Newsletter platforms

Brevo vs Mailchimp compared on 11 fields

Brevo score
98/100 (5 of 8 criteria)
Mailchimp score
83/100 (5 of 8 criteria)
Fields won by Brevo
1 of 8
Fields won by Mailchimp
2 of 8
Brevo
Brevo homepage (screenshot)
Homepage captured Oct 14, 2026
Mailchimp
Mailchimp homepage (screenshot)
Homepage captured Oct 14, 2026

Data checked Oct 14, 2026 against the vendors' own pages. How we verify

Brevo and Mailchimp are both newsletter platforms. We compared them on 11 fields read from each vendor's own pages.

On the newsletter platforms scorecard Brevo scores 98/100 (5 of 8 criteria) and Mailchimp 83/100 (5 of 8 criteria) (ranks 3 and 10 in the category).

Of the 8 fields with a clear rule (lower price, higher count, yes over no), Brevo wins 1, Mailchimp wins 2 and 5 are ties.

Brevo scores clearly higher on verified features and entry price.

Mailchimp scores clearly higher on pricing transparency.

Side by side

A winner is declared only on rows with a clear rule and data on both sides.
Brevo vs Mailchimp, field by field
FieldBrevoMailchimpWinner and basis
Cheapest paid plan (billed monthly)✓ $9/month$13/monthBrevo
Free planYesYesTie
Free trialNoNoTie
Platforms supported1✓ 2Mailchimp
Integrations (vendor count)150✓ 300Mailchimp
Public APIYesYesTie
Automations / sequencesYesYesTie
A/B testingYes–No winner: needs a value on both sides
Landing pages and formsYes–No winner: needs a value on both sides
Segmentation and tagsYes–No winner: needs a value on both sides
Open and click analyticsYesYesTie

– = not published by the vendor, or not verified yet.

Sources: Brevo pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026; Mailchimp pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026. Each feature value links its own source on the tool's page.

Scorecard, criterion by criterion

Both tools on the newsletter platforms scorecard: score 0-100 and the numbers it was computed from.
Brevo vs Mailchimp scores
CriterionWeightBrevoMailchimp
Entry price25%100$9/month billed monthly on Starter (scored on the monthly price)85$13/month billed monthly on Essentials (scored on the monthly price)
Free plan or trial15%100Free plan (Free)100Free plan (Free)
Pricing transparency10%844 of 5 plans have a public price (1 "contact sales")1004 of 4 plans have a public price
Verified features15%1005 of 9 tracked features verified: automations / sequences, a/b testing, landing pages and forms, segmentation and tags, open and click analytics402 of 9 tracked features verified: automations / sequences, open and click analytics
API, integrations and export10%100public API, 150 integrations100public API, 300 integrations
Total score100%98/100 (5 of 8 criteria)83/100 (5 of 8 criteria)

Brevo plans

Brevo plans
PlanBilled monthlyBilled yearlyCharged perPublished limits
FreeFreeFreeper workspaceNone stated
Starter$9Not statedper workspace
  • 5,000 emails per month
Standard$18Not statedper workspace
  • 1 page
Professional$499Not statedper workspace
  • 150,000 emails per month
  • 10 users
EnterpriseContact salesContact salesNot statedNone stated

Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.

Brevo pricing in full

Mailchimp plans

Mailchimp plans
PlanBilled monthlyBilled yearlyCharged perPublished limits
FreeFreeFreeper workspaceNone stated
Essentials$13Not statedper workspace
  • 3 users
Standard$20Not statedper workspace
  • 6,000 emails per month
  • 5 users
Premium$350Not statedper workspace
  • Unlimited users

Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.

Mailchimp pricing in full

How we picked

Every one of these newsletter platforms is scored by the same 8 criteria (scorecard v2). Each criterion gives 0 to 100 from the vendor's published data; the total is the weighted average. A criterion without verified data is left out and the other weights are re-normalised. A tool with under 60% of the weight covered is listed as not ranked, and so is a tool with no verified price and fewer than 2 verified features (“needs a verified price”); each score shows how many criteria it is based on. The core criteria are the same in every category; the category criteria are specific to newsletter platforms. Nobody gets custom weights, including our own products.

Scorecard criteria and weights
CriterionWeightTypeWhat we measure
Entry price25%CorePrice per month of the cheapest paid plan, against the prices of other newsletter platforms on the same billing basis (monthly-billed prices against monthly, annual-billed against annual).Log scale. Billed monthly: $9/month or less = 100, $100 or more = 0. Only billed annually: $9/month or less = 100, $159 or more = 0. Only free plans = 100. Usage-priced and one-time plans are not scored.
Free plan or trial15%CoreWhether you can use the tool before paying: a free plan, or failing that a free trial, as shown on the vendor's pricing page.Free plan = 100. No free plan but a free trial = 60. The pricing page lists plans but shows neither = 0. No plans read = not scored.
Pricing transparency10%CoreHow much of the pricing is public: the share of plans with a published price ("contact sales" counts against), and whether there are at least 3 published tiers.80 x (plans with a public price / plans listed) + 20 x (public plans, up to 3) / 3. No plans read = not scored.
Verified features15%CoreHow many of the 9 features we track for this category the vendor's own pages verifiably show (paid subscriptions, automations / sequences, custom domain, referral programme, a/b testing, landing pages and forms, segmentation and tags, newsletter website, open and click analytics). This counts verified features only: a tool that documents less scores lower here, and only here.Linear: verified features / 5 (half the tracked list) x 100, capped at 100. No tracked feature verified = not scored.
API, integrations and export10%CoreWhether a public API exists, how many integrations the vendor states, and whether the vendor documents a way to export your data.Average of the parts with data: public API yes = 100, no = 0; integrations on a log scale (100 or more = 100); a documented data export = 100. None verified = not scored.
Cost at 1,000 subscribers10%CategoryMonthly price of the cheapest paid plan that allows at least 1,000 subscribers.Log scale: $5/month or less = 100, $100 or more = 0. Plans that do not state a subscriber limit are not used.
Free plan limits10%CategoryWhat the free plan allows: subscribers (full marks at 2,500), emails per month (full marks at 10,000).Each stated limit linear up to its full mark (unlimited = 100), averaged. Tools without a free plan, or whose free plan states none of these limits, are not scored here.
Paid subscriptions5%CategoryWhether writers can charge for subscriptions, and the platform's fee on that revenue.No paid subscriptions (verified) = 0; paid subscriptions: linear, 0% fee = 100, 15% or more = 0. Fee not stated = not scored.

Sources are vendor pricing pages, docs and changelogs, each with the date we checked it. We did not test these tools hands-on unless a listing says so. Full formulas: methodology.

Questions, answered from the data

Is Brevo cheaper than Mailchimp?

Brevo starts lower: $9 per month billed monthly on the Starter plan, against $13 per month billed monthly on the Essentials plan for Mailchimp. Check the unit: per-user and per-account prices scale differently.

Do Brevo and Mailchimp have free plans?

Both have a free plan.

Which supports more social platforms, Brevo or Mailchimp?

Mailchimp supports 2 platforms, Brevo 1.

Which is better, Brevo or Mailchimp?

On our scorecard Brevo scores higher (98/100 (5 of 8 criteria) vs 83/100 (5 of 8 criteria)). The score weighs every criterion the same way for every tool; check the rows above for the ones that matter to you.