
Customer.io review 41/100 on verified data
Customer.io is a newsletter platform: Customer engagement platform for sending behaviour-based email, push, in-app, SMS and WhatsApp messages driven by customer data.
Data checked Oct 14, 2026 against the vendors' own pages. How we verify

- Score (rank 27 of 27)
- 41/100
- Coverage (6 of 8 criteria)
- 85%
- From, per month
- $100
- Free plan
- No
Paid plans start at $100 per month billed monthly on the Essentials plan, and there is no free plan, but a free trial.
Customer.io has a public API.
In our newsletter platforms ranking Customer.io scores 41/100, rank 27 of 27, based on 6 of 8 criteria (85% of the scorecard weight backed by verified data).
Customer.io at a glance
- Pricing model
- Paid only source, Oct 14, 2026
- Cheapest paid plan
- Essentials: $100/mo source, Oct 14, 2026
- Free plan
- No source, Oct 14, 2026
- Free trial
- Yes source, Oct 14, 2026
- Public API
- Yes source, Oct 14, 2026
- Data export
- Data export is included on all plans source, Oct 14, 2026
Customer.io plans
Essentials
$100per month, billed monthly
- Billed monthly
- $100
- Billed yearly
- Not stated
- Charged per
- per workspace
Published limits
- 5,000 subscribers
- Unlimited users
- 2 workspaces
Premium
$1,000per month, billed yearly
- Billed monthly
- Not offered
- Billed yearly
- $1,000
- Charged per
- Not stated
Published limits
- Unlimited users
- Unlimited workspaces
Enterprise
Contact sales
- Billed monthly
- Contact sales
- Billed yearly
- Contact sales
- Charged per
- Not stated
Published limits
- Unlimited users
- Unlimited workspaces
Prices in USD per month, before tax. Read from the vendor's pricing page on Oct 14, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not publish it.
Full Customer.io pricing and plan limitsHow Customer.io scores
Score
41/100
Rank #27 of 27
Coverage 85%
6 of 8 criteria. Ranked at 60% or more.
Entry price
0/100
Weight 29%$100/month billed monthly on Essentials; $1000/month billed annually on Premium (scored on the monthly price) source
Free plan or trial
60/100
Weight 18%Free trial, no free plan source
Pricing transparency
67/100
Weight 12%2 of 3 plans have a public price (1 "contact sales") source
Verified features
60/100
Weight 18%3 of 9 tracked features verified: automations / sequences, a/b testing, segmentation and tags source
API, integrations and export
100/100
Weight 12%public API, documented data export source
Cost at 1,000 subscriberscategory criterion
0/100
Weight 12%$100 per month for 1,000 subscribers on Essentials (billed monthly) source
Free plan limitscategory criterion
Excluded
Weight –No published data: left out, the other criteria are re-weighted.
Paid subscriptionscategory criterion
Excluded
Weight –No published data: left out, the other criteria are re-weighted.
Customer.io features
- Automations / sequences
- Yes source, Oct 14, 2026
- A/B testing
- Yes source, Oct 14, 2026
- Segmentation and tags
- Yes source, Oct 14, 2026
8 more details we track are not published by the vendor or not verified yet (shown as – in tables). How we verify
Customer.io alternatives
| # | Tool | Score | Coverage | From, billed monthly | From, billed yearly | Free plan | Integrations | Public API | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 98/100 | 75%5 of 8 criteria | Free | Free | Yes | – | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 2 | 98/100 | 85%6 of 8 criteria | Not offered | $9/mo | Yes, 2,500 subscribers | – | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 3 | 98/100 | 75%5 of 8 criteria | $9/mo | Not offered | Yes | 150 | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 4 | 93/100 | 85%6 of 8 criteria | $16/mo | $24.17/mo | Yes, unlimited emails per month | – | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 5 | 92/100 | 85%6 of 8 criteria | Not offered | $9/mo | Yes, 2,500 subscribers | 1,000 | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 |
Each value links the vendor page it was read from (hover for the check date). Coverage is the share of the scorecard's weight with verified data, and "N of M criteria" how many criteria the score is based on; a tool is ranked at 60% or more.
All 34 Customer.io alternatives, rankedMore ways to weigh up Customer.io
Compare Customer.io
Questions, answered from the data
How much does Customer.io cost?
Paid plans start at $100 per month billed monthly on the Essentials plan, according to Customer.io's pricing page (checked Oct 14, 2026).
Does Customer.io have a free plan?
No: Customer.io has no free plan, but a free trial (checked Oct 14, 2026).
Does Customer.io have an API?
Yes, a public API is documented (checked Oct 14, 2026).
How does Customer.io score?
In our newsletter platforms ranking Customer.io scores 41/100, rank 27 of 27, based on 6 of 8 criteria (85% of the scorecard weight backed by verified data).
What are the best Customer.io alternatives?
By our scorecard the top-ranked alternatives are Flodesk (98/100), Sender (98/100) and Brevo (98/100).
More on Customer.io
Customer.io
Rankings it appears in
Categories
Platforms
Pricing last read Oct 14, 2026. Vendors change prices; the linked page is the final word.