Memberships and subscriptions

Disciple vs Givebutter compared on 10 fields

Disciple score
64/100 (6 of 7 criteria)
Givebutter score
86/100 (5 of 7 criteria)
Fields won by Disciple
0 of 5
Fields won by Givebutter
3 of 5
Disciple
Disciple homepage (screenshot)
Homepage captured Oct 14, 2026
Givebutter
Givebutter homepage (screenshot)
Homepage captured Oct 14, 2026

Data checked Oct 14, 2026 against the vendors' own pages. How we verify

Disciple and Givebutter are both membership platforms. We compared them on 10 fields read from each vendor's own pages.

On the membership platforms scorecard Disciple scores 64/100 (6 of 7 criteria) and Givebutter 86/100 (5 of 7 criteria) (ranks 17 and 7 in the category).

Of the 5 fields with a clear rule (lower price, higher count, yes over no), Disciple wins 0, Givebutter wins 3 and 2 are ties.

Givebutter scores clearly higher on entry price and free plan or trial.

Side by side

A winner is declared only on rows with a clear rule and data on both sides.
Disciple vs Givebutter, field by field
FieldDiscipleGivebutterWinner and basis
Cheapest paid plan (billed monthly)$599/month✓ $29/monthGivebutter
Same plan, per month billed annually$599/month–No winner: needs a value on both sides
Free planNo✓ YesGivebutter
Free trialYesYesTie
Integrations (vendor count)100✓ 1,000Givebutter
Public APIYes–No winner: needs a value on both sides
Data exportMembers, posts and analytics can be exported in fullFinancial reports, payout reconciliations and data exportsNo winner: no rule for this field
AnalyticsYesYesTie
Team accessYes–No winner: needs a value on both sides
AI assistant–YesNo winner: needs a value on both sides

– = not published by the vendor, or not verified yet.

Sources: Disciple pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026; Givebutter pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026. Each feature value links its own source on the tool's page.

Scorecard, criterion by criterion

Both tools on the membership platforms scorecard: score 0-100 and the numbers it was computed from.
Disciple vs Givebutter scores
CriterionWeightDiscipleGivebutter
Entry price25%0$599/month billed annually on Off the shelf Branded App; no monthly-billed price published (scored against annual-billed prices)60$29/month billed monthly on Givebutter Plus (scored on the monthly price)
Free plan or trial15%60Free trial, no free plan100Free plan (Free)
Pricing transparency10%1003 of 3 plans have a public price932 of 2 plans have a public price
Verified features15%1002 of 4 tracked features verified: analytics, team access1002 of 4 tracked features verified: analytics, ai assistant
API, integrations and export10%100public API, 100 integrations, documented data export1001,000 integrations, documented data export
Members per plan10%100Unlimited members on Off the shelf Branded App ($599/month)–
Total score100%64/100 (6 of 7 criteria)86/100 (5 of 7 criteria)

Disciple plans

Disciple plans
PlanBilled monthlyBilled yearlyCharged perPublished limits
Off the shelf Branded AppNot offered$599per workspace
  • 5 users
  • Unlimited members
Off the shelf Branded App ProNot offered$999per workspace
  • Unlimited users
  • Unlimited members
Business partnership OrganisationNot offered$3,400per workspaceNone stated

Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.

Disciple pricing in full

Givebutter plans

Givebutter plans
PlanBilled monthlyBilled yearlyCharged perPublished limits
FreeFreeFreeper workspace
  • Unlimited users
  • Unlimited subscribers
Givebutter Plus$29Not statedper workspaceNone stated

Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.

Givebutter pricing in full

How we picked

Every one of these membership platforms is scored by the same 7 criteria (scorecard v1). Each criterion gives 0 to 100 from the vendor's published data; the total is the weighted average. A criterion without verified data is left out and the other weights are re-normalised. A tool with under 60% of the weight covered is listed as not ranked, and so is a tool with no verified price and fewer than 2 verified features (“needs a verified price”); each score shows how many criteria it is based on. The core criteria are the same in every category; the category criteria are specific to membership platforms. Nobody gets custom weights, including our own products.

Scorecard criteria and weights
CriterionWeightTypeWhat we measure
Entry price25%CorePrice per month of the cheapest paid plan, against the prices of other membership platforms on the same billing basis (monthly-billed prices against monthly, annual-billed against annual).Log scale. Billed monthly: $15/month or less = 100, $79 or more = 0. Only billed annually: $15.83/month or less = 100, $89 or more = 0. Only free plans = 100. Usage-priced and one-time plans are not scored.
Free plan or trial15%CoreWhether you can use the tool before paying: a free plan, or failing that a free trial, as shown on the vendor's pricing page.Free plan = 100. No free plan but a free trial = 60. The pricing page lists plans but shows neither = 0. No plans read = not scored.
Pricing transparency10%CoreHow much of the pricing is public: the share of plans with a published price ("contact sales" counts against), and whether there are at least 3 published tiers.80 x (plans with a public price / plans listed) + 20 x (public plans, up to 3) / 3. No plans read = not scored.
Verified features15%CoreHow many of the 4 features we track for this category the vendor's own pages verifiably show (analytics, team access, templates, ai assistant). This counts verified features only: a tool that documents less scores lower here, and only here.Linear: verified features / 2 (half the tracked list) x 100, capped at 100. No tracked feature verified = not scored.
API, integrations and export10%CoreWhether a public API exists, how many integrations the vendor states, and whether the vendor documents a way to export your data.Average of the parts with data: public API yes = 100, no = 0; integrations on a log scale (100 or more = 100); a documented data export = 100. None verified = not scored.
Fee on sales15%CategoryThe percentage of each sale the platform keeps, as the vendor states it (the cheapest paid plan that states a fee).Linear, lower is better: 0% = 100, 10% or more = 0. No stated fee = not scored.
Members per plan10%CategoryMembers included on the cheapest paid plan that states a limit.Log scale: 1,000 or more (or unlimited) = 100. No stated limit = not scored.

Sources are vendor pricing pages, docs and changelogs, each with the date we checked it. We did not test these tools hands-on unless a listing says so. Full formulas: methodology.

Questions, answered from the data

Is Disciple cheaper than Givebutter?

Givebutter starts lower: $29 per month billed monthly on the Givebutter Plus plan, against $599 per month billed yearly on the Off the shelf Branded App plan for Disciple. Check the unit: per-user and per-account prices scale differently.

Do Disciple and Givebutter have free plans?

Givebutter has a free plan; Disciple does not.

Which is better, Disciple or Givebutter?

On our scorecard Givebutter scores higher (86/100 (5 of 7 criteria) vs 64/100 (6 of 7 criteria)). The score weighs every criterion the same way for every tool; check the rows above for the ones that matter to you.