

Newsletter platforms
Cocomail vs Klaviyo compared on 12 fields
- Cocomail score
- 79/100 (6 of 8 criteria)
- Klaviyo score
- 84/100 (6 of 8 criteria)
- Fields won by Cocomail
- 0 of 6
- Fields won by Klaviyo
- 1 of 6


Data checked Oct 14, 2026 against the vendors' own pages. How we verify
Cocomail and Klaviyo are both newsletter platforms. We compared them on 12 fields read from each vendor's own pages.
On the newsletter platforms scorecard Cocomail scores 79/100 (6 of 8 criteria) and Klaviyo 84/100 (6 of 8 criteria) (ranks 13 and 9 in the category).
Of the 6 fields with a clear rule (lower price, higher count, yes over no), Cocomail wins 0, Klaviyo wins 1 and 5 are ties.
Cocomail scores clearly higher on pricing transparency.
Klaviyo scores clearly higher on free plan or trial.
Side by side
| Field | Winner and basis | ||
|---|---|---|---|
| Cheapest paid plan (billed monthly) | $5/month | – | No winner: needs a value on both sides |
| Same plan, per month billed annually | $4/month | – | No winner: needs a value on both sides |
| Free plan | No | ✓ Yes | Klaviyo |
| Free trial | No | No | Tie |
| Platforms supported | – | 1 | No winner: needs a value on both sides |
| Integrations (vendor count) | – | 350 | No winner: needs a value on both sides |
| Public API | Yes | Yes | Tie |
| Automations / sequences | – | Yes | No winner: needs a value on both sides |
| Custom domain | Yes | – | No winner: needs a value on both sides |
| Landing pages and forms | Yes | Yes | Tie |
| Segmentation and tags | Yes | Yes | Tie |
| Open and click analytics | Yes | Yes | Tie |
– = not published by the vendor, or not verified yet.
Sources: Cocomail pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026; Klaviyo pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026. Each feature value links its own source on the tool's page.
Scorecard, criterion by criterion
| Criterion | Weight | ||
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry price | 25% | 100$5/month billed monthly on Starter; $4/month billed annually on Starter (scored on the monthly price) | 100Free: the pricing page lists no paid plan |
| Free plan or trial | 15% | 0No free plan or free trial shown on the pricing page | 100Free plan (Free) |
| Pricing transparency | 10% | 1003 of 3 plans have a public price | 871 of 1 plans have a public price |
| Verified features | 15% | 804 of 9 tracked features verified: custom domain, landing pages and forms, segmentation and tags, open and click analytics | 804 of 9 tracked features verified: automations / sequences, landing pages and forms, segmentation and tags, open and click analytics |
| API, integrations and export | 10% | 100public API | 100public API, 350 integrations |
| Cost at 1,000 subscribers | 10% | 100$5 per month for 1,000 subscribers on Starter (billed monthly) | – |
| Free plan limits | 10% | – | 8Free plan: 250 subscribers, 500 emails per month |
| Total score | 100% | 79/100 (6 of 8 criteria) | 84/100 (6 of 8 criteria) |
Cocomail plans
| Plan | Billed monthly | Billed yearly | Charged per | Published limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starter | $5 | $4 | per workspace |
|
| Creator | $15 | $12 | per workspace |
|
| Pro | $39 | $32 | per workspace |
|
Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.
Klaviyo plans
| Plan | Billed monthly | Billed yearly | Charged per | Published limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | Free | Free | per workspace |
|
Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.
How we picked
Every one of these newsletter platforms is scored by the same 8 criteria (scorecard v2). Each criterion gives 0 to 100 from the vendor's published data; the total is the weighted average. A criterion without verified data is left out and the other weights are re-normalised. A tool with under 60% of the weight covered is listed as not ranked, and so is a tool with no verified price and fewer than 2 verified features (“needs a verified price”); each score shows how many criteria it is based on. The core criteria are the same in every category; the category criteria are specific to newsletter platforms. Nobody gets custom weights, including our own products.
| Criterion | Weight | Type | What we measure |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry price | 25% | Core | Price per month of the cheapest paid plan, against the prices of other newsletter platforms on the same billing basis (monthly-billed prices against monthly, annual-billed against annual).Log scale. Billed monthly: $9/month or less = 100, $100 or more = 0. Only billed annually: $9/month or less = 100, $159 or more = 0. Only free plans = 100. Usage-priced and one-time plans are not scored. |
| Free plan or trial | 15% | Core | Whether you can use the tool before paying: a free plan, or failing that a free trial, as shown on the vendor's pricing page.Free plan = 100. No free plan but a free trial = 60. The pricing page lists plans but shows neither = 0. No plans read = not scored. |
| Pricing transparency | 10% | Core | How much of the pricing is public: the share of plans with a published price ("contact sales" counts against), and whether there are at least 3 published tiers.80 x (plans with a public price / plans listed) + 20 x (public plans, up to 3) / 3. No plans read = not scored. |
| Verified features | 15% | Core | How many of the 9 features we track for this category the vendor's own pages verifiably show (paid subscriptions, automations / sequences, custom domain, referral programme, a/b testing, landing pages and forms, segmentation and tags, newsletter website, open and click analytics). This counts verified features only: a tool that documents less scores lower here, and only here.Linear: verified features / 5 (half the tracked list) x 100, capped at 100. No tracked feature verified = not scored. |
| API, integrations and export | 10% | Core | Whether a public API exists, how many integrations the vendor states, and whether the vendor documents a way to export your data.Average of the parts with data: public API yes = 100, no = 0; integrations on a log scale (100 or more = 100); a documented data export = 100. None verified = not scored. |
| Cost at 1,000 subscribers | 10% | Category | Monthly price of the cheapest paid plan that allows at least 1,000 subscribers.Log scale: $5/month or less = 100, $100 or more = 0. Plans that do not state a subscriber limit are not used. |
| Free plan limits | 10% | Category | What the free plan allows: subscribers (full marks at 2,500), emails per month (full marks at 10,000).Each stated limit linear up to its full mark (unlimited = 100), averaged. Tools without a free plan, or whose free plan states none of these limits, are not scored here. |
| Paid subscriptions | 5% | Category | Whether writers can charge for subscriptions, and the platform's fee on that revenue.No paid subscriptions (verified) = 0; paid subscriptions: linear, 0% fee = 100, 15% or more = 0. Fee not stated = not scored. |
Sources are vendor pricing pages, docs and changelogs, each with the date we checked it. We did not test these tools hands-on unless a listing says so. Full formulas: methodology.
Questions, answered from the data
Do Cocomail and Klaviyo have free plans?
Klaviyo has a free plan; Cocomail does not.
Which is better, Cocomail or Klaviyo?
On our scorecard Klaviyo scores higher (84/100 (6 of 8 criteria) vs 79/100 (6 of 8 criteria)). The score weighs every criterion the same way for every tool; check the rows above for the ones that matter to you.