Digital product stores

Fourthwall vs Shopify compared on 11 fields

Fourthwall score
93/100 (4 of 7 criteria)
Shopify score
63/100 (5 of 7 criteria)
Fields won by Fourthwall
2 of 6
Fields won by Shopify
0 of 6
Fourthwall
Fourthwall homepage (screenshot)
Homepage captured Oct 14, 2026
Shopify
Shopify homepage (screenshot)
Homepage captured Oct 14, 2026

Data checked Oct 14, 2026 against the vendors' own pages. How we verify

Fourthwall and Shopify are both digital product store tools. We compared them on 11 fields read from each vendor's own pages.

On the digital product store tools scorecard Fourthwall scores 93/100 (4 of 7 criteria) and Shopify 63/100 (5 of 7 criteria) (ranks 2 and 10 in the category).

Of the 6 fields with a clear rule (lower price, higher count, yes over no), Fourthwall wins 2, Shopify wins 0 and 4 are ties.

Fourthwall scores clearly higher on free plan or trial and entry price.

Side by side

A winner is declared only on rows with a clear rule and data on both sides.
Fourthwall vs Shopify, field by field
FieldFourthwallShopifyWinner and basis
Cheapest paid plan (billed monthly)✓ $15/month$25/monthFourthwall
Same plan, per month billed annually–$19/monthNo winner: needs a value on both sides
Free plan✓ YesNoFourthwall
Free trialNoNoTie
Platforms supported3–No winner: needs a value on both sides
Integrations (vendor count)–21,000No winner: needs a value on both sides
Public API–YesNo winner: needs a value on both sides
AnalyticsYesYesTie
Team accessYesYesTie
Templates–YesNo winner: needs a value on both sides
AI assistantYesYesTie

– = not published by the vendor, or not verified yet.

Sources: Fourthwall pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026; Shopify pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026. Each feature value links its own source on the tool's page.

Scorecard, criterion by criterion

Both tools on the digital product store tools scorecard: score 0-100 and the numbers it was computed from.
Fourthwall vs Shopify scores
CriterionWeightFourthwallShopify
Entry price25%84$15/month billed monthly on Pro (scored on the monthly price)48$25/month billed monthly on Basic; $19/month billed annually on Basic (scored on the monthly price)
Free plan or trial15%100Free plan (Free)0No free plan or free trial shown on the pricing page
Pricing transparency10%932 of 2 plans have a public price1004 of 4 plans have a public price
Verified features15%1003 of 4 tracked features verified: analytics, team access, ai assistant1004 of 4 tracked features verified: analytics, team access, templates, ai assistant
API, integrations and export10%–100public API, 21,000 integrations
Total score100%93/100 (4 of 7 criteria)63/100 (5 of 7 criteria)

Fourthwall plans

Fourthwall plans
PlanBilled monthlyBilled yearlyCharged perPublished limits
FreeFreeFreeper workspace
  • 5 storage gb
Pro$15Not statedper workspace
  • 100 storage gb
  • Unlimited users

Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.

Fourthwall pricing in full

Shopify plans

Shopify plans
PlanBilled monthlyBilled yearlyCharged perPublished limits
Basic$25$19per workspaceNone stated
Grow$65$49per workspace
  • 5 users
Advanced$399$299per workspace
  • 15 users
Plus$2,300Not statedper workspace
  • Unlimited users

Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.

Shopify pricing in full

How we picked

Every one of these digital product store tools is scored by the same 7 criteria (scorecard v1). Each criterion gives 0 to 100 from the vendor's published data; the total is the weighted average. A criterion without verified data is left out and the other weights are re-normalised. A tool with under 60% of the weight covered is listed as not ranked, and so is a tool with no verified price and fewer than 2 verified features (“needs a verified price”); each score shows how many criteria it is based on. The core criteria are the same in every category; the category criteria are specific to digital product store tools. Nobody gets custom weights, including our own products.

Scorecard criteria and weights
CriterionWeightTypeWhat we measure
Entry price25%CorePrice per month of the cheapest paid plan, against the prices of other digital product store tools on the same billing basis (monthly-billed prices against monthly, annual-billed against annual).Log scale. Billed monthly: $12.09/month or less = 100, $48.37 or more = 0. Only billed annually: $8.85/month or less = 100, $35.39 or more = 0. Only free plans = 100. Usage-priced and one-time plans are not scored.
Free plan or trial15%CoreWhether you can use the tool before paying: a free plan, or failing that a free trial, as shown on the vendor's pricing page.Free plan = 100. No free plan but a free trial = 60. The pricing page lists plans but shows neither = 0. No plans read = not scored.
Pricing transparency10%CoreHow much of the pricing is public: the share of plans with a published price ("contact sales" counts against), and whether there are at least 3 published tiers.80 x (plans with a public price / plans listed) + 20 x (public plans, up to 3) / 3. No plans read = not scored.
Verified features15%CoreHow many of the 4 features we track for this category the vendor's own pages verifiably show (analytics, team access, templates, ai assistant). This counts verified features only: a tool that documents less scores lower here, and only here.Linear: verified features / 2 (half the tracked list) x 100, capped at 100. No tracked feature verified = not scored.
API, integrations and export10%CoreWhether a public API exists, how many integrations the vendor states, and whether the vendor documents a way to export your data.Average of the parts with data: public API yes = 100, no = 0; integrations on a log scale (100 or more = 100); a documented data export = 100. None verified = not scored.
Fee on sales15%CategoryThe percentage of each sale the platform keeps, as the vendor states it (the cheapest paid plan that states a fee).Linear, lower is better: 0% = 100, 10% or more = 0. No stated fee = not scored.
Products per plan10%CategoryProducts for sale included on the cheapest paid plan that states a limit.Log scale: 100 or more (or unlimited) = 100. No stated limit = not scored.

Sources are vendor pricing pages, docs and changelogs, each with the date we checked it. We did not test these tools hands-on unless a listing says so. Full formulas: methodology.

Questions, answered from the data

Is Fourthwall cheaper than Shopify?

Fourthwall starts lower: $15 per month billed monthly on the Pro plan, against $25 per month billed monthly ($19 billed yearly) on the Basic plan for Shopify. Check the unit: per-user and per-account prices scale differently.

Do Fourthwall and Shopify have free plans?

Fourthwall has a free plan; Shopify does not.

Which is better, Fourthwall or Shopify?

On our scorecard Fourthwall scores higher (93/100 (4 of 7 criteria) vs 63/100 (5 of 7 criteria)). The score weighs every criterion the same way for every tool; check the rows above for the ones that matter to you.