Memberships and subscriptions

Donorbox vs Heartbeat compared on 9 fields

Donorbox score
62/100 (5 of 7 criteria)
Heartbeat score
67/100 (7 of 7 criteria)
Fields won by Donorbox
1 of 6
Fields won by Heartbeat
2 of 6
Donorbox
Donorbox homepage (screenshot)
Homepage captured Oct 14, 2026
Heartbeat
Heartbeat homepage (screenshot)
Homepage captured Oct 14, 2026

Data checked Oct 14, 2026 against the vendors' own pages. How we verify

Donorbox and Heartbeat are both membership platforms. We compared them on 9 fields read from each vendor's own pages.

On the membership platforms scorecard Donorbox scores 62/100 (5 of 7 criteria) and Heartbeat 67/100 (7 of 7 criteria) (ranks 19 and 14 in the category).

Of the 6 fields with a clear rule (lower price, higher count, yes over no), Donorbox wins 1, Heartbeat wins 2 and 3 are ties.

Donorbox scores clearly higher on free plan or trial.

Heartbeat scores clearly higher on pricing transparency and entry price.

Side by side

A winner is declared only on rows with a clear rule and data on both sides.
Donorbox vs Heartbeat, field by field
FieldDonorboxHeartbeatWinner and basis
Cheapest paid plan (billed monthly)$150/month✓ $49/monthHeartbeat
Same plan, per month billed annually–$40/monthNo winner: needs a value on both sides
Free plan✓ YesNoDonorbox
Free trialNo✓ YesHeartbeat
Trial length (days)–14No winner: needs a value on both sides
Public APIYesYesTie
AnalyticsYesYesTie
Team accessYes–No winner: needs a value on both sides
AI assistantYesYesTie

– = not published by the vendor, or not verified yet.

Sources: Donorbox pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026; Heartbeat pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026. Each feature value links its own source on the tool's page.

Scorecard, criterion by criterion

Both tools on the membership platforms scorecard: score 0-100 and the numbers it was computed from.
Donorbox vs Heartbeat scores
CriterionWeightDonorboxHeartbeat
Entry price25%0$150/month billed monthly on Pro (scored on the monthly price)29$49/month billed monthly on Build; $40/month billed annually on Build (scored on the monthly price)
Free plan or trial15%100Free plan (Standard)60Free trial (14 days), no free plan
Pricing transparency10%672 of 3 plans have a public price (1 "contact sales")1003 of 3 plans have a public price
Verified features15%1003 of 4 tracked features verified: analytics, team access, ai assistant1002 of 4 tracked features verified: analytics, ai assistant
API, integrations and export10%100public API100public API
Fee on sales15%–505% fee on sales on Build ($49/month)
Members per plan10%–85350 members on Build ($49/month)
Total score100%62/100 (5 of 7 criteria)67/100 (7 of 7 criteria)

Donorbox plans

Donorbox plans
PlanBilled monthlyBilled yearlyCharged perPublished limits
StandardFreeFreeper workspace
  • 5 users
Pro$150Not statedper workspace
  • 10 users
PremiumContact salesContact salesNot stated
  • 30 users

Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.

Donorbox pricing in full

Heartbeat plans

Heartbeat plans
PlanBilled monthlyBilled yearlyCharged perPublished limits
Build$49$40per workspace
  • 350 members
  • 5 transaction fee percent
Grow$149$124per workspace
  • 5,000 members
  • 2.5 transaction fee percent
Scale$849$766per workspace
  • Unlimited members
  • 1.25 transaction fee percent

Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.

Heartbeat pricing in full

How we picked

Every one of these membership platforms is scored by the same 7 criteria (scorecard v1). Each criterion gives 0 to 100 from the vendor's published data; the total is the weighted average. A criterion without verified data is left out and the other weights are re-normalised. A tool with under 60% of the weight covered is listed as not ranked, and so is a tool with no verified price and fewer than 2 verified features (“needs a verified price”); each score shows how many criteria it is based on. The core criteria are the same in every category; the category criteria are specific to membership platforms. Nobody gets custom weights, including our own products.

Scorecard criteria and weights
CriterionWeightTypeWhat we measure
Entry price25%CorePrice per month of the cheapest paid plan, against the prices of other membership platforms on the same billing basis (monthly-billed prices against monthly, annual-billed against annual).Log scale. Billed monthly: $15/month or less = 100, $79 or more = 0. Only billed annually: $15.83/month or less = 100, $89 or more = 0. Only free plans = 100. Usage-priced and one-time plans are not scored.
Free plan or trial15%CoreWhether you can use the tool before paying: a free plan, or failing that a free trial, as shown on the vendor's pricing page.Free plan = 100. No free plan but a free trial = 60. The pricing page lists plans but shows neither = 0. No plans read = not scored.
Pricing transparency10%CoreHow much of the pricing is public: the share of plans with a published price ("contact sales" counts against), and whether there are at least 3 published tiers.80 x (plans with a public price / plans listed) + 20 x (public plans, up to 3) / 3. No plans read = not scored.
Verified features15%CoreHow many of the 4 features we track for this category the vendor's own pages verifiably show (analytics, team access, templates, ai assistant). This counts verified features only: a tool that documents less scores lower here, and only here.Linear: verified features / 2 (half the tracked list) x 100, capped at 100. No tracked feature verified = not scored.
API, integrations and export10%CoreWhether a public API exists, how many integrations the vendor states, and whether the vendor documents a way to export your data.Average of the parts with data: public API yes = 100, no = 0; integrations on a log scale (100 or more = 100); a documented data export = 100. None verified = not scored.
Fee on sales15%CategoryThe percentage of each sale the platform keeps, as the vendor states it (the cheapest paid plan that states a fee).Linear, lower is better: 0% = 100, 10% or more = 0. No stated fee = not scored.
Members per plan10%CategoryMembers included on the cheapest paid plan that states a limit.Log scale: 1,000 or more (or unlimited) = 100. No stated limit = not scored.

Sources are vendor pricing pages, docs and changelogs, each with the date we checked it. We did not test these tools hands-on unless a listing says so. Full formulas: methodology.

Questions, answered from the data

Is Donorbox cheaper than Heartbeat?

Heartbeat starts lower: $49 per month billed monthly ($40 billed yearly) on the Build plan, against $150 per month billed monthly on the Pro plan for Donorbox. Check the unit: per-user and per-account prices scale differently.

Do Donorbox and Heartbeat have free plans?

Donorbox has a free plan; Heartbeat does not.

Which is better, Donorbox or Heartbeat?

On our scorecard Heartbeat scores higher (67/100 (7 of 7 criteria) vs 62/100 (5 of 7 criteria)). The score weighs every criterion the same way for every tool; check the rows above for the ones that matter to you.