($16 billed yearly) on the Hobbyist plan, and there is a free plan with 60 video minutes per month.
Descript has a public API.
In our video editing tools ranking Descript scores 65/100, rank 49 of 85, based on 6 of 7 criteria (90% of the scorecard weight backed by verified data).
Descript at a glance
- Pricing model
- Free plan + paid plans source, Oct 14, 2026
- Cheapest paid plan
- Hobbyist: $24/user/mo source, Oct 14, 2026
- Free plan
- Yes source, Oct 14, 2026
- Free trial
- No source, Oct 14, 2026
- Public API
- Yes source, Oct 14, 2026
Descript plans
Free
Free
- Billed monthly
- Free
- Billed yearly
- Free
- Charged per
- per user
Published limits
- 60 video minutes per month
Hobbyist
$24per month, billed monthly
- Billed monthly
- $24
- Billed yearly
- $16
- Charged per
- per user
Published limits
- 1 user
- 600 video minutes per month
- 400 credits per month
Creator
$35per month, billed monthly
- Billed monthly
- $35
- Billed yearly
- $24
- Charged per
- per user
Published limits
- 3 users
- 1,800 video minutes per month
- 800 credits per month
Business
$65per month, billed monthly
- Billed monthly
- $65
- Billed yearly
- $50
- Charged per
- per user
Published limits
- 5 users
- 2,400 video minutes per month
- 1,500 credits per month
Enterprise
Contact sales
- Billed monthly
- Contact sales
- Billed yearly
- Contact sales
- Charged per
- Not stated
Published limits
None stated
Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.
Full Descript pricing and plan limitsHow Descript scores
Score
65/100
Rank #49 of 85
Coverage 90%
6 of 7 criteria. Ranked at 60% or more.
Entry price
21/100
Weight 28%$24/month per seat billed monthly on Hobbyist; $16/month billed annually on Hobbyist (scored on the monthly price) source
Free plan or trial
100/100
Weight 17%Free plan (Free) source
Pricing transparency
84/100
Weight 11%4 of 5 plans have a public price (1 "contact sales") source
Verified features
100/100
Weight 17%9 of 10 tracked features verified: team access, templates, ai assistant, automatic captions, text-based editing, 4k export, no watermark on paid plans, stock media library, real-time collaboration source
API, integrations and export
100/100
Weight 11%public API source
Cost per user (team of 3)category criterion
33/100
Weight 17%$24 per user per month on Hobbyist (team of 3, billed monthly) source
Storagecategory criterion
Excluded
Weight –No published data: left out, the other criteria are re-weighted.
Descript features
- Team access
- Yes source, Oct 14, 2026
- Templates
- Yes source, Oct 14, 2026
- AI assistant
- Yes source, Oct 14, 2026
- Automatic captions
- Yes source, Oct 14, 2026
- Text-based editing
- Yes source, Oct 14, 2026
- 4K export
- Yes source, Oct 14, 2026
- No watermark on paid plans
- Yes source, Oct 14, 2026
- Stock media library
- Yes source, Oct 14, 2026
- Real-time collaboration
- Yes source, Oct 14, 2026
3 more details we track are not published by the vendor or not verified yet (shown as – in tables). How we verify
Descript alternatives
| # | Tool | Score | Coverage | From, billed monthly | From, billed yearly | Free plan | Public API | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 100/100 | 80%5 of 7 criteria | Not offered | $4/mo | Yes | – | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 2 | 98/100 | 65%4 of 7 criteria | Free | Free | Yes | – | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 3 | 94/100 | 75%5 of 7 criteria | Free | Free | Yes, 3 credits per month | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 4 | 94/100 | 75%5 of 7 criteria | Free | Free | Yes, 60 credits per month | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 5 | 93/100 | 65%4 of 7 criteria | Free | Free | Yes | – | Oct 14, 2026 |
Each value links the vendor page it was read from (hover for the check date). Coverage is the share of the scorecard's weight with verified data, and "N of M criteria" how many criteria the score is based on; a tool is ranked at 60% or more.
All 104 Descript alternatives, rankedMore ways to weigh up Descript
Compare Descript
Questions, answered from the data
How much does Descript cost?
Paid plans start at $24 per user per month billed monthly ($16 billed yearly) on the Hobbyist plan, according to Descript's pricing page (checked Oct 14, 2026).
Does Descript have a free plan?
Yes: Descript has a free plan with 60 video minutes per month (checked Oct 14, 2026).
Does Descript have an API?
Yes, a public API is documented (checked Oct 14, 2026).
How does Descript score?
In our video editing tools ranking Descript scores 65/100, rank 49 of 85, based on 6 of 7 criteria (90% of the scorecard weight backed by verified data).
What are the best Descript alternatives?
By our scorecard the top-ranked alternatives are ScreenPal (100/100), Clipchamp (98/100) and Fliki (94/100).
More on Descript
Pricing last read Oct 14, 2026. Vendors change prices; the linked page is the final word.