Text to speech

Cartesia vs ElevenLabs compared on 13 fields

Cartesia score
98/100 (5 of 8 criteria)
ElevenLabs score
93/100 (8 of 8 criteria)
Fields won by Cartesia
1 of 7
Fields won by ElevenLabs
0 of 7
Cartesia
Cartesia homepage (screenshot)
Homepage captured Oct 14, 2026
ElevenLabs
ElevenLabs homepage (screenshot)
Homepage captured Oct 14, 2026

Data checked Oct 14, 2026 against the vendors' own pages. How we verify

Cartesia and ElevenLabs are both text to speech tools. We compared them on 13 fields read from each vendor's own pages.

On the text to speech tools scorecard Cartesia scores 98/100 (5 of 8 criteria) and ElevenLabs 93/100 (8 of 8 criteria) (ranks 3 and 5 in the category).

Of the 7 fields with a clear rule (lower price, higher count, yes over no), Cartesia wins 1, ElevenLabs wins 0 and 6 are ties.

Side by side

A winner is declared only on rows with a clear rule and data on both sides.
Cartesia vs ElevenLabs, field by field
FieldCartesiaElevenLabsWinner and basis
Cheapest paid plan (billed monthly)✓ $5/month$6/monthCartesia
Same plan, per month billed annually–$5/monthNo winner: needs a value on both sides
Free planYesYesTie
Free trialNoNoTie
Platforms supported–1No winner: needs a value on both sides
Public APIYesYesTie
Stock voices available–10,000No winner: needs a value on both sides
Languages supported–90No winner: needs a value on both sides
Voice cloningYesYesTie
Commercial use on paid plansYesYesTie
Text-to-speech APIYesYesTie
AI dubbing / translation–YesNo winner: needs a value on both sides
Team access–YesNo winner: needs a value on both sides

– = not published by the vendor, or not verified yet.

Sources: Cartesia pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026; ElevenLabs pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026. Each feature value links its own source on the tool's page.

Scorecard, criterion by criterion

Both tools on the text to speech tools scorecard: score 0-100 and the numbers it was computed from.
Cartesia vs ElevenLabs scores
CriterionWeightCartesiaElevenLabs
Entry price25%100$5/month billed monthly on Pro (scored on the monthly price)100$6/month billed monthly on Starter; $5/month billed annually on Starter (scored on the monthly price)
Free plan or trial15%100Free plan (Free)100Free plan (Free)
Pricing transparency10%844 of 5 plans have a public price (1 "contact sales")896 of 7 plans have a public price (1 "contact sales")
Verified features15%1003 of 5 tracked features verified: voice cloning, commercial use on paid plans, text-to-speech api1005 of 5 tracked features verified: voice cloning, commercial use on paid plans, text-to-speech api, ai dubbing / translation, team access
API, integrations and export10%100public API100public API
Languages10%–9090 languages
Voice library10%–10010,000 stock voices
Cost per user (team of 3)5%–0$99.67 per user per month on Scale (team of 3, billed monthly)
Total score100%98/100 (5 of 8 criteria)93/100 (8 of 8 criteria)

Cartesia plans

Cartesia plans
PlanBilled monthlyBilled yearlyCharged perPublished limits
FreeFreeFreeper workspaceNone stated
Pro$5Not statedper workspaceNone stated
Startup$49Not statedper workspaceNone stated
Scale$299Not statedper workspaceNone stated
EnterpriseContact salesContact salesNot statedNone stated

Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.

Cartesia pricing in full

ElevenLabs plans

ElevenLabs plans
PlanBilled monthlyBilled yearlyCharged perPublished limits
FreeFreeFreeper workspace
  • 10,000 credits per month
Starter$6$5per workspace
  • 30,000 credits per month
Creator$22$18.33per workspace
  • 121,000 credits per month
Pro$99$82.50per workspace
  • 600,000 credits per month
Scale$299$249.17per workspace
  • 1,800,000 credits per month
  • 3 users
Business$990$825per workspace
  • 6,000,000 credits per month
  • 10 users
EnterpriseContact salesContact salesNot statedNone stated

Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.

ElevenLabs pricing in full

How we picked

Every one of these text to speech tools is scored by the same 8 criteria (scorecard v1). Each criterion gives 0 to 100 from the vendor's published data; the total is the weighted average. A criterion without verified data is left out and the other weights are re-normalised. A tool with under 60% of the weight covered is listed as not ranked, and so is a tool with no verified price and fewer than 2 verified features (“needs a verified price”); each score shows how many criteria it is based on. The core criteria are the same in every category; the category criteria are specific to text to speech tools. Nobody gets custom weights, including our own products.

Scorecard criteria and weights
CriterionWeightTypeWhat we measure
Entry price25%CorePrice per month of the cheapest paid plan, against the prices of other text to speech tools on the same billing basis (monthly-billed prices against monthly, annual-billed against annual).Log scale. Billed monthly: $8/month or less = 100, $99 or more = 0. Only billed annually: $5/month or less = 100, $28 or more = 0. Only free plans = 100. Usage-priced and one-time plans are not scored.
Free plan or trial15%CoreWhether you can use the tool before paying: a free plan, or failing that a free trial, as shown on the vendor's pricing page.Free plan = 100. No free plan but a free trial = 60. The pricing page lists plans but shows neither = 0. No plans read = not scored.
Pricing transparency10%CoreHow much of the pricing is public: the share of plans with a published price ("contact sales" counts against), and whether there are at least 3 published tiers.80 x (plans with a public price / plans listed) + 20 x (public plans, up to 3) / 3. No plans read = not scored.
Verified features15%CoreHow many of the 5 features we track for this category the vendor's own pages verifiably show (voice cloning, commercial use on paid plans, text-to-speech api, ai dubbing / translation, team access). This counts verified features only: a tool that documents less scores lower here, and only here.Linear: verified features / 3 (half the tracked list) x 100, capped at 100. No tracked feature verified = not scored.
API, integrations and export10%CoreWhether a public API exists, how many integrations the vendor states, and whether the vendor documents a way to export your data.Average of the parts with data: public API yes = 100, no = 0; integrations on a log scale (100 or more = 100); a documented data export = 100. None verified = not scored.
Languages10%CategoryNumber of languages the vendor says it offers.Linear scale: 100 or more = 100. No stated count = not scored.
Voice library10%CategoryNumber of stock voices the vendor says it offers.Log scale: 1,000 or more = 100. No stated count = not scored.
Cost per user (team of 3)5%CategoryMonthly price per user for a team of 3, on the cheapest paid plan that is priced per seat or states room for at least 3 users.Log scale: $8.25 per user or less = 100, $99.67 or more = 0. Plans that do not state a user limit are not used. No such plan = not scored.

Sources are vendor pricing pages, docs and changelogs, each with the date we checked it. We did not test these tools hands-on unless a listing says so. Full formulas: methodology.

Questions, answered from the data

Is Cartesia cheaper than ElevenLabs?

Cartesia starts lower: $5 per month billed monthly on the Pro plan, against $6 per month billed monthly ($5 billed yearly) on the Starter plan for ElevenLabs. Check the unit: per-user and per-account prices scale differently.

Do Cartesia and ElevenLabs have free plans?

Both have a free plan.

Which is better, Cartesia or ElevenLabs?

On our scorecard Cartesia scores higher (98/100 (5 of 8 criteria) vs 93/100 (8 of 8 criteria)). The score weighs every criterion the same way for every tool; check the rows above for the ones that matter to you.