
Pricing
Descript pricing 5 plans, checked Oct 14, 2026
Data checked Oct 14, 2026 against the vendors' own pages. How we verify
Descript publishes 5 plans: Free, Hobbyist, Creator, Business and Enterprise.
The cheapest paid plan is $24 per user per month billed monthly ($16 billed yearly) on the Hobbyist plan.
There is a free plan with 60 video minutes per month.
Paying yearly lowers the monthly price by up to 33% (Hobbyist 33%, Creator 31%, Business 23%).
Descript plans and limits
| Plan | Billed monthly | Billed yearly | Charged per | Published limits | Includes (vendor's words) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | Free | Free | per user |
|
|
| Hobbyist | $24 | $16 | per user |
|
|
| Creator | $35 | $24 | per user |
|
|
| Business | $65 | $50 | per user |
|
|
| Enterprise | Contact sales | Contact sales | Not stated | None stated |
|
Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.
What it costs in practice
| Criterion | Weight | Score | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry price | 28% | 21 | $24/month per seat billed monthly on Hobbyist; $16/month billed annually on Hobbyist (scored on the monthly price) source |
| Free plan or trial | 17% | 100 | Free plan (Free) source |
| Cost per user (team of 3)category criterion | 17% | 33 | $24 per user per month on Hobbyist (team of 3, billed monthly) source |
| Total | 90% covered6 of 7 criteria | 65/100 | Rank #49 in this category, based on 6 of 7 criteria |
Descript pricing vs alternatives
| # | Tool | Score | Coverage | From, billed monthly | From, billed yearly | Free plan | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 100/100 | 80%5 of 7 criteria | Not offered | $4/mo | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 2 | 98/100 | 65%4 of 7 criteria | Free | Free | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 3 | 94/100 | 75%5 of 7 criteria | Free | Free | Yes, 3 credits per month | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 4 | 94/100 | 75%5 of 7 criteria | Free | Free | Yes, 60 credits per month | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 5 | 93/100 | 65%4 of 7 criteria | Free | Free | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 6 | 92/100 | 90%6 of 7 criteria | $12/user/mo | $2.42/user/mo | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 7 | 92/100 | 65%4 of 7 criteria | Not offered | $6/mo | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 8 | 89/100 | 75%5 of 7 criteria | $9/mo | Not offered | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 |
Each value links the vendor page it was read from (hover for the check date). Coverage is the share of the scorecard's weight with verified data, and "N of M criteria" how many criteria the score is based on; a tool is ranked at 60% or more.
All Descript alternativesQuestions, answered from the data
How much does Descript cost per month?
The cheapest paid plan costs $24 per user per month billed monthly ($16 billed yearly) on the Hobbyist plan (pricing page checked Oct 14, 2026).
Is Descript free?
Descript has a free plan with 60 video minutes per month (pricing page checked Oct 14, 2026).
Is Descript cheaper billed yearly?
Yes: Hobbyist is $16 a month billed yearly instead of $24 (33% less), Creator is $24 a month billed yearly instead of $35 (31% less) and Business is $50 a month billed yearly instead of $65 (23% less).
Is Descript priced per user or per account?
Paid plans are charged per user.
Does Descript have custom or enterprise pricing?
Yes: Enterprise is quoted by sales; no price is published.