Newsletter platforms

Campaign Monitor vs Cocomail compared on 13 fields

Campaign Monitor score
not ranked
Cocomail score
79/100 (6 of 8 criteria)
Fields won by Campaign Monitor
1 of 6
Fields won by Cocomail
0 of 6
Campaign Monitor
Campaign Monitor homepage (screenshot)
Homepage captured Oct 14, 2026
Cocomail
Cocomail homepage (screenshot)
Homepage captured Oct 14, 2026

Data checked Oct 14, 2026 against the vendors' own pages. How we verify

Campaign Monitor and Cocomail are both newsletter platforms. We compared them on 13 fields read from each vendor's own pages.

On the newsletter platforms scorecard Campaign Monitor scores not ranked and Cocomail 79/100 (6 of 8 criteria).

Of the 6 fields with a clear rule (lower price, higher count, yes over no), Campaign Monitor wins 1, Cocomail wins 0 and 5 are ties.

Campaign Monitor scores clearly higher on free plan or trial and verified features.

Cocomail scores clearly higher on pricing transparency.

Side by side

A winner is declared only on rows with a clear rule and data on both sides.
Campaign Monitor vs Cocomail, field by field
FieldCampaign MonitorCocomailWinner and basis
Cheapest paid plan (billed monthly)–$5/monthNo winner: needs a value on both sides
Same plan, per month billed annually–$4/monthNo winner: needs a value on both sides
Free planNoNoTie
Free trial✓ YesNoCampaign Monitor
Trial length (days)30–No winner: needs a value on both sides
Integrations (vendor count)250–No winner: needs a value on both sides
Public APIYesYesTie
Automations / sequencesYes–No winner: needs a value on both sides
Custom domain–YesNo winner: needs a value on both sides
A/B testingYes–No winner: needs a value on both sides
Landing pages and formsYesYesTie
Segmentation and tagsYesYesTie
Open and click analyticsYesYesTie

– = not published by the vendor, or not verified yet.

Sources: Campaign Monitor pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026; Cocomail pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026. Each feature value links its own source on the tool's page.

Scorecard, criterion by criterion

Both tools on the newsletter platforms scorecard: score 0-100 and the numbers it was computed from.
Campaign Monitor vs Cocomail scores
CriterionWeightCampaign MonitorCocomail
Entry price25%–100$5/month billed monthly on Starter; $4/month billed annually on Starter (scored on the monthly price)
Free plan or trial15%60Free trial (30 days), no free plan0No free plan or free trial shown on the pricing page
Pricing transparency10%00 of 1 plans have a public price (1 "contact sales")1003 of 3 plans have a public price
Verified features15%1005 of 9 tracked features verified: automations / sequences, a/b testing, landing pages and forms, segmentation and tags, open and click analytics804 of 9 tracked features verified: custom domain, landing pages and forms, segmentation and tags, open and click analytics
API, integrations and export10%100public API, 250 integrations100public API
Cost at 1,000 subscribers10%–100$5 per month for 1,000 subscribers on Starter (billed monthly)
Total score100%not ranked79/100 (6 of 8 criteria)

Campaign Monitor plans

Campaign Monitor plans
PlanBilled monthlyBilled yearlyCharged perPublished limits
EnterpriseContact salesContact salesper workspaceNone stated

Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.

Campaign Monitor pricing in full

Cocomail plans

Cocomail plans
PlanBilled monthlyBilled yearlyCharged perPublished limits
Starter$5$4per workspace
  • 2,500 emails per month
  • Unlimited subscribers
Creator$15$12per workspace
  • 25,000 emails per month
  • Unlimited subscribers
Pro$39$32per workspace
  • 100,000 emails per month
  • Unlimited subscribers

Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.

Cocomail pricing in full

How we picked

Every one of these newsletter platforms is scored by the same 8 criteria (scorecard v2). Each criterion gives 0 to 100 from the vendor's published data; the total is the weighted average. A criterion without verified data is left out and the other weights are re-normalised. A tool with under 60% of the weight covered is listed as not ranked, and so is a tool with no verified price and fewer than 2 verified features (“needs a verified price”); each score shows how many criteria it is based on. The core criteria are the same in every category; the category criteria are specific to newsletter platforms. Nobody gets custom weights, including our own products.

Scorecard criteria and weights
CriterionWeightTypeWhat we measure
Entry price25%CorePrice per month of the cheapest paid plan, against the prices of other newsletter platforms on the same billing basis (monthly-billed prices against monthly, annual-billed against annual).Log scale. Billed monthly: $9/month or less = 100, $100 or more = 0. Only billed annually: $9/month or less = 100, $159 or more = 0. Only free plans = 100. Usage-priced and one-time plans are not scored.
Free plan or trial15%CoreWhether you can use the tool before paying: a free plan, or failing that a free trial, as shown on the vendor's pricing page.Free plan = 100. No free plan but a free trial = 60. The pricing page lists plans but shows neither = 0. No plans read = not scored.
Pricing transparency10%CoreHow much of the pricing is public: the share of plans with a published price ("contact sales" counts against), and whether there are at least 3 published tiers.80 x (plans with a public price / plans listed) + 20 x (public plans, up to 3) / 3. No plans read = not scored.
Verified features15%CoreHow many of the 9 features we track for this category the vendor's own pages verifiably show (paid subscriptions, automations / sequences, custom domain, referral programme, a/b testing, landing pages and forms, segmentation and tags, newsletter website, open and click analytics). This counts verified features only: a tool that documents less scores lower here, and only here.Linear: verified features / 5 (half the tracked list) x 100, capped at 100. No tracked feature verified = not scored.
API, integrations and export10%CoreWhether a public API exists, how many integrations the vendor states, and whether the vendor documents a way to export your data.Average of the parts with data: public API yes = 100, no = 0; integrations on a log scale (100 or more = 100); a documented data export = 100. None verified = not scored.
Cost at 1,000 subscribers10%CategoryMonthly price of the cheapest paid plan that allows at least 1,000 subscribers.Log scale: $5/month or less = 100, $100 or more = 0. Plans that do not state a subscriber limit are not used.
Free plan limits10%CategoryWhat the free plan allows: subscribers (full marks at 2,500), emails per month (full marks at 10,000).Each stated limit linear up to its full mark (unlimited = 100), averaged. Tools without a free plan, or whose free plan states none of these limits, are not scored here.
Paid subscriptions5%CategoryWhether writers can charge for subscriptions, and the platform's fee on that revenue.No paid subscriptions (verified) = 0; paid subscriptions: linear, 0% fee = 100, 15% or more = 0. Fee not stated = not scored.

Sources are vendor pricing pages, docs and changelogs, each with the date we checked it. We did not test these tools hands-on unless a listing says so. Full formulas: methodology.

Questions, answered from the data

Do Campaign Monitor and Cocomail have free plans?

Neither has a free plan.