

Video editing
Cubix vs pireel compared on 9 fields
- Cubix score
- 60/100 (5 of 7 criteria)
- pireel score
- 66/100 (4 of 7 criteria)
- Fields won by Cubix
- 2 of 6
- Fields won by pireel
- 1 of 6


Data checked Oct 14, 2026 against the vendors' own pages. How we verify
Cubix and pireel are both video editing tools. We compared them on 9 fields read from each vendor's own pages.
On the video editing tools scorecard Cubix scores 60/100 (5 of 7 criteria) and pireel 66/100 (4 of 7 criteria) (ranks 60 and 48 in the category).
Of the 6 fields with a clear rule (lower price, higher count, yes over no), Cubix wins 2, pireel wins 1 and 3 are ties.
Cubix scores clearly higher on verified features.
pireel scores clearly higher on free plan or trial.
Side by side
| Field | Winner and basis | ||
|---|---|---|---|
| Cheapest paid plan (billed monthly) | ✓ $19/month | $20/month | Cubix |
| Same plan, per month billed annually | – | $16.67/month | No winner: needs a value on both sides |
| Free plan | No | ✓ Yes | pireel |
| Free trial | ✓ Yes | No | Cubix |
| Trial length (days) | 7 | – | No winner: needs a value on both sides |
| AI assistant | Yes | Yes | Tie |
| Automatic captions | Yes | Yes | Tie |
| 4K export | Yes | Yes | Tie |
| No watermark on paid plans | Yes | – | No winner: needs a value on both sides |
– = not published by the vendor, or not verified yet.
Sources: Cubix pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026; pireel pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026. Each feature value links its own source on the tool's page.
Scorecard, criterion by criterion
| Criterion | Weight | ||
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry price | 25% | 38$19/month billed monthly on Creator (scored on the monthly price) | 35$20/month billed monthly on Pro; $16.67/month billed annually on Pro (scored on the monthly price) |
| Free plan or trial | 15% | 60Free trial (7 days), no free plan | 100Free plan (Free) |
| Pricing transparency | 10% | 932 of 2 plans have a public price | 1003 of 3 plans have a public price |
| Verified features | 15% | 804 of 10 tracked features verified: ai assistant, automatic captions, 4k export, no watermark on paid plans | 603 of 10 tracked features verified: ai assistant, automatic captions, 4k export |
| Storage | 10% | 5010 GB of storage on Creator ($19/month) | – |
| Total score | 100% | 60/100 (5 of 7 criteria) | 66/100 (4 of 7 criteria) |
Cubix plans
| Plan | Billed monthly | Billed yearly | Charged per | Published limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Creator | $19 | Not stated | per workspace |
|
| Pro | $39 | Not stated | per workspace |
|
Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.
pireel plans
| Plan | Billed monthly | Billed yearly | Charged per | Published limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | Free | Free | Not stated | None stated |
| Pro | $20 | $16.67 | per workspace |
|
| Max | $100 | $83.33 | per workspace |
|
Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.
How we picked
Every one of these video editing tools is scored by the same 7 criteria (scorecard v1). Each criterion gives 0 to 100 from the vendor's published data; the total is the weighted average. A criterion without verified data is left out and the other weights are re-normalised. A tool with under 60% of the weight covered is listed as not ranked, and so is a tool with no verified price and fewer than 2 verified features (“needs a verified price”); each score shows how many criteria it is based on. The core criteria are the same in every category; the category criteria are specific to video editing tools. Nobody gets custom weights, including our own products.
| Criterion | Weight | Type | What we measure |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry price | 25% | Core | Price per month of the cheapest paid plan, against the prices of other video editing tools on the same billing basis (monthly-billed prices against monthly, annual-billed against annual).Log scale. Billed monthly: $8.08/month or less = 100, $32.31 or more = 0. Only billed annually: $4/month or less = 100, $25 or more = 0. Only free plans = 100. Usage-priced and one-time plans are not scored. |
| Free plan or trial | 15% | Core | Whether you can use the tool before paying: a free plan, or failing that a free trial, as shown on the vendor's pricing page.Free plan = 100. No free plan but a free trial = 60. The pricing page lists plans but shows neither = 0. No plans read = not scored. |
| Pricing transparency | 10% | Core | How much of the pricing is public: the share of plans with a published price ("contact sales" counts against), and whether there are at least 3 published tiers.80 x (plans with a public price / plans listed) + 20 x (public plans, up to 3) / 3. No plans read = not scored. |
| Verified features | 15% | Core | How many of the 10 features we track for this category the vendor's own pages verifiably show (analytics, team access, templates, ai assistant, automatic captions, text-based editing, 4k export, no watermark on paid plans, stock media library, real-time collaboration). This counts verified features only: a tool that documents less scores lower here, and only here.Linear: verified features / 5 (half the tracked list) x 100, capped at 100. No tracked feature verified = not scored. |
| API, integrations and export | 10% | Core | Whether a public API exists, how many integrations the vendor states, and whether the vendor documents a way to export your data.Average of the parts with data: public API yes = 100, no = 0; integrations on a log scale (100 or more = 100); a documented data export = 100. None verified = not scored. |
| Cost per user (team of 3) | 15% | Category | Monthly price per user for a team of 3, on the cheapest paid plan that is priced per seat or states room for at least 3 users.Log scale: $8 per user or less = 100, $41.67 or more = 0. Plans that do not state a user limit are not used. No such plan = not scored. |
| Storage | 10% | Category | GB of storage included on the cheapest paid plan that states a limit.Log scale: 100 or more (or unlimited) = 100. No stated limit = not scored. |
Sources are vendor pricing pages, docs and changelogs, each with the date we checked it. We did not test these tools hands-on unless a listing says so. Full formulas: methodology.
Questions, answered from the data
Is Cubix cheaper than pireel?
Cubix starts lower: $19 per month billed monthly on the Creator plan, against $20 per month billed monthly ($16.67 billed yearly) on the Pro plan for pireel. Check the unit: per-user and per-account prices scale differently.
Do Cubix and pireel have free plans?
pireel has a free plan; Cubix does not.
Which is better, Cubix or pireel?
On our scorecard pireel scores higher (66/100 (4 of 7 criteria) vs 60/100 (5 of 7 criteria)). The score weighs every criterion the same way for every tool; check the rows above for the ones that matter to you.