
Screen recording
Cheapest Tella alternatives 25 tools cheaper than Tella, like for like
- Tella from, billed annually
- $13/mo
- Cheaper tools
- 25
- Lowest price
- Free plan
- Biggest saving, paid plan
- 81%
Data checked Oct 14, 2026 against the vendors' own pages. How we verify
Tella's cheapest paid plan costs $13 per user per month billed annually (Pro). We found 25 tools in its market that cost less, compared on the same billing basis.
12 are cheaper billed annually, 13 have a free plan (Tella has none).
The largest saving on a paid plan is Cap: $2.42 a month billed annually on Desktop License, $10.58 (81%) less than Tella's $13.
Some plans are priced per user or per account and others per workspace, so the entry price is not always the price for your team: check the plan limits before switching.
1 cheaper tool verifiably lacks at least one feature Tella has (the vendor's page says so). Below, each tool lists only differences we could verify on both sides.
Tella alternatives by price
| # | Tool | Price per month | Billing basis | Tella, same basis | You save | Free plan | Data checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Free plan | free plan | $13/mo per user | $13 (100%) | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 2 | Free plan | free plan | $13/mo per user | $13 (100%) | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 3 | Free plan | free plan | $13/mo per user | $13 (100%) | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 4 | Free (Basic) | free plan | $13/mo per user | $13 (100%) | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 5 | Free plan | free plan | $13/mo per user | $13 (100%) | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 6 | Free plan | free plan | $13/mo per user | $13 (100%) | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 7 | Free (Starter) | free plan | $13/mo per user | $13 (100%) | Yes, 50 users | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 8 | Free plan | free plan | $13/mo per user | $13 (100%) | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 9 | Free plan | free plan | $13/mo per user | $13 (100%) | Yes, 30 credits per month | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 10 | Free plan | free plan | $13/mo per user | $13 (100%) | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 11 | Free plan | free plan | $13/mo per user | $13 (100%) | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 12 | Free plan | free plan | $13/mo per user | $13 (100%) | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 13 | Free plan | free plan | $13/mo per user | $13 (100%) | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 14 | $2.42/mo per user | billed annually | $13/mo per user | $10.58 (81%) | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 15 | $3.99/mo | billed annually | $13/mo per user | $9.01 (69%) | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 16 | $4/mo | billed annually | $13/mo per user | $9 (69%) | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 17 | $4.99/mo | billed annually | $13/mo per user | $8.01 (62%) | No | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 18 | $5/mo | billed annually | $13/mo per user | $8 (62%) | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 19 | $6/mo | billed annually | $13/mo per user | $7 (54%) | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 20 | $7/mo per user | billed annually | $13/mo per user | $6 (46%) | Yes, 5 users | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 21 | $9/mo | billed annually | $13/mo per user | $4 (31%) | No | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 22 | $9.95/mo per user | billed annually | $13/mo per user | $3.05 (23%) | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 23 | $10/mo per user | billed annually | $13/mo per user | $3 (23%) | No | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 24 | $10/mo | billed annually | $13/mo per user | $3 (23%) | No | Oct 14, 2026 | |
| 25 | $10/mo per user | billed annually | $13/mo per user | $3 (23%) | Yes | Oct 14, 2026 |
Each value links the page it was read from (hover for the check date).
What you give up for the lower price
better-shot · Free planNative macOS app for screenshots and screen recording with a built-in editor for annotations, backgrounds, zooms and clip trimming.
- Price: free plan (Free); Tella has no free plan source
- Tella on the same basis: $13 per user a month, billed annually, on Pro source
- Saving: $13 a month (100%) while you stay within the free plan's limits
- Pricing unit: better-shot: per workspace; Tella: per user
- Verified features: Camera overlay, Automatic captions, Instant share links, Built-in editing, Desktop app
6 of 13 tracked details verified

Homepage captured Oct 14, 2026
BlitzRecorder · Free planMac app for recording screen and camera together, editing on a timeline, exporting video and sharing links, released as open source software.
- Price: free plan (Free); Tella has no free plan source
- Tella on the same basis: $13 per user a month, billed annually, on Pro source
- Saving: $13 a month (100%) while you stay within the free plan's limits
- Pricing unit: BlitzRecorder: per workspace; Tella: per user
- Verified features: Camera overlay, Instant share links, Built-in editing, Desktop app
5 of 13 tracked details verified
CinePhone · Free planBrowser-based editor that restyles screen recordings with backgrounds, device frames and zoom keyframes, then exports them as MP4 video.
- Price: free plan (Free); Tella has no free plan source
- Tella on the same basis: $13 per user a month, billed annually, on Pro source
- Saving: $13 a month (100%) while you stay within the free plan's limits
- Pricing unit: CinePhone: not stated; Tella: per user
- Verified features: Built-in editing
3 of 13 tracked details verified
Claap · Free planRecords and transcribes sales calls and meetings, then turns the conversations into summaries, CRM fields, call scores and agent-readable data.
- Price: free plan (Basic); Tella has no free plan source
- Tella on the same basis: $13 per user a month, billed annually, on Pro source
- Saving: $13 a month (100%) while you stay within the free plan's limits
- Verified features: Analytics, Team access, Templates, AI assistant, Automatic captions and 3 more
10 of 13 tracked details verified
Clipchamp · Free planMicrosoft's browser and Windows video editor with AI subtitles, text to speech, screen and camera recording, and a stock content library.
- Price: free plan (Free); Tella has no free plan source
- Tella on the same basis: $13 per user a month, billed annually, on Pro source
- Saving: $13 a month (100%) while you stay within the free plan's limits
- Pricing unit: Clipchamp: not stated; Tella: per user
- Verified features: Templates, AI assistant, Automatic captions, Built-in editing, Desktop app
6 of 13 tracked details verified
Guidesnap · Free planWeb tool that takes an uploaded screen recording, transcribes the narration, detects steps and produces an editable PDF guide with screenshots.
- Price: free plan (Free); Tella has no free plan source
- Tella on the same basis: $13 per user a month, billed annually, on Pro source
- Saving: $13 a month (100%) while you stay within the free plan's limits
- Pricing unit: Guidesnap: not stated; Tella: per user
- Verified features: Team access, AI assistant, Built-in editing
5 of 13 tracked details verified
Loom · Free planScreen and camera recording tool for sharing video messages, with editing, transcripts and team workspaces.
- Price: free plan (Starter); Tella has no free plan source
- Tella on the same basis: $13 per user a month, billed annually, on Pro source
- Saving: $13 a month (100%) while you stay within the free plan's limits
- Starter limits: 50 users source
- Matches Tella: has all 8 features we verified for Tella
10 of 13 tracked details verified
Lumiko · Free planChrome extension that records the screen with automatic cursor zoom, smart blur, a webcam overlay and a built-in timeline editor.
- Price: free plan (Free); Tella has no free plan source
- Tella on the same basis: $13 per user a month, billed annually, on Pro source
- Saving: $13 a month (100%) while you stay within the free plan's limits
- Pricing unit: Lumiko: per workspace; Tella: per user
- Verified features: Camera overlay, Built-in editing
3 of 13 tracked details verified
Recapp · Free planScreen recording service for AI agents and people, with transcripts, summaries and sharing, billed through a shared credit pool.
- Price: free plan (Free); Tella has no free plan source
- Tella on the same basis: $13 per user a month, billed annually, on Pro source
- Saving: $13 a month (100%) while you stay within the free plan's limits
- Pricing unit: Recapp: usage-based; Tella: per user
- Free limits: 30 credits per month, unlimited users source
- Verified features: Analytics, Team access, AI assistant, Camera overlay, Instant share links
6 of 13 tracked details verified
Screen Records · Free planNative macOS screen recorder with a built-in editor for cuts, zooms, captions and voiceover, plus AI editing through MCP.
- Price: free plan (Free); Tella has no free plan source
- Tella on the same basis: $13 per user a month, billed annually, on Pro source
- Saving: $13 a month (100%) while you stay within the free plan's limits
- Pricing unit: Screen Records: not stated; Tella: per user
- Verified features: AI assistant, Camera overlay, Automatic captions, Built-in editing, Desktop app
7 of 13 tracked details verified
Slidekick · Free planBrowser-based editor that imports, uploads or records videos, trims and crops them, and exports GIFs for Google Slides or MP4 clips.
- Price: free plan (Free); Tella has no free plan source
- Tella on the same basis: $13 per user a month, billed annually, on Pro source
- Saving: $13 a month (100%) while you stay within the free plan's limits
- Pricing unit: Slidekick: per workspace; Tella: per user
- Verified features: Built-in editing
3 of 13 tracked details verified
Zoomr · Free planChrome extension that records the screen with live zoom and on-screen drawing, with a built-in editor and MP4 or WebM export.
- Price: free plan (Free); Tella has no free plan source
- Tella on the same basis: $13 per user a month, billed annually, on Pro source
- Saving: $13 a month (100%) while you stay within the free plan's limits
- Pricing unit: Zoomr: not stated; Tella: per user
- Verified features: Instant share links, Built-in editing
4 of 13 tracked details verified
Zumie · Free planChrome extension that records a browser tab and applies automatic zooms, click effects and backgrounds, with an editor and shareable links.
- Price: free plan (Free); Tella has no free plan source
- Tella on the same basis: $13 per user a month, billed annually, on Pro source
- Saving: $13 a month (100%) while you stay within the free plan's limits
- Pricing unit: Zumie: not stated; Tella: per user
- Verified features: Camera overlay, Instant share links, Built-in editing
5 of 13 tracked details verified
Cap · $2.42/mo, saves 81%Open-source screen recorder with instant sharing links, a studio mode with an editor and screenshot mode, plus paid cloud and team features.
- Price: $2.42 per user a month, billed annually, on Desktop License source
- Tella on the same basis: $13 per user a month, billed annually, on Pro source
- Saving: $10.58 a month (81%)
- Matches Tella: has all 8 features we verified for Tella
11 of 13 tracked details verified
ScreenX · $3.99/mo, saves 69%Browser-based editor for screen recordings that adds zooms, backgrounds and mockup styling to produce product demo videos and screenshots.
- Price: $3.99 a month, billed annually, on Pro source
- Tella on the same basis: $13 per user a month, billed annually, on Pro source
- Saving: $9.01 a month (69%)
- Pricing unit: ScreenX: per workspace; Tella: per user
- In numbers: 3 published plans and a free plan. source
2 of 13 tracked details verified
How we picked
- Pool: tools in the same market as the tool on this page (they list its primary category, and their own primary category is one it lists).
- Like for like: a tool's cheapest paid plan billed monthly is compared with the cheapest plan billed monthly; if that is not cheaper, its price per month billed annually is compared with the annual price. Monthly and annual prices are never mixed in one comparison.
- A free plan counts as cheaper only when the tool on this page has no free plan. Usage-priced and "contact sales" plans are left out.
- Saving = the reference price on the same basis minus the alternative's price, per month; the percentage is rounded. Entry plans differ in seats, accounts and limits, so the saving is for the entry plan, not your team.
- Sorted by price per month, then name. The page is built only when the tool has a verified paid price and at least 3 tools qualify.
Every value is read from the vendor's own pages (or GitHub for licences and stars) and shown with the date we checked it. A value we could not verify is shown as a dash, never estimated, and never read as a “no”. We did not test these tools hands-on unless a listing says so. Methodology
Questions, answered from the data
What is the cheapest alternative to Tella?
Cap: $2.42 a month billed annually on Desktop License, against $13 for Tella's Pro on the same basis.
How much can I save compared with Tella?
Up to $13 a month (100%) with better-shot's free plan, before any difference in limits or seats.
Is there a free alternative to Tella?
better-shot, BlitzRecorder, CinePhone, Claap and Clipchamp and 16 more have a free plan.
What do the cheaper Tella alternatives lack?
Most often: desktop app (1 of 25), where the vendor's page says the feature is missing.
Explore related pages
More on Tella
Prices as published on each vendor's pricing page on the date shown, in USD, for screen recording tools. Confirm with the vendor before you buy.