Newsletter platforms

EmailOctopus vs notifuse compared on 13 fields

EmailOctopus score
92/100 (6 of 8 criteria)
notifuse score
93/100 (6 of 8 criteria)
Fields won by EmailOctopus
1 of 6
Fields won by notifuse
0 of 6
EmailOctopus
EmailOctopus homepage (screenshot)
Homepage captured Oct 14, 2026
notifuse
notifuse homepage (screenshot)
Homepage captured Oct 14, 2026

Data checked Oct 14, 2026 against the vendors' own pages. How we verify

EmailOctopus and notifuse are both newsletter platforms. We compared them on 13 fields read from each vendor's own pages.

On the newsletter platforms scorecard EmailOctopus scores 92/100 (6 of 8 criteria) and notifuse 93/100 (6 of 8 criteria) (ranks 5 and 4 in the category).

Of the 6 fields with a clear rule (lower price, higher count, yes over no), EmailOctopus wins 1, notifuse wins 0 and 5 are ties.

EmailOctopus scores clearly higher on entry price.

notifuse scores clearly higher on verified features.

Side by side

A winner is declared only on rows with a clear rule and data on both sides.
EmailOctopus vs notifuse, field by field
FieldEmailOctopusnotifuseWinner and basis
Cheapest paid plan (billed monthly)✓ $9/month$16/monthEmailOctopus
Same plan, per month billed annually$9/month–No winner: needs a value on both sides
Free planYesYesTie
Free trialNoNoTie
Integrations (vendor count)1,000–No winner: needs a value on both sides
Public APIYesYesTie
Data export–Complete data export, allowing a move between cloud and self-hostedNo winner: needs a value on both sides
Automations / sequencesYesYesTie
Custom domain–YesNo winner: needs a value on both sides
A/B testing–YesNo winner: needs a value on both sides
Landing pages and formsYes–No winner: needs a value on both sides
Segmentation and tagsYesYesTie
Open and click analytics–YesNo winner: needs a value on both sides

– = not published by the vendor, or not verified yet.

Sources: EmailOctopus pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026; notifuse pricing page, checked Oct 14, 2026. Each feature value links its own source on the tool's page.

Scorecard, criterion by criterion

Both tools on the newsletter platforms scorecard: score 0-100 and the numbers it was computed from.
EmailOctopus vs notifuse scores
CriterionWeightEmailOctopusnotifuse
Entry price25%100$9/month billed annually on Pro; no monthly-billed price published (scored against annual-billed prices)76$16/month billed monthly on Notifuse Cloud; $24.17/month billed annually on Self-hosted licence (scored on the monthly price)
Free plan or trial15%100Free plan (Starter)100Free plan (Self-hosted)
Pricing transparency10%932 of 2 plans have a public price1003 of 3 plans have a public price
Verified features15%603 of 9 tracked features verified: automations / sequences, landing pages and forms, segmentation and tags1005 of 9 tracked features verified: automations / sequences, custom domain, a/b testing, segmentation and tags, open and click analytics
API, integrations and export10%100public API, 1,000 integrations100public API, documented data export
Free plan limits10%100Free plan: 2,500 subscribers, 10,000 emails per month100Free plan: unlimited subscribers, unlimited emails per month
Total score100%92/100 (6 of 8 criteria)93/100 (6 of 8 criteria)

EmailOctopus plans

EmailOctopus plans
PlanBilled monthlyBilled yearlyCharged perPublished limits
StarterFreeFreeper workspace
  • 2,500 subscribers
  • 10,000 emails per month
  • 1 user
  • 1 page
ProNot offered$9Not stated
  • 10,000 emails per month
  • Unlimited users
  • Unlimited pages

Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.

EmailOctopus pricing in full

notifuse plans

notifuse plans
PlanBilled monthlyBilled yearlyCharged perPublished limits
Notifuse Cloud$16Not statedper workspaceNone stated
Self-hostedNot statedFreeper workspace
  • Unlimited emails per month
  • Unlimited subscribers
  • Unlimited users
Self-hosted licenceNot offered$24.17per workspaceNone stated

Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.

notifuse pricing in full

How we picked

Every one of these newsletter platforms is scored by the same 8 criteria (scorecard v2). Each criterion gives 0 to 100 from the vendor's published data; the total is the weighted average. A criterion without verified data is left out and the other weights are re-normalised. A tool with under 60% of the weight covered is listed as not ranked, and so is a tool with no verified price and fewer than 2 verified features (“needs a verified price”); each score shows how many criteria it is based on. The core criteria are the same in every category; the category criteria are specific to newsletter platforms. Nobody gets custom weights, including our own products.

Scorecard criteria and weights
CriterionWeightTypeWhat we measure
Entry price25%CorePrice per month of the cheapest paid plan, against the prices of other newsletter platforms on the same billing basis (monthly-billed prices against monthly, annual-billed against annual).Log scale. Billed monthly: $9/month or less = 100, $100 or more = 0. Only billed annually: $9/month or less = 100, $159 or more = 0. Only free plans = 100. Usage-priced and one-time plans are not scored.
Free plan or trial15%CoreWhether you can use the tool before paying: a free plan, or failing that a free trial, as shown on the vendor's pricing page.Free plan = 100. No free plan but a free trial = 60. The pricing page lists plans but shows neither = 0. No plans read = not scored.
Pricing transparency10%CoreHow much of the pricing is public: the share of plans with a published price ("contact sales" counts against), and whether there are at least 3 published tiers.80 x (plans with a public price / plans listed) + 20 x (public plans, up to 3) / 3. No plans read = not scored.
Verified features15%CoreHow many of the 9 features we track for this category the vendor's own pages verifiably show (paid subscriptions, automations / sequences, custom domain, referral programme, a/b testing, landing pages and forms, segmentation and tags, newsletter website, open and click analytics). This counts verified features only: a tool that documents less scores lower here, and only here.Linear: verified features / 5 (half the tracked list) x 100, capped at 100. No tracked feature verified = not scored.
API, integrations and export10%CoreWhether a public API exists, how many integrations the vendor states, and whether the vendor documents a way to export your data.Average of the parts with data: public API yes = 100, no = 0; integrations on a log scale (100 or more = 100); a documented data export = 100. None verified = not scored.
Cost at 1,000 subscribers10%CategoryMonthly price of the cheapest paid plan that allows at least 1,000 subscribers.Log scale: $5/month or less = 100, $100 or more = 0. Plans that do not state a subscriber limit are not used.
Free plan limits10%CategoryWhat the free plan allows: subscribers (full marks at 2,500), emails per month (full marks at 10,000).Each stated limit linear up to its full mark (unlimited = 100), averaged. Tools without a free plan, or whose free plan states none of these limits, are not scored here.
Paid subscriptions5%CategoryWhether writers can charge for subscriptions, and the platform's fee on that revenue.No paid subscriptions (verified) = 0; paid subscriptions: linear, 0% fee = 100, 15% or more = 0. Fee not stated = not scored.

Sources are vendor pricing pages, docs and changelogs, each with the date we checked it. We did not test these tools hands-on unless a listing says so. Full formulas: methodology.

Questions, answered from the data

Is EmailOctopus cheaper than notifuse?

EmailOctopus starts lower: $9 per month billed yearly on the Pro plan, against $16 per month billed monthly on the Notifuse Cloud plan for notifuse. Check the unit: per-user and per-account prices scale differently.

Do EmailOctopus and notifuse have free plans?

Both have a free plan.

Which is better, EmailOctopus or notifuse?

On our scorecard notifuse scores higher (93/100 (6 of 8 criteria) vs 92/100 (6 of 8 criteria)). The score weighs every criterion the same way for every tool; check the rows above for the ones that matter to you.