Memberships and subscriptions

Heartbeat vs Wild Apricot compared on 10 fields

Heartbeat score
67/100 (7 of 7 criteria)
Wild Apricot score
61/100 (5 of 7 criteria)
Fields won by Heartbeat
2 of 7
Fields won by Wild Apricot
1 of 7
Heartbeat
Heartbeat homepage (screenshot)
Homepage captured Oct 14, 2026
Wild Apricot
Wild Apricot homepage (screenshot)
Homepage captured Oct 14, 2026

Data checked Oct 14, 2026 against the vendors' own pages. How we verify

Heartbeat and Wild Apricot are both membership platforms. We compared them on 10 fields read from each vendor's own pages.

On the membership platforms scorecard Heartbeat scores 67/100 (7 of 7 criteria) and Wild Apricot 61/100 (5 of 7 criteria) (ranks 14 and 21 in the category).

Of the 7 fields with a clear rule (lower price, higher count, yes over no), Heartbeat wins 2, Wild Apricot wins 1 and 4 are ties.

Heartbeat scores clearly higher on entry price and pricing transparency.

Side by side

A winner is declared only on rows with a clear rule and data on both sides.
Heartbeat vs Wild Apricot, field by field
FieldHeartbeatWild ApricotWinner and basis
Cheapest paid plan (billed monthly)✓ $49/month$66/monthHeartbeat
Same plan, per month billed annually✓ $40/month$59.40/monthHeartbeat
Free planNoNoTie
Free trialYesYesTie
Trial length (days)14✓ 60Wild Apricot
Integrations (vendor count)–1,600No winner: needs a value on both sides
Public APIYesYesTie
AnalyticsYesYesTie
Templates–YesNo winner: needs a value on both sides
AI assistantYes–No winner: needs a value on both sides

– = not published by the vendor, or not verified yet.

Sources: Heartbeat pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026; Wild Apricot pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026. Each feature value links its own source on the tool's page.

Scorecard, criterion by criterion

Both tools on the membership platforms scorecard: score 0-100 and the numbers it was computed from.
Heartbeat vs Wild Apricot scores
CriterionWeightHeartbeatWild Apricot
Entry price25%29$49/month billed monthly on Build; $40/month billed annually on Build (scored on the monthly price)11$66/month billed monthly on 100 Contacts; $59.40/month billed annually on 100 Contacts (scored on the monthly price)
Free plan or trial15%60Free trial (14 days), no free plan60Free trial (60 days), no free plan
Pricing transparency10%1003 of 3 plans have a public price871 of 1 plans have a public price
Verified features15%1002 of 4 tracked features verified: analytics, ai assistant1002 of 4 tracked features verified: analytics, templates
API, integrations and export10%100public API100public API, 1,600 integrations
Fee on sales15%505% fee on sales on Build ($49/month)–
Members per plan10%85350 members on Build ($49/month)–
Total score100%67/100 (7 of 7 criteria)61/100 (5 of 7 criteria)

Heartbeat plans

Heartbeat plans
PlanBilled monthlyBilled yearlyCharged perPublished limits
Build$49$40per workspace
  • 350 members
  • 5 transaction fee percent
Grow$149$124per workspace
  • 5,000 members
  • 2.5 transaction fee percent
Scale$849$766per workspace
  • Unlimited members
  • 1.25 transaction fee percent

Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.

Heartbeat pricing in full

Wild Apricot plans

Wild Apricot plans
PlanBilled monthlyBilled yearlyCharged perPublished limits
100 Contacts$66$59.40per workspace
  • 100 subscribers

Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.

Wild Apricot pricing in full

How we picked

Every one of these membership platforms is scored by the same 7 criteria (scorecard v1). Each criterion gives 0 to 100 from the vendor's published data; the total is the weighted average. A criterion without verified data is left out and the other weights are re-normalised. A tool with under 60% of the weight covered is listed as not ranked, and so is a tool with no verified price and fewer than 2 verified features (“needs a verified price”); each score shows how many criteria it is based on. The core criteria are the same in every category; the category criteria are specific to membership platforms. Nobody gets custom weights, including our own products.

Scorecard criteria and weights
CriterionWeightTypeWhat we measure
Entry price25%CorePrice per month of the cheapest paid plan, against the prices of other membership platforms on the same billing basis (monthly-billed prices against monthly, annual-billed against annual).Log scale. Billed monthly: $15/month or less = 100, $79 or more = 0. Only billed annually: $15.83/month or less = 100, $89 or more = 0. Only free plans = 100. Usage-priced and one-time plans are not scored.
Free plan or trial15%CoreWhether you can use the tool before paying: a free plan, or failing that a free trial, as shown on the vendor's pricing page.Free plan = 100. No free plan but a free trial = 60. The pricing page lists plans but shows neither = 0. No plans read = not scored.
Pricing transparency10%CoreHow much of the pricing is public: the share of plans with a published price ("contact sales" counts against), and whether there are at least 3 published tiers.80 x (plans with a public price / plans listed) + 20 x (public plans, up to 3) / 3. No plans read = not scored.
Verified features15%CoreHow many of the 4 features we track for this category the vendor's own pages verifiably show (analytics, team access, templates, ai assistant). This counts verified features only: a tool that documents less scores lower here, and only here.Linear: verified features / 2 (half the tracked list) x 100, capped at 100. No tracked feature verified = not scored.
API, integrations and export10%CoreWhether a public API exists, how many integrations the vendor states, and whether the vendor documents a way to export your data.Average of the parts with data: public API yes = 100, no = 0; integrations on a log scale (100 or more = 100); a documented data export = 100. None verified = not scored.
Fee on sales15%CategoryThe percentage of each sale the platform keeps, as the vendor states it (the cheapest paid plan that states a fee).Linear, lower is better: 0% = 100, 10% or more = 0. No stated fee = not scored.
Members per plan10%CategoryMembers included on the cheapest paid plan that states a limit.Log scale: 1,000 or more (or unlimited) = 100. No stated limit = not scored.

Sources are vendor pricing pages, docs and changelogs, each with the date we checked it. We did not test these tools hands-on unless a listing says so. Full formulas: methodology.

Questions, answered from the data

Is Heartbeat cheaper than Wild Apricot?

Heartbeat starts lower: $49 per month billed monthly ($40 billed yearly) on the Build plan, against $66 per month billed monthly ($59.40 billed yearly) on the 100 Contacts plan for Wild Apricot. Check the unit: per-user and per-account prices scale differently.

Do Heartbeat and Wild Apricot have free plans?

Neither has a free plan.

Which is better, Heartbeat or Wild Apricot?

On our scorecard Heartbeat scores higher (67/100 (7 of 7 criteria) vs 61/100 (5 of 7 criteria)). The score weighs every criterion the same way for every tool; check the rows above for the ones that matter to you.